We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic, small hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2007

This was our 2nd stay at the Econolodge and we will be back.

Staff is friendly & helpful. Housekeeping was ever-present & very accomodating. Facility is clean & well-maintained. Rooms are reasonably updated. We've stayed in Virginia Beach countless times (usually at the Day's Inn on 10th - another decent budget hotel, but not oceanfront), and this hotel offers more for your money than any of the others we've visited. If you want luxury, stay at the Hilton down the street, but if you want a nice basic room at a great price, with an oceanfront view, Econolodge can't be beat.

2nd & 3rd floors are ideal because they have private balconies - ground floor rooms are open to the lawn.

Pool is small but clean, very warm in season (86+ during our stays) and staff provides towels in the front office. Bike rentals are free, great deal! Continental breakfast in lobby 7-10 am consisted of bagels, danishes, muffins, 3 types of cereal, orange juice, coffee & hot tea assortment. Pretty basic but VERY convenient.

Exterior corridors are convenient for frequent trips to/from the beach. Who wants to mess around with an elevator when they're sandy & wet from swimming?

Location is ideal - the lower 20 streets tend to be noisier & less clean (higher traffic). Speaking of noise, you will notice early-morning noise from the beach as the beach is raked & garbage removed. Easily solved by running the AC for white noise.

Refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker were all clean & worked well.

Small comfortable & affordable hotels are sadly becoming a rarity on Va. Beach oceanfront as the big hotels move in. Hopefully the Econolodge will stick around for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jameesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2007

This was our 2nd vacation at Virginia Beach, and our 2nd stay at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean. Once again, we were very pleased with the room and the employees. This time we stayed in one of the 2 efficiencies that are located over the top of the offices. Ours had a separate bedroom and kitchen, with a sofa bed in the living room. The service was excellent; from the front desk people, to the housekeeping to the maintenance guys, they treat you like you are family visiting from out of town. The only downside to the efiiciencies is that they are not ocean front, and of course they made sure we knew that before we reserved the room, so it was not a surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dougb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Unfortnately we were a little disappointed when we arrived at The Econo Lodge. We had read many reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel. To be honest I cannot believe it is rated 4th on the popularity index....as we rely on reviews for many of our trips. It is quite old and we are not looking for anything fancy but I was a little uneasy staying there. Yes...the beach is beautiful and very accessible but I would not stay at this location again. Our patio was infested with ants and we were not able to use it, or keep the door open for any more than 5 seconds. The carpet was quite filthy and does not get vacuumed when house keeping comes in. The other thing that bothered me was that the box spring under the mattress is exposed, not covered by anything and the plastic corners were all broken and snapped. I would definitely pay a little more to get somewhere to relax. I was worrying about the kids putting their things on the floor of our room....just not a clean feeling. It was fairly quiet and the pool was nice. A true "motel". One more thing to mention is that my husband repaired our air conditioning fan in our room. It was soooo loud no one would have slept a wink.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank McLaren's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Stayed 7/13 and 7/14/2007. Very clean, very friendly, great location. Will definitely recommend to others as well as go again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markswife16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Ultra clean and quite beachfront hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful.Would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loriann929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Very Clean and good location. Good value also. Staff was helpful. Not luxurious, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank srg87120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Fantastic and Friendly!!! That is how we felt upon arrival and upon leaving! It was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go again! Art, the Supervisor, was detail oriented and very helpful! Our room was immaculate and the waterview room a big plus! It felt very nostalgic and comfortable. We enjoyed our entire stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $62 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing