We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jessika is the BEST!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elkridge, Md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jessika is the BEST!!!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2007

First of all, Jessika who works at the front desk is wonderful!!! Very helpful and friendly. A serviceman asked me why so glum in the elevator, I told him I had a headache, and he paged a hotel worker to help me get some. Rooms were clean. Beds were in the room farthest from the balcony, which was a bit disappointing. We were able to check in early. There was a Subway right across the street and we walked over there each day to grab lunch. Very convenient, and very healthy. Did I mention Jessika? Able to take the trolley when we wanted to go down the road. Virginia Beach is not as crowded as OC, which was a nice change of pace.

  • Liked — Location and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Bed not near the balcony
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Helpyhelperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    194
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
278
164
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Quite nice for a Comfort Inn. Room was clean and reasonably well appointed. It was a suite with a living room and balcony overlooking the beach. Also a frig and coffee pot. The problem was the price which at $319 per night was excessive even for a Friday in July. After all it is a comfort Inn and once you stepped out of the room into the halls and lobby, that was pretty obvious. It was very plain, no frills. The Wyndam appears to be a much better deal and is located in a nicer part of the beach, up north where it is less crowded and developed. The same could be said for The Cavilier hotel which is also further up on the northern part of the beach. The Cavilier also is a classy full service hotel.

  • Liked — Rooms quite nice and clean.
  • Disliked — Not worth the high price, and on a crowded busy part of the beach.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank capebretoner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The reviewers are correct in saying that this hotel is in a GREAT location. The balcony views are wonderful. The staff is very friendly and the housekeepers are wonderful. The only drawback is that the bedroom doesn't have any windows because it is in the back and it has a sliding pocket door for privacy from the living room area. Unfortunately our room was located near the elevator and we hear the bing of the elevator while trying to sleep along with the conversations of people getting on and off the elevator. Ask to be away from the elevator. The room was nice and cool and the breakfast was really good. You need to eat by 9:30am or they take things away. My daughters slept late and I brought up danishes,yogurt, and fruit. The indoor pool is not big and is almost located in the lobby. If you have children interested in the pool this might not be the best choice. I would recommend this place because of it's views and location.They do guarentee 100% satisfaction or no charge-we were too settled with all the luggage to ask for another room away from the elevator, we requested extra towels and blankets and they were sent up quickly. The bed was on the small side they said it was a queen, but it seemed small.

  • Liked — the location and view
  • Disliked — the room by the elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mullaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This is a great property at a fantastic location, right in the middle of restaurants, entertainment, and shops. The hotel has very accomodating staff. On three separate times we asked for a AA battery, a bottle opener and a blanket. We received each of the items within 5 minutes of asking. All rooms have balcoonies right on the ocean. A pretty good continental breakfast is included in the room rate. The rooms are very clean and are a good value. Stay here, you will be glad you did. .

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I cant say enough, the hotel is very clean and comfortable. We were to check in at 4pm on July 8th, we got to the hotel just after 11 am and they had a room ready for us. The housekeeper was Sylvia was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very clean, the only thing we did not like was the air conditioner which was a bit loud, but above all that everything else was great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We needed a roll away bed for my youngest as she did not want to share the pull out with her sister. They did not even charge me for the bed.

The breakfast room has plenty, waffles, cereal and the basic fare.

The beach is great and all rooms overlook the beach.
We are planning on staying there again next year. We vacation with good friends from the states every year and they had their room right next to ours, which was requested by both of us.

The staff cant do enough for you at this hotel, and it is centrally located so everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank geasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

I booked through Expedia. I am a AAA member and there was no place to enter the membership number, so my card was charged Expedia's rate. But I called the hotel and they said "No problem, just show your AAA card upon check in and we will take care of it". That was a lie. Upon check in, a hotel manager told me that their guy who told me that was "a new employee" and he didn't know. Didn't make me feel better, considering that if I knew that they would renege on their promise, I would have cancelled the Expedia reservation and booked through choicehotels.com (where they give you AAA discount).

The hotel itself was ok. Both rooms were very clean, except for some dust bunnies behind the couch, bed, and night stands. Both rooms have TVs. There is a sliding door between the two rooms. The AC is very noisy but capable of cooling down both rooms even with curtains open and sun shining into the room. Ocean view and balcony were great. Balcony railings are sturdy and safe to let a kid play on the balcony. Floors 2-4 have access to the parking garage. No problems with parking. Free ice machines on even-numbered floors. AC unit is hidden in a closet in the living room, so if you are sleeping there you will definitely be bothered by it unless you are a tight sleeper (and who isn't after a day of swimming in the ocean).

Kitchenette is small and fits into a 3x3 feet space. Has a fridge, turntable microwave and a sink with hot and cold water.

Bathroom was as clean as it can be for a beach hotel with constant humidity. No peeling paint but some minor mildew here and there. Double shower heads were useful to wash down all the sand from one's body.

The cleaning lady was very nice and attentive.

Good continental breakfast, they have 3 machines to bake waffles, other than that the rest of the food buffet serves cold food (except coffee).

This hotel is rated as #4 out of 102. Based on that, I might have had unrealistic expectations from the very beginning, which would explain why I am not giving this more than 3 stars. However, I really expected more deluxe accommodations and service.

  • Liked — Oceanfront, two-room suite, refrigirator and microwave
  • Disliked — Talking to hotel manager
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank vbfrequenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

This was our first trip to Virginia Beach and the Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront was perfect for us because it's somewhat centrally located right on the beach/boardwalk. We had access to everything within comfortable walking distance. For further destinations, the local transportation system, the Wave Trolley, was easily accessible.

The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were spacious and clean. One side has a queen bed , TV and desk type sitting area and closet with in room safe. The other side has a couch (which opens to a queen sleeper) coffee table, 2 end tables, table chairs and another TV. The bathroom and little kitchen area ( small fridge, microwave, sink and coffee maker) are between the 2 along with a little nook with an iron and ironing board. There is a pocket door that seperates the 2 rooms for privacy as well. We found the layout perfect for our family of 4.

The staff was very plesant and helpful as well. There is an indoor pool and exercise room available as well as continental breakfast every morning. The hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant so if you want room service, this isn't the place for you. There are so many places to eat that we really didn't even miss it.

We were very pleased with the hotel overall and will plan to stay there on our next visit to Va. Beach.

One final comment....We like to go first class when we travel since we don't get away regularly. I looked into the 5 star resorts listed on this and other sites and just couldn't see spending that kind of money to go to the beach. So, I literally searched dozens of websites and read hundreds of traveler comments which ultimately lead us to choose the Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront . We were not at all disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank regards121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Address: 2015 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Comfort Inn Oceanfront
Comfort Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing