We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Count On Them!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't Count On Them!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked a reservation for the Holiday Inn Oceanide on 21st Street/2101 Atlantic Avenue several months ago. I booked a room for 2 nights - 5/3 & 5/4. My daughter had a cheerleading competition at the convention center and all the hotels were almost impossible to get into! I was relieved to finally find a place that had a room for my husband, daughter and I. On 5/2 I called to find out when check-in was (4pm). I let them know that we were driving from PA, so it would probably be 5-6pm until we arrived. I was told that this was no problem and they would have a room ready for our arrival. Well, when we arrived at 5:45pm, we were told that our room had been given away. Sorry. I asked the girl at the desk where we were to go because we had driven 6 hours and now have no room. She said that the owner/manager made arrangements for us at the 39th Street Holiday Inn -- 18 blocks away! She assured us that we would be given a special room for our trouble... a suite. When we arrived at the 39th Street Holiday Inn, we were put in a 2 queen bed room. No Suite. Our stay ended up being fine and the 39th Street Holiday Inn was very nice. However, it was considerably further from the Convention Center - and it was an inconvenience since our friends and team mates were staying at the original location we booked. I'm not sure if this is typical for this hotel, but in my opinion, it's bad business. If the other Holiday Inn had not had a room for us, I guess we would have just been out of luck. So, beware! If you book with this hotel, even if you call to confirm your reservation the night before, they still may give your room away before you arrive!

Room Tip: Book your room and then hope and pray they don't give your room away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kendall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your reservation issues at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. We will look into what happened but no matter what the problem was we are very sorry for the way it affected your family. I can be reached at the hotel if you would like to give me a call to discuss. Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    202
    90
    28
    19
See reviews for
226
156
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last year we stayed at another local hotel but were disappointed in "quality vs price". This year we stayed here and were very pleased with everything. Very friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet, clean room, clean lobby, easy access to beach and overall, very nice stay. Pauly was an excellent host at the restaurant/bar. Although they "closed" at 9PM Saturday night, he was still serving with a smile and helping out a nice number of our group after closing hour had come and long gone. After last year's cold and wind, the sun and warmth was the exclamation point on a very nice weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and most of all members of the staff. We pride ourselves on always trying to improve service and quality whenever possible. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the minute I walked to the front desk my stay was perfect. Weather was terrible - big rain storm but the hotel and staff were so cheerful I forgot about my terrible 4 hour drive.Onur Guduk, Front Desk Manager was wonderful Workmen were in the hotel painting, new carpeting etc and it was perfect before. It was very obvious to me that they cared about their guests and wanted their stay to be excellent.


My room was on the 12th floor. All rooms are oceanfront. The walkway to the rooms is all glass so you can see Atlantic Avenue and it is bright. Rooms were very clean, refrig, microwave, coffee, everything you need including free wi-fi.

Breakfast was great, I had the buffet. I go to VA Beach for business about 3-4 times a year: This will be my "go to" hotel!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycling on the rooms. Good lighting in the rooms even though they are energy efficient bulbs. Very energy conscious.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleneGPotomac_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments about the staff and hotel. I will pass your comments on to Onur and everyone else at our daily staff pre shift meetings. We have enjoyed having and serving you. We are also very proud of being your "To Go" hotel on the beachfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, and the checkin process was very quick. Front desk staff were helpful, and friendly.
Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy during our trip. We could never get the room to a comfortable temperature. The bedding wasn't quite warm enough, and the water in the shower/bath never got very warm. We found in the end of our trip that the door that leads out to the balcony must not have a very good seal. Because once we closed the thick curtains it helped.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one of the nights we were visiting. Our waitress has two tables. She disappeared as soon as she took our order and never came back until we were finished. The cook brought us our food. And we had to ask the bar tender for our more drinks. We came in for dinner around 7:30 pm.

All in all... It wasn't really worth the money we spent for two nights. Our stay was rather mediocre, and I feel bad because this was my husbands birthday celebration gift. Not super romantic...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the honest feedback about your last stay here at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. We will be following up and sharing the information you have provided to us with the staff at our next standup meeting. This feedback will help to improve our service provided to all guests and ensure each and every guest wants to return. If we can assist you with any future reservations in the future please call us at 757-491-1500 and ask for the GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our family took an impromptu trip to va beach. Weather outside was not so good being cold and rainy. Hotel was clean and we were very pleased. The only problem was gat the indoor pool was freezing cold. If it had been warmer this would have been a perfect trip.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mullinsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your last quick getaway. We will follow up with your issues to ensure the next time you are in town everything is perfect. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday and we loved it! The room was immaculate and very comfortable. We lucked up and got an oceanfront room that was awesome!

The issues were:
1. It took a very long time for the check-in. This was because there was only one person working the front desk.
2. The wait to be seated at the hotel restaurant in the morning was soooo long. Our waitress Tiffany was very nice but it just took a very long time to be seated.

Hopefully the wait times would be reduced, but I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and I will be passing your information onto the entire staff so we can continue to improve our service to each and every guest that stays with us. We have a daily pre shift meeting with all departments and discuss outstanding issues. Thanks again for the heads up and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This has become our favorite hotel! We visited VA Beach for the first time in October, 2013 but did not make reservation in advance. After stopping at several hotels, we found this Holiday Inn. Onur Guduk, front desk manager, took such good care of us! The staff is great and very helpful, the rooms & hotel are clean, the location is perfect. We returned for a visit in April and are already planning our next get-away. Be sure to give this Holiday Inn a try but make sure it's the right one-- 2101 Atlantic Ave... and tell Onur hello!

Room Tip: Beach side for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel but most of all about Onur. He is the team leader at the front desk and we will take some time aside to thank him for everything he has done for you. Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Property: Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing