We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Nearby Hotels
$159
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$348
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$245
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
313
153
40
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
153
40
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikesno elevatorcontinental breakfastbike rentalsheated outdoor poolthird floor roomsmall hotelwould definitely stay here againparking is tightolder hotelcoffee makerparking lot isyogurtparking spotstaff was very friendly and helpfulrooms were very cleanoff season
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 514 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Overall, a great stay. Let me start with a few nitpicks: No elevator, small beetle on the bed when we arrived, outdoor pool temp was too hot, pillows hard and too big for my taste, one of two rooms we had had a musty smell upon arrival. That's about it for the negatives. The positives: Staff is outstanding, friendly hardworking and attentive to all your questions. You can tell the owner cares about this place, and that it passed along to staff. Hotel is in a great spot. If you want large crowds, just head a few blocks south, if you want a more quiet upscale feel, head a few blocks north. We had third floor room and because of the cinder block walls, things stay quiet. Room also is set up well with tile floor just as you walk in to collect sand. The balconies look right out over the bike path and boardwalk, and just sitting outside, there's plenty of entertaining stuff to see. Pool is nice with a hot shower spot to wash off all the sand you collect at the beach. Continental breakfast, is just that, cereal, muffins, oatmeal, apples, bagels. Nothing special, but staff is great in keeping coffee, orange juice, etc. well stocked. There's no room to sit down and eat, but they have plenty of trays to take back food to the room and sit on the balcony and have breakfast with a fabulous view of the boardwalk and ocean. Most of the people staying there were families. No crazy college or drunken high school kids staying there. Oh, almost forgot. They have free bike rentals. Bikes rent for $15 an hour at most places, so this is a great deal. Overall, an A+ location to stay at the price -- at a great price.

Room Tip: Third floor is great
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crwtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Econo Lodge feels like a motel. The room had a funky smell. The sheets were super stiff. Besides that it is in a great location (there was a movie on the beach right in front of our hotel), there are free bikes to use (!!!), a small but free breakfast, and nice people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The previous reviewer "A budget gem" really summed it all up great, but I wanted to add a few things. We stayed the week before Memorial Day weekend and the staff seemed to constantly be working to clean and get things ready for the big weekend. Changing lamp shades that really didn't seem to be in disrepair; hosing off the balconies and furniture; painting walls... Every time we were around, it seemed like the staff were busy. And ALL of them were super friendly. One even offered to help us with our luggage when we arrived.

Free bicycles is a huge advantage, most bike rentals start around $15 an hour. There is a great flat Maritime Trail alon the boardwalk and beyond. I was also impressed with how quiet the rooms were. We could barely hear our neighbors ate all.

When we were looking at hotels we kinda thought the reviews on Trip Advisor were a little too good to be true, but they are pretty spot on. This is an incredible value and I don't think you could get better hospitality at any of the fancier places.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at this site for a week. Have stayed at other budget hotels (including Econo Lodges) and know that they can be hit or miss with quality. THIS SITE IS DIFFERENT and as desribed by other Trip Advisor reviews. Very friendly staff, well maintained hotel. PERFECT for budget travelers who want a nice place to stay. No wild parties. Surrounded by shops and typical beach food. Seconds to beach.
Pros:
LOCATION--Directly on the beach! Plus hotel is only three stories; trips back to the room are no problem and takes seconds. Stayed on third story/king room and left door open every night and listened to the ocean waves. Also, Virginia Beach in general is more relaxing, less carnival atmosphere than other large beach destinations so there wasn't much noise on the boardwalk at night.
FREE BIKES--Great perk! Look around in Va. Beach, most bikes are rentals. Staff happy to give you the keys to a bike for an hour (or more based on demand). Used them every day.
FRIENDLY STAFF--Talked with housekeeping, maintenance and desk staff, all friendly, professional, and able to assist with all of our hotel related requests. Check-in/out very fast.
HEATED POOL--Great! Pool and pool deck were clean. Water clear. Shower on deck to get rid of sand from the beach. Furniture in good shape. The weather was cool during our trip so the pool was really needed. Get pool towels from desk staff.
BREAKFAST--standard food BUT food area was clean, fully stocked and stocked early. Perfectly quaint.Take little tray to room, or eat out by the pool.
CLEAN PROPERTY--hotel seemed fully booked yet there was no sign of garbage in the stairwell, in the grass--anywhere. Staff must care about this property. No damage or funky stuff in rooms. No mold or graffiti or worn look.
ROOM--king room was PERFECT: air-conditioned, king bed, a comfy club chair and a couch, flat screen tv, fridge (with freezer), microwave, coffee maker--all clean inside, ironing board, iron... PLUS some plastic furniture on the balcony. Spent hours out there watching the waves and boardwalk. Bathroom good size, always stocked with plenty of towels, shampoo, etc. Also, local food guide that was current! Actually went to a place noted in the guide.
PRICE--No contest. EXCELLENT value. The normal price expected at an Econo Lodge but the quality of the site was above average.
Neg.--none really. No elevator. But didn't miss it at all. Hysterical rumble of jets flying over the beach but that has nothing to do with the hotel. (Buy a bumper sticker at the shops and embrace the roar!)

Room Tip: I chose third floor to be up a little up from the bike path.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RollerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and comfortable beds. Housekeeping were thorough and nice. Coffee was a bit strong for my taste but standard continental breakfast with cereals, bagels, muffins, etc., were fresh. Convenient location with upscale shops just a few blocks up the street and the standard beach shops down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank offunspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews