We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is my second time staying here. I usually go down to VA Beach after the summer season is over. The location can't be beat and all the rooms are oceanfront with balconies. Wonderful! This hotel is old, if you're looking for sparkling, art deco, spic and span, go somewhere else. This is not for you.
If you want an oceanfront hotel at a great price that has everything you need and great beds, stay here. One of the great things is these rooms are all two room suites with a full size refrigerator, a microwave and a small sink. Wonderful!
The beds are very comfortable, pillow top mattresses and the view and location can't be beat. The rooms are old, but clean. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L4823MTsharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 632 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first week of October, 2012. It was our second stay here. We went back because of the great location mid-beach, and the nice rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. The price was right, too!

Non-smoking rooms are important to us, and unlike many "non-smoking" rooms we've stayed at in other places, this was truly free of that stale smoke smell, so I could tell that even the bedding had not been in contact with a smoker.

Breakfast was very good, and Ranjan, one of the breakfast "hostesses", was really considerate in making sure we had everything we needed when it was time for her to close up. The food was pretty usual, but varied and tasty: waffles, hot and cold cereals, a hot egg dish and a breakfast meat every day, fresh fruit, breads, yogurt, etc., etc.

Breakfast was available until 10 AM each day, a little later than the usual off-season closing time of 9:30, which we were happy about since we were on vacation, and could sleep in a little.

We had a couple of issues with our room that were taken care of immediately and with the friendly help of Mike in maintenance. Our housekeeper Antonia was also friendly, efficient and considerate of our hours.

We would absolutely stay here the next time we go to Virginia Beach!

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean, so higher floors may be better if this is import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was your basic hotel room but with a great view of the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer but we only had one night in Virginia Beach. Thought the town was much nicer than other places I've been to on the east coast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velogirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Ocean view rooms with balconies right on the boardwalk. The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly, but the rooms themselves were dark and small. I can't say much more because there wasn't anything special. I think we'll try our luck with another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a wonderful hotel-- definately an upgrade over the Fairfield Inn & Suites that we left after the 1st night.

The staff here was outgoing, friendly & eager to help. The room was large enough for all of us (2 adults, 2 toddlers) with a beautiful oceanfront view. We loved having the indoor pool in case it was too hot on the beach or rainy...and it was never really crowded!

Having worked in hotels for over 6 years, and currently being a Director of Sales-- kudos to the Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront. We throroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately recommend this hotel to future VA Beach travelers!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBum2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our first trip to Virginia Beach but it definately won't be the last! The entire facility was very clean, well kept and in a perfect location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. View of the beach couldn't have been better! All around GREAT experience. It was a wee bit pricey but you get what you pay for and this place is worth it.
The only bad thing was that parking is limited to one vehicle per room and we had two. We worked around that so it did not take away from the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My fam of four hubby and two daughters stayed at this hotel, mid August for 6 nights Sun - Sat...The room decor could use some updating...HOWEVER, it was clean and just enough space for our family of four...a larger family may have found the standard suite to be a bit small. My teenage daughter actually reported that the sleeper sofa was terribly uncomfortable...a bunch of extra pillows under the mattress seemed to do the trick for her. The free wi fi worked better in the bedroom area than in the livingroom area for some reason...however we did manage to connect our Ipad and Kindle Fire without issue. The balcony/oceanfront was perfect. The hotel is located right in the middle of it all (location locaiton location)...We found it to be perfect for us. The breakfast was OK (they server powder scrambled eggs) but also had hard boiled eggs wich was our daily choice...but hey not complaining - it was free - and offered all the basics...after the third day...we decided to eat breakfast out which was a nice break from the OK breakfast buffet. The indoor pool and hot tub were small but adquate as there was hardly ever anyone using the pool...in fact over the week we stayed there...there was only one occassion when another family was actually using the pool...no issue with the pool...It would be nice if they had an outdoor pool option as well...but oh well...at least no worries with rainy days...The staff at this location was very friendly...our housekeeper Maria was outstanding ... What scored a rating of a 4 for me were...LOCATION, STAFF & CLEANILNESS. I would stay here again but boy - it would be nice to have update decor...that almost caused them a rating of 3...because ya wanna feel special on vacation, the decor...not so special. They were very good about extending us a late check out without extra charge a ++ for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront

Address: 2015 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $101 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Comfort Inn Oceanfront
Comfort Inn Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing