We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I love this hotel. Talk about value! The rooms are immaculate, spacious, and comfortable. In addition to the other amenities mentioned in other reviews, they have free wireless internet, and a nice moderate sized table with two comfortable chairs in the sitting area. We also appreciate the clean chairs and table on the patios. If an elevator is not a "must" stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueAngel0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    127
    33
    5
    3
See reviews for
162
140
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

No frills, off season cost 71.10 a night, non-weekend rate. Balcony faces the ocean. Staff, pleasant and helpful. Older/smaller building needs some painting. Newer bedding and decor would be nice. You get daily continental breakfast of bagels, rolls, coffee and orange juice. Daily bike use without charge. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trusted01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

From the moment I pulled into the parking lot, until the moment I left this hotel, I had a completely 100% positive stay.
There's no bells-and-whistles here, just a clean, comfortable, friendly beachfront resort hotel.
As I explored Va Beach during my stay, I actually felt sorry for those who may have chosen one of the high end, high-rise, high-ticket hotels along the beachfront. I thought about them when I was able to just walk out of my ground-floor room directly onto the boardwalk and beach, or just sit on my patio and relax, and probably for a third of what they were paying.
Obviously, people look for different things in a hotel while on a vacation (I was on a one-day getaway). For me, it supplied a perfect, relaxing experience.
Centrally located amid the 'action', it was an easy walk to many shops and restaurants.
One other thing needs to be noted: The staff was as friendly and helpful as you could ever imagine. From the front desk to housekeeping, everyone seemed to want to help you have a good stay. They seemed to take pride in their hotel, as they should. It's a winner.
Heated pool; free bikes; and free (basic) continental breakfast.
We are already looking forward to our next visit - and a longer stay - next time.

(Here's a tip: You can easily turn your basic, comfortable room into a fine-dining restaurant. There's a Harris-Teeter right around the corner. Go shopping there, get creative on the microwave, and have a gourmet lunch on your patio. If you're with someone you love, don't forget the candle!)

Room Tip: Need a view of the beach? Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor. The ground floor has an amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Econo Lodge for the Neptune Festival! The room was clean and attractive and oceanfront. Each staff member was helpful and very welcoming. One staff member moved a cone so we could park close to the building late in the evening, and the next morning he offered to carry our luggage to our car. The breakfast was a good start to the day, and we didn't have to go out. Art at the front desk was knowledgeable and fun to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Good R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel and our room where very clean.Employees where pleasant and very helpful. Morning breakfast was a fast way to start your day with juice, bagels, Danish, coffee, cereal, and more. It was wonderful waking up to the ocean. The only bad thing was jets flying very frequently were very,very noisy. But that was not their fault.

Room Tip: We chose a third floor room so we would not hear people above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this motel and had best stay on virgnia beach. My room had great ocean view and I enjoyed our stay there, had great FREE breakfast and clean rooms.Staff working there was excellent and frendly. Swimming pool was clean and heated. I will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here a few months ago but unfortunately have not had the chance to make a Tripadvisor review until now. This was the best Econo Lodge experience I have ever had. Their parking lot is the perfect size and the rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. You can literally walk out your back door and just a few steps onto the beach. There was a safe in the room, and a very cold fridge/freezer. Every employee we ran into was incredibly nice, and the man working front desk let us keep the car in the lot before we checked in/after we checked out so we could enjoy more time on the beach. The only complaint I had was that breakfast was a little bit sparse but it was acceptable, considering most oceanfront hotels do not even offer breakfast in the rate. I would love to stay here again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor, so you can just walk to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing