We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. The rooms were nice, standard but enough room for a family of four. Great proximity to the beach, and a good location in Virginia Beach. A little further south than our last stay, but still a good spot from which to go for walks either on the street (for the shops and restaurasts), or down the boardwalk which is beautiful. The restaurant hotel was quite good as well, kids eat free and there are other daily specials - a good value and great service. Our room had a great balcony (all are ocean view), which is a must in Virginia Beach. Its a small balcony mind you with just a couple of old plastic chairs, but that's fine. There was a small fridge which was a great help. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the pool. It was tiny and always looked very dirty. It was the only disappointment. But luckily we had great weather during our stay and spent our days at the beach - we even had dolphins swim by not more than 10 feet from where we were swimming, amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effyk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are really excited that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel and staff. We think our location is the best because it is centrally located to everything on the beach and boardwalk. Just park your car and forget about it until it is time to leave. The dolphins seem to enjoy it as well since you can see them every morning and most afternoons just a few yards from the beach. Hope to see you soon and thanks again for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    199
    87
    28
    18
See reviews for
222
155
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the best labor day holiday I've had in quite awhile. The staff was great, the room excellent and the beach location was superb. Even with all the activity going on, it was relatively quiet considering the entertainment going on nearby. I recommend this hotel and I will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klitula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great comments about both the hotel and staff. It would be our pleasure serving you next year on your return visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is centrally located on the beach. It's clean, fairly modern, the staff was friendly, and the oceanfront restaurant was pretty decent. The only complaint I have is that they messed up our reservation. We booked a king, and when we arrived, they told us the king rooms were sold out and we had a double. Outside of that, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARNLED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry about your reservation. We also believe that our hotel has the best location on the beach since you can park the car and then forget about it until you are ready to leave. This is the best time to visit because our rates have been reduced since we are off season and local businesses offer the best deals of the year on their goods and services. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about this hotel and their impressive staff. Check-in was easy, and the young lady at the front desk was very informative, as a matter of fact everyone at the front desk was great especially Onur. Our room wasn't quite ready which was fine because we were hungry after our long travel so we decided to have lunch at the hotel. This was our first time meeting Malou. She was very professional, and seemed to wear many hats. We had her as a server at lunch, bartender in the evening, and she seemed to be manager at breakfast. What a great employee! The young lady who was cleaning our room was very sweet, knocking every morning to see if we wanted our room cleaned or if we needed anything, such as towels or shampoo. Every person we came into contact with was excellent. My sons loves the pool! I loved Virginia Beach as a whole. Free street performances, many shops and restaurants, and the rides and fishing pier. I do agree with another reviewer that there was some trash laying around that I never saw anyone cleaning up but they may have been out there cleaning while I was sleeping in.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growler1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the staff and hotel. Your comments will be passed on to the entire team since it is so important everyone understands what a difference one person can make in someone's stay. We are really excited that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Virginia Beach is wonderful - enjoyed our stay but had some very poor and very good experiences. Check in was not good - there appeared to be two check-in clerks at the desk, but only one was handling customers. We had to request service from a clerk that was just standing there. A manager (?) even came out and ignored people waiting and he did some paperwork. Then they couldn't find our reservation but after searching, did. The room - which was clean and comfortable - was nice and had a dorm size refrigerator and a microwave. The hotel was short on serving staff in the bar and restaurant but the staff that was there - esp. Pauly and Marlou, were excellent trying to cover the bar, the outside and inside seating. Their attitude was great as was their service. The food in the restaurant was yummy - esp. the appetizer specials offered from noon to 5 p.m.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luraydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the honest feedback. We are always looking for feedback good and bad in order to improve service and quality for every guest that stays with us. This information will be discussed at our standup and staff meetings with the entire team and hotel leadership so that we can learn from it. Thank you again we truly hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great room, clean with nice sheets. We stayed here in 2011 and were happy with our stay. You can't beat a Holiday Inn where kids eat free when you've got two growing boys! Easy access to beach, great ocean view room. The pool was dingey though, so we didn't use it, but who needs to when the beach is right there. Would definitely go back to this hotel again, better value than a lot of hotels on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyPrincessAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about the hotel. Since you have stayed with us the hotel has been remodeled and a new salt water pool has been added along with a fitness room that has the latest equipment all of which is facing the beach. Every guest room faces the beach and has been completely remodeled as well. So you might want to stop by and try us again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights in August,2013. Room was very clean and staff was great. My big complaint was the litter on the beach. Smokers think it's a ash tray. people left water bottles, drink box's, candy bar wrappers, etc., etc..I would not go back because of that. There are much nicer and cleaner beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRBSTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry about the issues on the beach. The City of Virginia Beach cleans the beach every morning starting around 6am from one end to the other in order to keep it clean including the boardwalk. Again thank you for the comments we will pass them on to the right people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing