We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service in dining room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding customer service in dining room!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at all three locations in Virginia Beach and the service at the Holiday Inn Oceanside is outstanding! Tim Payne, server in the dining room was so great that even the kids noticed! We appreciated the service and pleasant attitudes of staff at the front desk, maintenance, and housekeeping too. Tim contacted maintenance and coordinated to have the ceiling sprinklers in the pool turned on! He managed also managed the complicated kids' meal orders. Going off season certainly has its perks - we would able to get late check-out and extra towels with no problem. We'll be back March 1st - Tim, get everyone ready for Noah and Katherine's return :)

Room Tip: Oceanview is always worth it. They were dredging the beach when we went in January and the hotel pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the comments pertaining to Tim and the staff. As a side note the Sand Replacement Project has been completed and the beach looks great. The effects of superstorm Sandy on the Virginia Beach area was centered around the fact we lost some of the beach front but now we look better than ever. Our prayers continue to go out to all of our families and friends still going through the aftermath. Again, thank you for the kind words about the staff and hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    203
    91
    29
    19
See reviews for
228
157
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Tim Payne is like an ambassador for the hotel. He provided amazing customer service. We were there during inclement weather. He made us feel at home and was always thinking ahead anticipating what we would need before we even had to ask. Thank you for providing such wonderful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about Tim our Restaurant/Bar supervisor. He has made a great addidtion to the staff and we are all proud of the service he, as well as the entire team provides to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here just this past weekend for a 4 day weekend to surprise my sister who lives in VA beach for her bday. The hotel is just off interstate 264 and the location is in a nice part of the ocean front. The hotel was clean and the staff were super friendly. My room was nice and spacious with a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. The view was AWESOME! Every room has a balcony that faces the ocean which is a huge PLUS! I would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spootgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding comments. You are also right we are at the end of 264 and once you park your car you can forget about it until you leave since we are in the middle of the Virginia Beach strip. The guest rooms have just been completely remodeled and we added a HDTV 32" in everyroom and currently have HD channels available for your watching pleasure.
Thank you again for noticing the change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After staying at a different Holiday Inn in Virginia Beach for years, I decided to try the Holiday Inn Oceanside based on its recent renovations. Prior to even arriving at the hotel, I was immediately impressed by the staff's responsiveness. Onur, the front desk manager, was incredibly helpful in assisting me in finding a local day spa. Upon my arrival, one of the staff, Tim, shared his local knowledge of the area in recommending places to go for dining and entertainment, resulting in a delicious meal at Tautogs and delightful evening of music at Murphys. The oceanfront rooms are large, comfortable, meticulous and nicely renovated. Despite the presence of construction equipment on the beachfront due to beach remediateion from Sandy, the stay was enjoyable. The delivery of a bottle of champagne to my room was a welcome surprise. The accomodations are great but the staff are the ones who have made this my new place to go when traveling to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the nice feedback on two members of our team. The city (With Federal Funds) has finished restoring the beach after Sandy in front of our hotel and it looks better than I have ever seen. The view is just breath taking every morning watching the sun rise over the water and dophins playing. Now there is another event worth taking part of and that is the Whale watching tour that is available locally. Again thank you for the comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel! I was here for work and couldn't feel more relaxed and at ease. Crystal, front desk girl, was extremely friendly and welcoming. She helped me when I needed cigarette and she was entertaining. Maria, the bartender, was really friendly too. She opened the bar early for me and I stayed there until closing. I talked to crystal and Maria all night. They made my stay exciting and fun. They were awesome. A cool place to stay because of them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for noticing and mentioning two of our associates because of the great service they provided you during your last stay at the hotel. I will be sharing your comments with the entire team as part of our bi-weekly associate rallies while handing them a special gift thanking them for their service. I agree they were awesome and make me proud to be their team leader. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved staying here! After a long work week and the long drive to Virginia Beach, it was nice to get away and be able to relax. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk receptionist, Crystal. She was great and informative of the area and told us a few good places to eat. We were staying for a few days and tried most of her recommendations. Excellent suggestions. We were tired the first night so decided to eat downstairs in the restaurant. The young bartender, I think her name is Maria, was sweet, friendly, and attentive. She gave us a few good ideas on what to do around Virginia Beach and Norfolk. It was slow in the restaurant/bar so we talked for a while. I feel like she's family now. We came down for breakfast each morning too and Tim and our server were very friendly too. Tim was funny and he too gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. The food in the restaurant needs work its a little bland and not enough variety but with service like that you hardly notice. Our housekeeper was so cute and funny. Overall, a great experience at this hotel and we will definitely be back. Crystal, Maria, and Tim definitely went above and beyond to make sure we had a good vacation and for that I will definitely recommend this place to my friends and family! I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback about a few of our staff members. Sounds like Crystal, Maria, and Tim definitely went above and beyond to make sure you had a good vacation and for that I will definitely mention their names at our next associate staff rally so that we can all thank them. We look forward to your return to the beachfront and hope to see you soon. Again, thank you for the kind words and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while she had surgery. The hotel room was spacious and a wonderful lodging to aid in her recovery. The hotel staff was outstanding. My wife did not have much of an appetite after surgery and the front desk went out of its way to find some fresh fruit for her (at not charge). When we left for the hospital, the lady at the front desk wished us well and said she would pray for my wife.

Our stay was a wonderful, wonderful experience. We would STRONGLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for kind and courteous attention and spacious rooms. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room included a small kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave. We definitely will stay here again. The hotel is also convenient to everything and is family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidC57875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Please give your wife our best wishes and speedy recovery from from her friends at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. Anytime that you need a getaway just give us a call. Thanks for the comments about the staff and hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Property: Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing