We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you're looking for clean....this is your place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you're looking for clean....this is your place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We checked in on the 10th of this month for a three night stay. If you are looking for a fancy place, this isn't it. However, if you are looking for clean, come here. If you are looking for a staff that cares, come here. All rooms have a lovely ocean view from the private balcony. More than adequate. A big "well done" to the staff! I'd give it a "10" on the clean scale, which is the most important element for me.

Room Tip: If you require a soft pillow....take your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deermarkndebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel, especially that you found the housekeeping department did an outstanding job. We are fortunate that the staff members in housekeeping have been here for a long time, and we all have enormous respect for their dedication and excellent performance.
We hope to be your home away from home in future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    134
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
172
149
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband is stationed at Little Creek and we booked a night here because the Navy Lodge on base had no availability the first night. Well, after waking up to dolphins swimming out our window the first morning, we stayed for the full 3 nights at the Econo Lodge!
Great price, location, clean, staff was incredibly friendly, Free WiFi, good continental breakfast...
I always look at Trip Advisor before I book, and this is why.
Right on the money.
Excellent time and great couple day vacation with my husband! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauramm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Fork, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This room was very very clean and the best room I have EVER stayed in on the beach. I would stay here again and again. The free breakfast was GREAT also. The pool looked a little small but it is winter time and we did not use the pool. Everyone that we came in contact with that worked at this hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I also went here because of the other reviews. And I was not disappointed. I had no problems. It was very quiet. The parking lot is so easy to get in and out of. The room was nice and the people were all very helpful. Flat screen TV with HBO and the wireless worked quite well. I was in a King room on the 3rd floor (went for a King since the rates were so low for winter.) It had a lovely couch, chair and coffee table. The views were great. The food - was not for me. If you're a Starbucks fan, there is a Starbucks 3 blocks away on 31st. If you're Maxwell House fan you might enjoy the food offerings.

The one negative had nothing to do with the hotel but do note - if you are going anywhere on the oceanfront from 40th to 20th this winter - they are doing construction! They have a big project to add sand to the beach and have a pipe laid out across the beach and bulldozers that run all night! The first night the beep-beep-beeping kept me up most of the night. I have not found anywhere to get status on this - the city seems to want to deny it's going on so you might want to check with the hotel before you go to find out if this will interfere with your plans.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs choose the first floor. All rooms have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and are glad. Not sure if there's another VA Beach hotel whose architecture ensures ocean-front views; when we go to the beach we want to be able to sit on balconies and admire the ocean. Not all hotels can guarantee a room with a view will be available.

The hotel's boiler went out during our initial travel date and the staff was excellent about letting us know immediately. We rescheduled about a month later and were very lucky in traveling a January weekend with 70 degree weather! They were doing some other repairs, which did not affect our positive experience.

The rooms are moderately sized and definitely have a budget feel, although there is a safe as well as fridge and microwave. The small flat screen TV has about 70 channels, and we were able to access WiFi in the rooms each day. The toiletries include shampoo and hand lotion. We could hear babies crying and loud voices in other rooms, and traffic is close by, but at night the hotel was fairly quiet (due in part to offseason). The front desk staff were excellent. Didn't try the free continental breakfast.

Tiny nits are the lack of a screen on the balcony door and windows, and the electrical outlet for the bed is behind the bed and hard to reach (for using a laptop on the bed). And there are no elevators, which was not a problem for us.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean, are close to parking, and there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deltaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last visit was about one year ago. On return, everything was just as grand as the last visit - even the weather. I chose a second floor room for the extra sight line of shore and seascape. The facilities have been kept up-to-date. When I awoke the first morning, I thought for a moment that I was in my own comfortable bed. You might want to read the information handout before stepping out onto the balcony. WARNING: the door locks behind you if closed. This might result in a few ackward moments. Although insignificent, you can waive the $1.00 safe fee, if the safe is not used. Enjoyed the clean, quiet, comfortable room and location. The continental breakfast food and location is adequate. The staff is especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Econolodge. Service was outstanding. Room was very nice all the rooms had a balcony and oceanview. Location was great and the free bikes was outstanding. Room was clean and updated. Great great hotel for the price. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djbarden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing