We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No issues, met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No issues, met expectations”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday off season. Smooth check in, courteous staff. The location cannot be beat and the small private balcony was wonderful. Room was clean and decorating typical of a moderately priced motel chain. All in all a good experience. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LisaAC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and found everything to be clean and comfortable. The balconies certainly are a nice place to watch the ocean, the sunrise, or just the cast of characters on parade on the boardwalk! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    141
    37
    5
    3
See reviews for
187
159
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First visit to Virginia Beach and stayed at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean. I stayed at this property based on Trip Advisor Reviews. NO QUESTION I would stay at this property again.
All rooms are ocean front on the beautiful beach and board walk. Easy to get around and no need for a car. Plenty of places to walk to or take the bus. If you want a relaxing vacation this is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are basic, very clean adequately, furnished, small functional bathroom and all have ocean views. Small refrig is a plus. Each room has a small patio that has 2 plastic chairs but wonderful to sit out on and watch the sun rise. You are but a few steps to the beach. Small heated pool that was nice to cool off in. Continental breakfast is very basic but coffee and juice a Staff is friendly and helpful. Met a number of people that come back year after year. If you want a glitz and glitter place to stay this is not for you. if you are looking for a low cost good night sleep with a WONDERFUL location this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you select second or third floor walk the steps.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are happy to hear you would return here for another visit. You mentioned that you met a few people that return every year, and that simple statement is the foundation of our little hotel. We have generations of families returning every year, and sincerely hope you become a part of that tradition. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very pleased with our stay. We were able to check in an hour early without any problems. If you are looking for a fancy hotel this is not your place, however if you are looking for a clean affordable room with oceanfront this is Definitely your place!!! Will absolutely stay here again!! Cannot find anything bad to say and the welcoming personality from Art is a major plus!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay here and for submitting such a nice review! The staff here genuinely enjoys working here; meeting new people, and welcoming back old friends. We are very happy you picked us and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pleased to see so many great reviews--can hardly wait to get there ourselves this weekend! Checked a couple other places we have been and they were booked. One other place was outrageously overpriced at $269. for one night and $94 for a second night. Seriously--NOT gonna happen--I am not going to be on lockdown in a motel room for 72 hours and pay that kinda money no matter what day it is!! Econolodge on the Ocean was way more reasonably priced and lady on phone was very nice and professional for reservations. So looking forward to our getaway trip to Va Beach!! Thanks Econolodge for keeping prices reasonable!

Room Tip: Always choose king room and oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogaloo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Well we can hardly wait to see you so hurry on down!
Thanks for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohegan lake ny
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just passing through on our way home to check out the area. Place is clean, located on the beach and the staff is great. Price rocked. Plenty of little extras for the price. Fridge, tons of towels. It's worth the stay.

Room Tip: Grab a room on the higher floors for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are very pleased you found our accommodations appealing, and most important, very clean. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was there for 3 nights, 2 adults, 2 toddlers over the labor day weekend. No complaints at all. Check-in was fast, room very clean. Location excellent. Price reasonable. Staff friendly. Would definitely stay at this hotel next time we go to VA beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kuricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived, Art at the front desk treated us like family. We extended our stay because we were so delighted with our room. I highly recommend this place for travelers who want an ocean view in VA on a budget! Thank you, Art and friends of Econo Lodge! We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickleypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review, I believe Art is on his way to get his copy framed! We truly appreciate that you chose to spend your vacation with us, and we look forward to your next visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing