We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gail's review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gail's review”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

very clean rooms, very accommodating to individual requests, well maintained grounds, breakfast is continental, could have a protein, yogurt, and fresh fruit . I definitely would return to this hotel. The staff is terrific and the suggestions about local restaurants was spot on.. Thanks

Room Tip: for the price and ocean view it is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thank you for being our valued customer; it is because of guests like you that we aim to challenge ourselves in constantly improving the services we offer. It is our aim to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to make our valued guests feel that they are not just customers, they are in fact part of a family that gives this institution its strong foundation. Thank you for being such a great inspiration to drive us to succeed as we certainly consider you a part of our Econo Lodge Oceanfront family. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    67
    29
    24
    16
See reviews for
73
47
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked this hotel on-line for 2 days w/ stipulations that the room be oceanfront and have a roll-in shower for my niece, who is in a wheelchair. My printout upon reservation confirmed that we were getting an oceanfront, handicap friendly room. When we arrived we learned that a room w/ roll-in shower was not available AND that they only had ONE such room out of all their rooms. Try dragging YOUR body over a not-too-clean bathroom floor to get a bath and then back out after your bath! To their credit the staff tried to find us a room elsewhere but no oceanfronts were available by then - Neptune Festival. Lessons I learned: 1) call the hotel directly and have them book your rooms. 2) Pay attention to others' reviews!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest Saundra,
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding you booking a room using a third party web site for a handicapped room. You did not reserve the room with the hotel directly and our handicapped room were already sold out. Econolodge hotel staff tried to accommodate the guest by calling all other hotel nearby, however it was Neptune festival weekend and all other nearby hotel rooms were sold out.
We did find a handicapped room one block over, however the guest did not want to move. They wanted to stay in our hotel due to Oceanfront and were happy with the room otherwise. We did discount the room even though it was not our fault for their inconvenience.
They express they were happy with how our staff helped them with trying to find another room and were happy with the discount they received.
We here at the Econolodge Oceanfront strive to accommodate all guest requests, however we did not know they wanted different type of room. We want all our guest happy and have a great experience for them to return again. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice room overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Atlantic Avenue is very touristy with plenty of shops & restaurants. Nice small pool & average breakfast. Don't book into this property if you want quiet, as military jets fly close day and night. Probably would return if in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you appreciated our very nice room overlooking Atlantic Ocean. Atlantic Avenue is indeed a great place to shop and dine. Though the place is close to military area, you still enjoyed your stay and even comfortable with our facilities – pool and room, as well as our healthy and warm breakfast. We will look forward on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

For anyone with small children be warned, the railings on the balconies are not child-friendly. The rails are set wide enough apart that our 3 year old was able to stick his head (and therefore entire body through). We were on the 8th floor and it was terrifying. If you have a kid who is prone to climbing or pulling stunts, stay on the ground floor or find a different hotel. Also, when you are sitting on the balcony the top of the guardrail hits right at eye level, blocking your view of the waves. The hotel is very out of date as far as decor goes and even the door hinges were rusty. But the location is pretty unbeatable (especially for the price we paid). The bed was extremely soft and I actually had to sleep on the floor one night because my back was so sore from the previous night. Also, the rooms are tiny. But, as I said, the location was great. I won't stay here again though, primarily because of the balcony issues, but also, I'd rather dig another $40 a night out of my pocket and stay somewhere a bit nicer. The linens, the wallpaper, everything just felt a like it had been there for 20 years or so. But location, location, location!! 5 stars for location, 2 stars for the rooms, 1 star for the tiny balcony, 4 stars for the breakfast (plenty to go around at 8am). So overall, 3 stars.

Room Tip: If you end up on the side closer to the pier you are nestled right up against the next hotel and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate your time and effort in this review. For the unexpected incident with your child, we are deeply sorry for what happened. We will seriously take this issue to ensure that our hotel will always be child-friendly. More importantly, we strive to do our best to improve our room and facilities including the safety, comfort and satisfaction of our guests. Despite what happened, we are pleased to hear that you found our location very appealing. We hope to serve you better next time you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoope
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

One thing I have learned, 99% of the time in life you get what you pay for. Our recent stay was the 1% where we got more. Don't misunderstand, this isn't the Waldorf. But for under 100 bucks it was a great deal. Yes, it has reached the point of needing updating. But it was very clean, parking deck was ample, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job, the cont. breakfast was very good (though some fresh fruit would be a welcome addition), checkin was quick and easy. Checkout was slowed a bit while we waited for a luggage cart (as best as I could tell they ony had three, so spend a few bucks and get a couple more). Overall, to get a good clean room with a king size bed with a balcony on the oceanfront for under 100 bucks a night it was a great deal. I will definitley consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We very much appreciated and value your feedback. We strive to continuously improve the quality of our service to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It was a pleasure to have you at the Econolodge Oceanfront as our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
757-428-2403
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked this hotel by accident. I thought I booked the other Econo Lodge where I have stayed before. I was somewhat disappointed when I found out that I booked the wrong hotel, but our stay turned out to be enjoyable. Everything went well. The room and bathroom were clean. The ocean view was beautiful! The hotel had continental breakfast, which was good. Unlike the other econo lodge, this hotel does not have free bike rental. It's not a huge deal since there are tons of bike rentals along the broad walk.
My only complain is that there is only one elevator which can be very slow during busy times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwjwenjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review with a positive feedback! We take pride in our hotel and the service we provide and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with the Econolodge Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. We thank you so much for your business and see you soon!

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
757-428-2403
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed for 4 nights had a really great time. the room was small but for 2 people it was fine. internet did not work. but it was a great motel it is close to everything. everyone was kind they have sucerity there and parking garage which made it nice. met Bob the manager was a very nice guy. he said he was going to make some updates in the winter. hope to go back next year and stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review regarding your 4 nights stay with the Econolodge Oceanfront in Virginia Beach. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Bob Patel
General Manager
757-428-2403
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#79 of 109 in Virginia Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 2109 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 56 rooms are 100% Oceanfront with private Balcony/Patio. FREE indoor garage parking (One Parking Space per Room). Indoor heated Pool.FREE delux continental breakfast. FREE Wi-fi, 32 Inch Falt screen TV with HBO1 and HBO2. All rooms equiped with Micro-Fridge, Coffee maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer and Alarm Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing