We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and got the job done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location and got the job done”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our room was clean, the view from our balcony was nice, and the staff were friendly. And of course this is an oceanfront hotel so the location was very convenient. We could walk out of the hotel and right onto the beach. We did notice a bit of dust on a couple of things … like the hairdryer….but it wasn’t a huge deal and everything else (linens, towels, bathroom, etc. etc.) was very clean and we both felt very comfortable in the room. It’s not a luxurious hotel, but it gets the job done.

I would stay here again, but it wouldn’t be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback about the hotel and staff. You are correct in saying we are not a 5 star Hotel but what we work for is to be the best in service, value and quality on the beachfront. We have a newly renovated hotel centrally located on the beach with every room facing the oceanfront, upgraded free WiFi throughout the hotel and offering the best service on the beachfront. Check out anyone of the 18 packages we offer as a value added addition to your guest room and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    205
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
229
157
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The surprise comes from how much my preconceived notion from when I was a kid differs to what we walked into. Arriving a few days before Christmas, most of the area was shut down for the season. The Holiday Inn is located at the very end of the highway, literally, so it was easy to find. The front desk and entrance were welcoming, and each area we were in was very clean and neat. We were offered a choice of floor, so we chose the 10th. The view from this balcony was amazing! If you get the chance to see the sunrise on the beach, do it! Absolutely breathtaking! Our room was very clean, as was the bathroom. Our son came with us, and slept on the fold out couch. I think the only negative about our stay was the mattress. My back absolutely took a beating from the bed. I blame this on the fact that we use a Sleep number bed at home, so not really their fault. My husband slept like a log! We were able to see the holiday lights on the boardwalk from our balcony, and actually got some beach time at the end of December! The staff at this location should get a special shout out. Onur and Lenita were extremely pleasant and helpful. They genuinely care about their guests, which is a rarity these days. We were really happy with our choice this time, and definitely plan on staying here again when we visit in June.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kwojnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks and just as a FYI we will be adding some new bedding in 2014 although the mattresses we currently have are only one year old. I agree the view from any of our rooms is breathtaking. Also, since we are on the boardwalk you can see the Holiday Lights from your patio. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A friend and I stayed one short night in this wonderful hotel. Our room was on the twelfth floor and there are few words to describe the view we had. Completely unobstructed ocean-front room right on the boardwalk. The Festival of Lights was going on - - everything from Santa to sharks down on the beach.

It had been about forty-five years since my last visit to Virginia Beach - - I hope it won't be quite as long next time!

Room Tip: Impossible to have a bad room - - every one is ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssimptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for great comments and Happy Holiday's to your family from ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great people at VB....
Pauly at the bar and V at the front desk are exceptional.
Recommend any day.....
;)
Will keep you very happy and satisified .
Pauly is a godsend at the bar....kept us happy and entertained!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. I will certianly let Pauly know you enjoyed yourself! Next time you are in the area, consider us for your hotel stay and make sure you stop by the bar for a drink and to say HI to Pauly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my daughter's soccer tournament two years in a row last weekend. The place has stayed committed to great customer service, from the parking attendant, front desk, and particularly the crew at the Sip Sip restaurant.
Malou Harrell has made our two nights stay very special and made sure that my kids are well taken care off especially with their breakfast needs before their games. Pauly and Kristine are just a bunch of tough cookies, they close and open that place those two days and still manage to carry a big smile at all times. Though we came in second place at the tournament, the weekend experience was fantastic overall. - Mario & Jo Ann A. from Delaware

Room Tip: They accomodated our request to put the rest of our team in one floor; feel so safe to have the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earlyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in your review. We always strive to give the best service around and are glad to hear you had a great time. Please consider us your home away from home the next time you are in the Virginia Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November. The hotel is right on the beech and is very clean and modern. It appears to have been recently refurbished. The room was large and also clean with great views of the beech and sea. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Kistan was an efficient ray of sunshine serving Breakfast and Frances was charming and helpful. The reception staff were also very helpful and efficient. A very memorable experience and at an hotel that was not very expensive. I cannot think of a single thing to criticize!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quakered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments about the hotel and staff. I could not have said it any better and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Excellent customer service. Room was clean. Great wireless internet. Great view for the beach. Excellent bar tender Pauly. Definitely will be staying here for future visits!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jrock201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we will reach out to Pauli in order to thank him for the great service he provided you during your recent stay with us. Along with a great staff, newly remodeled hotel the location/view is one of our best features. Thank you again for noticing and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Property: Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing