We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location & kindness of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Jack, Jamie, & Roger did everything they could to make our stay pleasant & enjoyable. Brought along my little dog, Emma, & she too, was welcomed as a returning guest. Can't wait to return . Staff makes you feel really at home!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

room/bathroom was filthy entire 4 night stay. HAD TO CALL for clean towels/toilet paper/tissues. lobby/breakfast area disgusting. Felt unsafe in parking lot, shady exchanges going on in broad daylight! Tenants seemed permanent, not vacationers as we were. One positive note: Once in the room, it was quiet. An employee (Ralph?) was helpful and nice/friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank bethanygirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrontDesk23451, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank bks44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife, our daughter, son-in-law, and grand-daughter stayed in two non-smoking rooms for two nights. We also had a small dog with us. This was one of the few properties in Virginia Beach that would permit dogs (for $28 a night extra).

The motel is located a block from the water on kind of a bay several miles north of the Virginia Beach boardwalk . There are lots of restaurants nearby, plus a 7-11 and a grocery store.

Our own room seemed OK, but smelled strongly of rug deodorizer, and worth maybe $69 in a regular place, but the two-night charge including the fee for our dog was over $400. When we signed in, our receipt notified us that there were No Refunds, so be aware.

Our daughter's room smelled strongly of smoke. When she notified the manager the first evening of our stay, they apologized and promised to move them to a new room the next day, which they did. They said it would take a "long time" to prepare their old room for a new guest. We figure that took about 2 hours, as someone else checked in shortly after our daughter and family moved out.

The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, several kinds of muffins, bread that could be toasted, and apple and orange "juice". Ugh.

To their credit, when we reported that the trap under the sink in our room was leaking badly, they promptly repaired it. But our room was dank and smelly.

The tv was an older style tube tv. The AC worked great. There were no chairs out on the East-facing walkway in front of our room, so I used one of the chairs from our room to sit out one afternoon.

Parking was very limited, and folks ran out of spaces to park.

One might stay there in an emergency, but I wouldn't seek this place out. It isn't the same Travelodge I saw when I was a young man. Too bad.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, don't commit until you've inspected the room. Hard to do during tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
51 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#84 of 109 in Virginia Beach
356 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Center Inn
Best Western Center Inn
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach

Address: 2968 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1227 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $50 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bay Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach
Travelodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Travel Lodge
Virginia Beach Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing