We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went here for my girlfriend's 25th over Memorial Day and we had a great time at the hotel! Art and the entire staff are super friendly and extremely helpful with everything, literally they were superb. Add that you are one block away from the ocean and in beautiful Virginia Beach and you won't want to leave. Thanks for the excellent stay, Art and gang! JS

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, not a bad spot in the house!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks for the nice review, it was nice meeting you and your girlfriend and we enjoyed doing our little part to help her celebrate her birthday! We are certainly happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Bring her back down next year and we will celebrate all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge on the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 488 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, May 11 to 16. What a great place. The staff were all very welcoming, from the front desk to the guy testing the pool. You get a balcony overlooking the boardwalk, a stone's throw from the ocean. The property is a little older but the pool was well kept, as were the grounds. Everything was clean and well maintained. There is a continental-style breakfast from 7 to 10am. You can sign out a bike to ride around the area. In addition to two chairs on the balcony there is a small table with two chairs in the room, a microwave and a fridge.There are two supermarkets relatively close, both have a deli, the further one, Farm Fresh, would steam fresh caught lobster tails for you and cook scallops. We did go out to eat a couple of times, but having dinner on the balcony overlooking the ocean was a real treat.
The resort part of the beach is close to a navy base so there are jets flying by during the day, but they don't fly during the night and honestly you get used to it pretty quickly
We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: it is three floors and there are no elevators, but if you can handle stairs then the 3rd floor offer...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffO_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Wow! What a great review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know what you thought about our property, and especially the kind words. The staff here genuinely appreciates that their efforts are noticed, and appreciated. We hoe we get the chance to see you again very soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and was pleased with it. The rooms are a little dated but a good size . We did find crisps under the bed (cleaned up the next day) and had everything you could need. Bathrooms and bed linen very clean and fresh. Breakfast was basic but definitely ample. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the location is second to none. Although we didn't use the pool it looked very inviting and clean. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelafar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for such a nice review. I would like to apologize for the housekeeping error you experienced but I am pleased that the staff took care of the issue. I am fortunate to have an experienced and generally outstanding team to work with, and though they might occasionally overlook something they will correct their mistake very quickly. That you would stay again and recommend us to friends is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you have have Champagne Taste on a Beer Budget, then "Econo Lodge on the Ocean" is the place for you!! My daughter and I spent 2 nights at this wonderful spot! The staff was exceptional. We arrived early in the morning and spoke to Art, on the front desk. He said if he could get us in before the normal check-in of 3pm, that he would. By 11:30a, he was calling me on my cell phone to say the room was ready and it was on the 3rd floor like I had requested. The room had a balcony on the gorgeous Virgina Beach. You'd expect to pay so much more for the spectacular view (like the others staying in nearby hotels did). The rate was very affordable. The room was clean. The views breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had read before we chose the Econo Lodge, that a guy was surprised to give an Econo Lodge 5 stars, but he did because his experience was amazing. Well, I give it 5 stars too because Art, the entire staff, the room, the pool and the view, all deserve 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

We can't thank you enough for such a positive review of our property! We believe we offer an excellent value to our guests and it would seem that you are in complete agreement with that. Please know that your comments will be posted in our employee area and serve to encourage the efforts of the staff, people I am very pleased and honored to work with. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and son for a long Mother's day weekend. Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant, and great location. Bathrooms were very small, as the 3 of us kept bumping our elbows on the vanity corner by the toilet. Pool was warm and clean. We stayed on the first floor and had a good view of the beach. Someone did steal one of our beach chairs on the patio so do not leave anything outside. A barrier of some kind would be beneficial to customers safety on the first floor. Overall, it served my family for our needs. I would stay here again for the value.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our property, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you would be likely to return! We appreciate that there are many options to choose from and that you chose to stay with us. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and found bedbugs twice. Very worried these bugs would bite my daughter. But location is good, right on the beach. Our room is on the first floor, very nice view. That's the first time I found bedbugs in any hotel across the world. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stone y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We appreciate the review, but we can find no record of a guest matching your public profile found here on Tripadvisor. We have had no issues with insects at this facility, bedbugs or any other type of bug. There are many hotels in Virginia Beach with similar names and we believe you might have us confused with another facility. However, we would definitely like to hear from you so that we could look into this further, specifically your dates of travel, name and a room number. Please contact me (Leonard Richardson, General Manager) directly at the hotel. Our phone number is 757-428-3970, or you can use our email address; Econovb@aol.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor friends for pointing me to this great lodging for my family! The staff was truly gracious and went out of their way to ensure my older parents had a comfortable room, we enjoyed the amenities (bikes, pool) and got the most out of our two days in the area. It's all true - great views of the ocean, right on the boardwalk, perfectly fine accommodations. When our hairdryer went on the fritz, they replaced it within minutes of us reporting the problem. If I have the opportunity, I will definitely come back to the Econo Lodge on the Ocean. Thank you for offering a great value with such personal service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you very much for such a nice review! The staff here will be very happy to read that thier efforts are noticed and appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $70 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing