We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Phila. suburb,Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had to change rooms 4 times and it was still disgusting. Our third room had a a protion of the rug that was soaked with cat urine. Every room smelled like cigarettes and mold. Bring your own towels and pillows because they were horrible. For $15 more, you can stay two blocks away in a clean room with a balcony....too late for us, though. Do our homework and don't stay here!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivorybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    43
    41
    48
See reviews for
78
44
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It is what you pay for. We really didn't have any issues with its cleanliness. It wasn't impeccably clean but wasn't as bad as some reviewers have said. We did have an issue with the latch lock on our door. We brought that up to the front desk person and it was resolved quickly. The pool was nice, although I didn't like that you had to walk across the parking lot and slightly through an alley, behind a night club, to get to it. About the night club, if you stay here during the weekend I can see the nightclub being a noise/safety concern. We arrived on a Saturday, yikes! But, it was closed the rest of our stay. I also didn't like that the hotel was so far from the main tourist strip of Virginia Beach. I did however like that we had very close access to a beach with lots of space and very little people on the last night when we just wanted to relax in peace. The front desk people we did see were very casually dressed and unkempt.

I can't say I'd stay here again if I visited VB again. I'd rather pay a little more per night and stay at a hotel on the actual strip.

Room Tip: If you stay during the weekend, pick the side away from the nightclub. Also, park your car on that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valsgoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this place to nobody. I got bitten by bedbugs and towels were dirty. The room had a foul odor and everything just looked gross.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy9095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We checked out early, obviously (b/c the place is a dump) but were not refunded our money.Our room was filthy. The rug was sticky and disgusting. And the beds smelled like cigarettes! (in a non smoking room) We went out for dinner/sightseeing and came back around 10pm. Upon our arrival, there were about 3 cop cars across the street and one in the parking lot next to the hotel. There was a wild bar next door with drunk people hanging around causing a ruckus. We were up all night with loud, drunk people banging on our door (and others) and police sirens through the night. I complained to staff, with no avail. The next day, I spoke with the rude ignorant manager and he desperately tried to convince me not to call the corporate company. He would not refund my money because I booked through a 3rd party (expedia). Needless to say, we won't get our money back but it was worth it to spend another $200 for another place closer to the oceanfront beach. And PS-the corporate company couldn't help because it was a privately owned Travelodge....BE AWARE, DON'T STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneninah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed there one night. Came home with red bumps all over hands and feet and arms. Found an actual BUG in my own bed back home. Check this place out if you want to take home a souvenir from Virginia Beach. Paying hundreds to make sure I didn't take home a whole family...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGeorge333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk23451, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
After reading this review, my staff and I searched all the rooms and found no trace of the bugs at all. We went one step further and enlisted the help of Virginia Beach Health Department. Again, fortunately for us, no bugs were found. Please be assured that we are well trained and vigilant in fighting this common problem for hotel industry. Thanks for keeping us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I were traveling with our dog and found this travelodge on Petfinder.com. I've stayed in travelodges before and new it was basic. My husband wanted to be on the Bay which is quieter then the Ocean Strip. The room was dirty and didn't have the amenities it advertised. WORSE, the next morning (we arrived at night) the Orkin man was there and we found three rooms with carpeting ripped up. We inquired at the front desk if there was a bedbug problem since there is an epidemic currently in the US and was told "we don't have to tell you anything". I am 8 months pregnant just wanted to know how to handle our belongings. After a call to the manager and more rudeness we spent 4 hours in the laundry mat washing our belongings and an hour at the VA Beach health department confirming our suspicions. They ARE infested with bedbugs. If they were helpful, we would have understood, but I have never in all my years of traveling been spoken to so rudely when all we wanted was information. STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk23451, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
While the incident was regrettable, we have completely redone the room in question, including replacing carpet, beddings, linens and etc... We are happy to report we are still free of the creatures to this day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

rented 6 rooms not one was decent no coffee pots no ones hair dryer worked ,had to move one family because the shower did not work , the pool was the only nice thing but is limited to 20 guests and the railing was dangerously loose also the request for non smoking rooms was disreguarded by the staff but if you go do not get room 101 it smells like cat pee

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wearytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#71 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.1 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#84 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
7.1 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach

Property: Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Address: 2968 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bay Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travelodge Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Travelodge
Virginia Beach Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing