We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly and beautiful Hotel and wonderful service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Setauket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Friendly and beautiful Hotel and wonderful service.”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

The Holiday Inn was a great place to stay with small children. It was very clean and we asked for a non-smoking room and was given that because my daughter has servere allegies. The room was immaculate. We drive down to Myrtle Beach every year and we just happened to stop at this hotel on the way down. The location to resturantes was great and the attractions were there too. We stayed another day because we had such a great time and the hotel staff was curtious and helpful. The breakfast and dinner were awsome. We ate out on the patio and just watched the ocean view . So relaxing. The beach was right there. With small kids that was convient. We are not going to Myrtle Beach this year but are going to Virginia Beach and staying at the same hotel. We loved watching the Fireworks from our room and wouldn't have know about this if it wasn't for the hotel staff. The next morning the manager was at breakfast and asked if all was well. That was a really nice personal touch. You usually don't see the manager at a hotel. We can't wait to go back. We have found a new summer vacation place to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setauket17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    208
    91
    29
    20
See reviews for
232
158
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed here in July of 2009 with my mom and 4 and 3 yr old for a week. We had a lovely room with two double beds and a balcony. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the small refrigerator was a godsend. The hotel is on the beach. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was relatively good. The pool was small and there is a chlorine smell in the lobby due to the proximity of the pool to the lobby and elevators. We took lovely walks every evening and the kids had a blast.

Some people have said that the area was seedy but it didn't look any different than most of VA beach to me. The drive from the airport was quick and easy. There are grocery stores and pharmacies near by(off the main drag) that are less expensive. It was very convenient. I would definitely stay here again. I would suggest that they redecorate the lobby. It looked like something out of Miami Vice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siastar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

What a great staff!!! the stay was amazing the girl at the front desk diana was really helpful and nice. i will be returning

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogart84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I have stayed at many Hotels in Virgina Beach, but the Holiday Inn Oceanside is the best. Rooms are clean, great view, with a central location on the boardwalk.

Hotel staff treats you like you are staying at the Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I love this hotel. The staff is always superb. They are always friendly and kind, they treat me like a memeber of thier family. They are knowledge able about the local area and whats going on in the area. I stay at this property frequently throughout the year and it's always great!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingirishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I really liked this hotel at first because of where it's located. Its in the center of everything and I was excited to take a little break from the holiday craze. When we checked in, the girl at the front desk looked unhappy to be there. (I think her name was Diane.) She didnt smile and didnt greet us. She was actually on her cell phone texting or doing something. Although she was fast at checking us in, it seemed like we were bothering her from her personal agenda. I didnt bother asking her any questions. When we got to the room, it was very clean and I loved the view. My husband and I decided to get a couple of drinks at the bar before heading back out. The bartender was nice and made friendly conversation. The front desk isnt too far from the bar where we were seated and I noticed that the rude unhappy desk girl got some visitors which changed her mood (finally). I couldnt help but think how unprofessional and unpleasant she was to look at. She left the desk and took pictures, her friends were in the lobby lounging, and she was not concerned about the volume of her voice. I could practically hear their entire conversation which consisted of what their plans for drinking were going to be. I understand the need for a social life but shouldnt that be left at home and not displayed at work? On our way out to venture the area, she of course ignored us and continued socializing with her friends. The rest of my stay was fine. Everyone else I encountered was friendly and attentive. She definitely left a bad taste in my mouth as far as first impressions. I will most likely return to virginia beach but may stay someplace else due to the front desk service I endured. Other than that, I liked the location and the view from my room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrk2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Myself and two co-workers had buisness in Norfolk and decided to stay in Virgina Beach which is a 20-25 minute drive away. This hotel is right on the beach and the price was great...$88 a night. We stayed for two nights and had no trouble finding parking at the hotel...granted it was during the week and offseason.

Jimmy at the front desk...awsome! He helped us with any stupid question we had...we had lots...

The room itself was great. Had a king bed, which was very comfortable, the floor was clean and it had a private balcony which I spent most of my free time on just watching people on the boardwalk and the dolphins swimming by in the ocean.

The only complaint I have is, there's no public "buisness center" where someone can use a computer or print out documents. Not a big deal but it sucks when you forget your laptop and need to look up e-mail or directions.

Other then that, this place was great and I'm definitly going back for a non-work visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedukea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Property: Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing