We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They take care of you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hurlock, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They take care of you”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I choose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and pleased to find they accurately described this experience. The staff is friendly and caring. We stayed in the double bed room and found it to be clean and nicely furnished. Views are beautiful. Smoke-free facility which is imperative for me traveling with 2 allergic children. They have bicycles available for guests to use. Continental breakfast is basic but it was all we needed. Staff actually patrols the parking lot to ensure you remember to display your parking tag and they will save your parking spot for you if you drive a larger vehicle. Overall great experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! The staff will be thrilled to know that their efforts are noticed and appreciated. I am very fortunate to have a team of such great people to work with. We are very happy you had such a nice stay and look forward to welcoming back the whole family very soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    141
    37
    5
    3
See reviews for
187
159
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a cheerleading competition and found this hotel through trip advisor. This was our third year going to Virginia beach for this event and have stayed at a different hotel each time due to being dissatisfied with each one we've been at. We were so happy with this hotel and this is where we will stay from here on out. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Parking is a bear at Virginia beach and this hotel actually saves your spot for you when you leave. The view of the beach is also excellent as all rooms are oceanfront. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that's looking for a great beach experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jailnurse1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and seem to have found your home for the future events. The staff will be very excited to read your comments about their efforts and thank you very much for recognizing them. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is an older property with small rooms that has been very well maintained. The owners have clearly made every effort to insure that they are competitive with the fancy oceanfront places by offering a lower cost beachfront option.
The staff is excellent, friendly and efficient.
If you have an issue with small rooms and beds this is not a good option if you want a double room. Didn't look at single rooms, which I imagine are the same size size as the doubles but feel roomier with the elimination of the second bed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank PaoloStatiUniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments reflect the wonderful hospitality that our staff is famous for and I couldn't be prouder or happier that their efforts are being recognized.
Our room size is actually pretty standard in the industry, possibly slightly larger than some of the other oceanfront hotels that we are familiar with. However, your are correct that the rooms with a single King bed do feel a bit roomier without the second bed.
We are very pleased you chose to stay with us. There are many options to choose from in Virginia Beach and we truly appreciate your business, and hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thanks to my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers for recommending this great hotel. The facilities were clean and well-maintained, the room was spacious, the front desk personnel was very friendly and efficient, the breakfast was simple but tasty, and the location right on the beach is perfect. The room rate was more than fair, and that completed a great experience. I will certainly look at this hotel first if I should return to Virginia Beach in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geisslerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you chose to stay with us when there are so many other oprions, and more pleased that we were able to meet or exceed your needs during your stay. We hope your travels bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my second evening in Virginia Beach on a busy weekend, and i was lucky to find a place that was NOT where i stayed the first night! And wow was i lucky!!!! Found availability online, but not by phoning.
All the rooms are facing the beach, so you hear the ocean and feel the breezes and you don't have any street noise! :D In the morning we had our coffee in the sunshine. The room was clean and modern and totally acceptable. The staff was great, the location was awesome and if i ever went back to Virginia Beach this is definitely where i would stay!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach. The elevators and hall faces the street for some neat people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write such a nice review! The staff here appreciates hearing your praise, and we all thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope that you do in fact make it back to the beach and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The old saying, you get what you pay for, does not apply when you are talking about this property. The rooms were up today and most importantly clean. The view off the balcony was awesome since you are right on the Boardwalk which provides hours of people watching opportunities. The beds were very comfortable and bathrooms up to date and were on par with much more expensive hotels. Don't let the name fool you, it is a great property and great value. Did I mention it was CLEAN. Also if you stay there go next door to the Grill for Breakfast and see Mary she will fix you up with the best breakfast in town.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor, view is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words! The staff here takes tremendous pride in providing some of the cleanest accommodations at the beach and this review reminds us all how important that is. We appreciate that you chose to stay here and are very happy you enjoyed the visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We would have loved to stay longer if we had the time. My Husband and I found this Hotel very adequate and the room was great. We were on the first floor and had a great oceanfront view and just steps from the beach. We would not hesitate to go back again. Just loved it. We stayed in September 2012.

Cathy G

Room Tip: Make sure you book early for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are pleased to hear you will return to stay here if your travels bring you back to the area. You came in September when the weather can be so gorgeous. Glad you enjoyed it and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing