We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value offseason with all oceanfront views in a budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and are glad. Not sure if there's another VA Beach hotel whose architecture ensures ocean-front views; when we go to the beach we want to be able to sit on balconies and admire the ocean. Not all hotels can guarantee a room with a view will be available.

The hotel's boiler went out during our initial travel date and the staff was excellent about letting us know immediately. We rescheduled about a month later and were very lucky in traveling a January weekend with 70 degree weather! They were doing some other repairs, which did not affect our positive experience.

The rooms are moderately sized and definitely have a budget feel, although there is a safe as well as fridge and microwave. The small flat screen TV has about 70 channels, and we were able to access WiFi in the rooms each day. The toiletries include shampoo and hand lotion. We could hear babies crying and loud voices in other rooms, and traffic is close by, but at night the hotel was fairly quiet (due in part to offseason). The front desk staff were excellent. Didn't try the free continental breakfast.

Tiny nits are the lack of a screen on the balcony door and windows, and the electrical outlet for the bed is behind the bed and hard to reach (for using a laptop on the bed). And there are no elevators, which was not a problem for us.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean, are close to parking, and there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedClayWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 510 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last visit was about one year ago. On return, everything was just as grand as the last visit - even the weather. I chose a second floor room for the extra sight line of shore and seascape. The facilities have been kept up-to-date. When I awoke the first morning, I thought for a moment that I was in my own comfortable bed. You might want to read the information handout before stepping out onto the balcony. WARNING: the door locks behind you if closed. This might result in a few ackward moments. Although insignificent, you can waive the $1.00 safe fee, if the safe is not used. Enjoyed the clean, quiet, comfortable room and location. The continental breakfast food and location is adequate. The staff is especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay at the Econolodge. Service was outstanding. Room was very nice all the rooms had a balcony and oceanview. Location was great and the free bikes was outstanding. Room was clean and updated. Great great hotel for the price. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djbarden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As frequent travelers to Virginia Beach over the past 40 years, we have just stumbled upon this little gem and can't say enough good things about it. Don't let the humble three-story, older construction turn you away! Inside are the most spin-n-span, up-to-date rooms, with private balconies and beautiful ocean views. Free breakfast, bicycles, HEATED outdoor pool (we swam comfortably in late October!) Their prices are less than half of what you'll pay for the beach's new, ritzy high-risers. (Heck, we have paid almost twice as much for rooms that were no better.) You'll love your fellow guests--and here's the best part: the staff here is top-notch in every way. No detail escapes them. They'll give you a dinner recommendation ... suggest an activity for a rainy day ... and if you tell them you are celebrating something-- they'll even make a little poster in honor of your occasion. We will come back here again ... and again... and again. Already have a trip to Christmas lights planned for the grandson AND another for our Valentine's beach excursion. LOVE THIS LITTLE PLACE!!!

Room Tip: ALL rooms have unobstructed balconies with straight-on views of the beautiful Atlantic. There are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night last week. We chose it because of the rating on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. It was a clean third floor room with an excellent view of the ocean and boardwalk, which we enjoyed. The room had an older couch and also a king size bed which was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was better than we expected - bagels, cereal, apples, muffins, juice and coffee which we took to our balcony to enjoy while watching the ocean. There are no elevators but even to the 3rd floor room it was not a problem. It was not a fancy room, but very adequate and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 3rd floor - very quiet and great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank suzannev1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 2 nights for a recent concert we saw at the Farm Bureau Amphitheater. Hotel is ocean front, had FREE bikes to use for an 1 hour (they said if we went over that would be fine since it was the off season) which was wonderful to ride on the boardwalk, they did have a heated pool which was nice actually--I was a little nervous about that, but no nasty sickness to date! The continental bfast wasn't bad--bagels, danishes, cereal, coffee, tea, OJ, milk & they had a basket of apples that I helped myself to as well. The staff was super friendly & helpful. I also recommend riding the FREE shuttle (city bus) to the amphitheater if you are coming down to see a concert. It picks you up 1 block up from the hotel, we waited no time, then you get to go to the amphitheater stress-free since you don't have to deal w/ traffic, then at the end of the concert you meet the bus right outside the gates & it drops you right off outside the hotel. It really was so convenient & easy to use. The room was clean, spacious & well we slept just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malityson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the long weekend (Columbus Day) for only 1 night. I booked this based on the rating level of this hotel in Tripadvisor. It was actually rated as the 3rd best hotel on the ocean in some sites. So my review will take into consideration what this place is. It is a budget hotel. Do not book here thinking that you are going to be getting something equivalent to a Holiday Inn Express or a Hampton Suites. You basically get what you pay for. In this case, the staff are friendly and helpful, the cost was low ($90 with taxes in) and the rooms are clean. But it is very no frills. On the night that we stayed, there was a stiff wind blowing in from the ocean which was more than the door seals could handle. The heater seemed to push out cold air no matter what setting we selected so we basically turned it off, wore sweaters under the covers. There were no cups visible in the bathroom - we did notice some plastic cups by the fridge/microwave stand which is beside the coat/closet. But this was as we were checking out.

I under stand that this is a family run business trying to compete with the big corporations and is a bit of a throw-back to a simpler time for hoteliers. This would be great for a small family here for a beach weekend - spending little time in the room.

Free wireless internet is a basic - some of the larger chains like the 4 Seasons can learn from the Econo Lodge. But a return visit is not in my future for this hotel. I'm not particularly picky and the the price was right, but when you are on a romantic getaway the last thing you want to worry about is the smell of disinfectant, tired paint covering water damage and dealing with temperature fluctuations. Like I said, it is what it is.

Room Tip: Not sure - I had a 3rd floor room. Good view of the beach, but too windy/rainy to enjoy. If the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeDi624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
510 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $61 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing