We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$197
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$188
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$304
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$231
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$113
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
312
151
40
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
151
40
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikesno elevatorcontinental breakfastbike rentalsheated outdoor poolthird floor roomsmall hotelwould definitely stay here againparking is tightolder hotelcoffee makerparking lot isyogurtparking spotstaff was very friendly and helpfulrooms were very cleanoff season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 511 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked our stay here a few weeks back via the AAA website (AAA Discount hotel!)

The Positive reviews and even the caveats are spot on. Really, the owners of this place "get it". They offer things that make your stay fun, without the "frills" offered by other hotels. If you are looking for a solid, reasonably priced, 2 star hotel, this is the place.

Great:
* Staff. Super friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
* Coffee most of the day in the office area. Good coffee, with real 1/2 and 1/2!
* Free bike check out. The bikes are a bit funky, but do the job quite well.
* Location, right on the ocean!
* Pool. My youngest daughter gets cold very easily, and the ocean can be quite cold. The pool was nice and warm and sunny.
* Free Parking. Enough said. For those new to the area, you really don't stay here to then get in our car and drive anywhere. You can walk/bike to everything you need. So, the tightness of the parking is no big deal.
* All the rooms face the ocean and have a nice balcony (first floor rooms simply open up to the beach!)

Good:
* Clean rooms with a fridge.
* Continental Breakfast. Good enough to grab a bit before a morning bike ride or hitting the beach. BTW, there is a small breakfast/brunch restaurant right next store, the Seaside Cafe, if you want a hot breakfast.
* Comfortable Beds

Neutral:
* The rooms are a bit small. Our family consists of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and the fit was a bit of a tight fit. We brought a full size air mattress to provide some extra sleeping room. All in all we appreciated the room and who stays in their room when on the beach anyway!

Cons:
* Smoking. We are non smokers and were bummed out that we had to keep our patio door shut because the people in the room below us were chain smokers. I think there are only 2 smoking rooms on the first floor and we were unlucky enough to be above one of them, if you hate cigarette smoke, be sure to request a room on the other side of the hotel.

Suggestions to management:

* Go non-smoking! Your place was booked solid on a slow week on the beach. Alternatively, create a smoking area away from the rooms and make your rooms non-smoking.

* Put 1/2 and 1/2 cups in the rooms instead of powered creamer packets.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Non-Smokers - Ask for a room on the South Side (I think) away from the smoking rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captkirk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We are very happy you seem to have found a home away from home here. As the general manager, I couldn't be more pleased that you pointed out the great job the staff here does at welcoming our guests with a genuine warmth and sense of appreciation; they make my job much less stressful!
We actually went 100% non-smoking this past January. While that means no one is smoking in the guestrooms, it is very difficult to manage behavior outside the room. We try to encourage everyone not to smoke on their balcony or patio, or at least be aware of those around them. We shall try to put a little more emphasis on that prohibition moving forward. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a terrific place to stay. We had to make a last minute change to our itinerary and the staff was so helpful, thank you for a great stay in Virginia Beach. We loved the friendly service and attentive staff, wonderful heated pool, free parking, ocean front balcony, and easy access to the beach. The only thing I would change was the fact that there were guests who smoked on hotel property, like the rooms, the rest of the property should be smoke-free including the pool area and balconies. This was a good value and great time in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marks123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, and especially mentioning the efforts of the staff. Hotels are merely bricks and mortar; it is the efforts of the staff that defines guest's hotel experience. We are especially proud of the cast of characters we have here...they genuinely love what they do.
This is our first year as a 100% non-smoking hotel and the rooms are thankfully now free of smoke smell and we will continue to adjust our policies to ensure the comfort of all our guests. Thank you so much for visiting and we will see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The breakfast area is too small, and they don't have a bathroom in the lobby .other than that , clean , convenient room, close to everything . Outdoor pool was nice and warm. This is a great location , close , really close to the beach , lots of aircraft passing by, a little annoying some times , but not overwhelming . Once on the beach pay close attention to the dolphins , they do pass by , I had a great experience watching then , next time I will bring binoculars to have a closer look .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straighforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We appreciate the review and thank you very much for taking the time to submit it. I couldn't agree with you more about watching the dolphins. I have lived here all my life and they continue to amuse and amaze me. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just went for an overnight with my mom and two kids but the room was big enough that we would have been comfortable for longer. There was a microwave, cold fridge, and coffee pot in the room. Breakfast in the morning is provided downstairs-- muffins, bagels, juice and coffee. Nothing fancy but it was nice to have something immediately without needing to go far.
I don't ever expect any beach room to be the same kind of "clean" that I expect at other locations, so this room exceeded my expectations on cleanliness. While we didn't use the pool on our short stay it was obviously well cared for and also clean.
Parking is tight but the staff is very proactive about helping guests find a spot and negotiate the spaces. Front desk staff was friendly yet very professional and efficient.
Free use of bikes (including a few that work for older children) was a nice perk. They loan them to guests for an hour at a time. Since the boardwalk/bike path is right next to the hotel, it's a great way to see the sights without spending more money.
The building is only three stories (no elevator) and it felt comfortable and charming among the highrises. Overall, a very good value for an ocean front room with balcony!

Room Tip: First floors have patios with easy access to the boardwalk. 2nd and 3rd floors have balconies separated by walls (felt more private and secure than the patios).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AreWeThereYet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Wow! What great comments. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We are excited you seem so happy with your choice of lodging. There are many options in Virginia Beach and we appreciate that you chose us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First stay at this location, to be honest a better value than some of the big chains near the same location, friendly staff made our stay priceless. Clean pool and rooms, lots of freebies like WiFi, breakfast, and you can even take bikes out for a ride ....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didiasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to seeing you here again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews