We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at Virginia Beach. Virginia beach is one the best, clean and secure beaches. It was not very crowded during the peak season.

Overall, the hotel is averagely clean and staff is nice. The bath rooms were the cleanest and had well maintained tiles. The TV is small. However, there are several nice hotels on the beach that I felt I would have been better option. But, this was not bad, just that I paid more than 200 for a room, that I don't think is worth that much. I wouldn't recommend their restaurant. They have *very* limited menu items and for vegetarians, don't even think about it. Their highly advertised kids eat free is just a joke. My kids told me that they would rather eat from the Subway infront of the hotel than eat in their restaurant.

As far as access to the beach, this is hotel is strategically located with access to everything. Given that they have a very limited parking next to hotel, I saw lot of musical chairs to grab a spot and once you got one, you don't want to leave and prefer to walk around or take $1 bus. The indoor swimming pool is very much next to the entrance and next to the beach side exit. It just doesn't give any privacy. But I hardly saw people swimming, given that their is enough water to play outside. The pool by itself is very small and if you are not careful, you could fall into the pool on one side. One of the side is just too narrow.

There are two elevators and 12 floors. We have been lucky most of the time to get elevator within few minutes of pushing the button. I highly recommend you to carry drinking water with you up the floor. Most of the time, the vending machines (on each floor) are sold out for water.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VacationTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 630 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

This was our first time to Virginia Beach. If we go to a beach in the South it is usually Mrytle Beach, SC. Virginia Beach is so much better than Mrytle Beach! Holiday Inn on 21st is in the middle of it all. The streets and the boardwalk is live and active late hours.
If you bring your children, bring the bikes. However there are bikes to rent.
We only ate out one night, we at at the Holiday Inn, it has excellent seafood (crab cakes/soft shell crab sandwich).
The hotel is clean and updated. I am actually there right now using the free access, the weather was a bit cloudy today.
I would stay here again.
The only thing I didn't like was the parking, but we lucked out found a parking spot on the lot. We used public transportation and kept the car parked.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank couponqueen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Just came back from awesome vacation here. I was hesitant upon arrival because at last minute changed reservations from Holiday Inn Sunspree due to terrible reviews. I was pleasantly suprised.

The parking lot is too small and was concerned over the safety of the other lot due to the teenagers walking around. But they actually had an attendant sitting in chair for greater part of the day and put my mind to ease!.

Rooms had fantastic view of the ocean from laying in my bed!!! Beaches were crowded but very clean. Staff was excellent and very friendly and my room was very clean upon arrival. We dont let housekeeping in each day but found fresh towels at our door each time we didnt let them in and this impressed me that I didnt have to spend time chasing someone down.

The boardwalk (on street) does get crazy at night but hey its Virginia Beach and its for the younger crowd. Boardwalk on the ocean is peaceful and not bad at all. Our family walked it many times

Awesome time and great hotel. Will definitely go back and trust me I read these reviews and find them helpful. Im very picky about where we go and would recommend this hotel 100%.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank xxxmrsanselmoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We just got back from Virginia Beach, the weather was great and jellyfish were far and few. The past 2 times we were here we stayed at the Dyas Inn Oceanfront. It was further to walk to the shops and quieter. We thought this year, we would try something new The hotel itself was good, front desk, and anyone who worked there, went out of their way to accomodate. One day coming back from a walk along the boardwalk we were approaching the Holiday Inn and all you could see was a massive swarm of seagulls! It was disgusting. People were feeding them from the balconies! So you can imagine what the balconies below looked like. We told the front desk and they did go out and tell the people to stop feeding the seagulls. But that was an ongoing problem all week. Also one night kids were throwing water balloons at the people walking by on the boardwalk. That was also addressed by the the front desk. Yes the parking is terrible,we only got a space after 4 days, but for the most part we walked everywhere. So nothing against the hotel, it seems that Virginia beach itself is going down the tubes. Which is too bad. Alot of teenagers hanging around looking for trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab4Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

The hotel was clean and fresh. The room we had was the largest suite they offer. It was very spacious and accomodating. The front desk was always helpful and responded within minutes of request. The parking lot was small but we were lucky to have gotten a spot- once parked -leave it there. You do not need the car to go anywhere but the aquarium which we did before checking into the hotel anyway. This ensures a spot for you and your car. The aquarium was worth the price of the admission just to be able to touch and play with the stingrays. The Imax was also playing the latest batman film. The hotel is central on the boardwalk and all shops and restaurants are close by.
Do not eat at Giovanni's - thefood was ok but not worth our bill. And they add their own gratuity and we were only 5 people. Usually this is added on for parties of 8 or more- $18.00 in gratuity alone we had to pay for service that was not worth that at all- and the pizza had more cheese on it than other toppings- need to ask for them to cook it well done and be careful choosing your toppings - very expensive to add on. Doc Taylor's was the best breakfast place and also the Waffle Company - all you can eat buffet you do not mind eating it all... some buffets you need to be careful of - recommended by the locals to stay away from the seafood buffets. If you want a really good dinner place for a great price - you need to visit Tou Taugs (right beside Doc Taylor's).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resort101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Nice hotel, right on the beach. Staff was friendly and accommodating and kept the room cleaned. Room service was great, never actually ate in the restaurant. Room was super clean upon arrival, bathroom is decent sized and beds are actually comfortable.

Cons are

the lack of a larger parking lot, we only managed to snag a space once during the 3 night stay, but the overflow parking lot isn't -that- far away

and the fact that a 12 story hotel only has two elevators so a lot of time was spent waiting forever for the elevator to come. Luckily we were on the 2nd floor so I did a lot of hoofing it up the stairs instead.

Also, there are only 3 luggage carts, so on check out day, all three were being used and 3 people were in line ahead of us, so we ended up carrying all our stuff (6 people stayed including 2 small children) down in 2 trips, not a huge deal.

The view is great and its nice to wake up to the sunrise over the ocean, so any tiny inconveniences were completely overlooked or forgiven.

I plan on going straight back to Virginia Beach first chance I get and will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leavingnehalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Oceanside July 16 - 18, 2008. The rooms are all oceanfront, so the view is spectacular.

Our king size bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean, and it had a refrigerator and microwave oven. Our room was the quietest hotel room I have ever been in. Wireless internet is available to all rooms.

The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the shopping district, so you never have to move your car to shop or eat. We ate at the hotel for breakfast and the food was fresh and tasty.

On the negative: parking is lvery imited. Also, this is an older hotel, but it is well maintained. The indoor pool is very small, and there is no outdoor pool or exercise room.

We noticed other hotels offered free continental breakfast. This hotel does not, but we felt we got a good value for our money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ohioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
724 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $114 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing