We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was a bit surprised by all the praise for a Holiday Inn, but it definitely lived up to the hype. Great location, beautiful oceanfront rooms, lots of activities in the area. We would gladly stay here again. It's an easy walk to the pier and activities, but far enough away that it's not a party outside of the hotel. The only surprise we had was the military air traffic during the week--those jets are insanely loud. But we didn't hear anything on the weekend. If you have kids, the aquarium and Motorworld are great. For dining, Tautog's was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for the great comments and I am very glad we lived up to the other feedback that was posted on this site. We have worked hard on the service and quality provided by the hotel and staff. The hotel renovation has helped improve quality along with the latest updates to the HDTV channels available in each guest room and have upgraded our WiFi speed throughout the hotel in order to be one of the fastest on the beachfront. Service training has been ongoing and all of the feedback received from our guests is used to assist every team member learn more about our guest needs. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband I vacationed at this hotel July 9-14. I chose this hotel because the rooms face the beach and is walking distance to shopping, dining and entertainment on Atlantic Avenue. All hotel staff were courteous and friendly. The hotel as well as our room was always well maintained. The bed was comfortable with pillows to suit our comfort level. We had breakfast several times in the restaurant; the food was good and sufficient to keep us going for much of the day. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and most of all the staff. We hope during your next visit to Virginia Beach you make us your home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights beginning July 9th for our family vacation. This is the third time I've stayed at this particular Holiday Inn. Our room had 2 double beds, a small refrigerator and a microwave. There is a coffee maker but we didn't use it since there is complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning that is very good. The room is very clean, which to me is the most important thing about a hotel room. Each day the beds were made and the floors vacuumed. Our bathroom was always cleaned well and plenty of towels and toiletries were made available. The housekeepers were always pleasant and helpful. The indoor pool area is also well maintained. It has been recently remodeled and very pretty. There are always plenty of clean pool towels available. We did not eat at the restaurant this visit but on our previous visit in May of this year we did and the food was good. The breakfast is a bit on the expensive side but everything was fresh and tasted good. The bar is good and staff friendly. What makes us choose this hotel is the location. All of the fun things to do on the strip are located down this way. The good shops, the carnivals, the amusement park, the best food is all located near the lower numbered Avenues. We once stayed at the Holiday Inn on 39th and while it was nice and had a nice outdoor pool, you have to walk far to long to get to the fun stuff!! I will stay here again and again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front and make for perfect dolphin spotting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for staying with us and I agree we have the best location along with the fact every room has a oceanside view. I really enjoyed reading the comments you made about staff here at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. We have just completed a major renovation of the hotel and every guest room over last spring so this is the first summer the hotel has had a new face. Thanks again for the great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed 7/2 thru 7/8/2012, two adults and one teenager (19 yrs old). Booked the hotel because of its location between 20th and 21st street. Located in the center of the hotel belt with many restuarants and shops across the street and many others within walking distance. The hotel staff were very pleasant and accomodating. Rooms are modern & very clean with microwave and refrigerator. Beds comfortables and room colors neutral & relaxing. Barge for July 4th fireworks was situated between 20th & 21 street and fireworks were spectacular from our 11th floor balcony. Many activities took place on the boardwalk including an full orchestra playing patriotic songs during the fireworks. Delicious pina coladas at the bar. Breakfast buffet provided many hot and cold choices, slightly pricey, but good. Outdoor cafe oceanside provided moderatey priced meals which were never disappointing. Beach exceptionally clean with life guards who are very attentive. You can watch dolphins swimming around from hotel balcony, the boardwalk and the beach throughout the day. It was a wonderful vacation and we would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback about the hotel and staff. We are always looking to improve services and quality. Just last week we have added 33 HD channels to our guest room line up of TV stations available in every guest room. Also, our WiFi is one of the fastest on the Oceanfront since that was upgraded at the beginning of the month as well. Of course, those services are available after you have already enjoyed watching the dophins and had a dip in the Ocean. Thank you again and we hope to serve you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We drove to Virginia Beach without any reservations. We pulled into the Holiday Inn and three front desk employees worked to get us a room for our entire stay as the hotel was pretty well booked. We were given the triple AAA discount which was a bonus, even though it was still a little pricy. The customer service was top notch.

When we opened our room on the tenth floor, we were greeted with the cleanest room and a fabulous fresh smell. The maid services were great.

The beds come with 4 pillows each giving you a choice of firmness. The beds were super comfy and we all got a good nights rest each and every night.

The location is excellent being in the middle of everything in Virginia Beach. The board walk and bike path directly in front of the hotel is very nice and clean and great for quiet strolls/work outs through the day or at nights. Directly behind the hotel is a long strip of restaurants, shops, bars etc. Very good night life in Virginia Beach. There were 4 police officers stationed at each crosswalk keeping everything orderly. They helped with crossing the street, giving directions etc. There is free entertainment provided by Virginia Beach on each block including magicians, singers, bands, variety shows and the list goes on and on. The fireworks display could be viewed right from our balcony...wow!!!

The pool is salt water and is a little on the small size.

The exercise room was great for working out. The machines were modern and well kept.

We used the restaurant one day for lunch. All four of us gave our food an A+ rating. It is a little bit expensive, but you get what you pay for.

The beach in front of the hotel was fabulous, very spacious and clean. The water was warm and wasn't really rough because of a sand bar that basically protects the beach. We were very pleased with the beach and water. We spent a lot of time there because it was 110 degrees. We were delighted when we saw the dolphins swim through the area from our balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt_1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for the great comments and we enjoyed serving you. I also, enjoy watching the dophins every morning and afternoon but most of all it is a pleasure to work with a great staff. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations! I am a frequent traveler and stay in hotels some 280 days a year. I was greeted by Danielle at the front desk...What a great personality!...She greeted me and checked me in, and it took under 3 minutes. I had all my needed stuff, the hotel was explained and I was ready to head up to my room. What a great lady!.. Then when I brought my luggage cart down, she even asked how the room was. I stay lots of places, but I have never been so taken care of.

Later the same day I wanted to have some dinner and asked Danielle where would a great place to go. She gave me some options, and even recommended that I try the hotel's service. I went into the bar, and was told they would be closing. Danielle got the kitchen to make something quick so that I could eat in and head to bed. Again, awesome service. My waiter was Dustin, he was nothing short of amazing too. He hustled to get our order in, and made sure we were well taken care of even though it was the end of his shift. He should have been heading home for the night, but he stayed to make sure we were well taken care of. Hats off to the staff of the Holiday Inn Oceanside.....you guys are amazing!!

Room Tip: Room 700......Awesome...and has a little larger balcony than the rest.. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for the comments about two of our staff members and in general the entire staff. I am very proud of each member of our team and they are proud to work for the Oceanside Holiday Inn. We just completed a major renovation and added things like a state of the art fitness center overlooking the ocean and a business center with three PC.s and printers. The new salt water pool with water features has been a big hit as well so we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a great hotel. We stayed 2 nights in a regular room with 2 double beds. The rooms are modern, clean, with comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, steps from the beach and strip. There are a couple decent restaurants withing walking distance. All rooms are ocean front with a great view. Parking is limited but the overflow lot is just across the street. Coffee and newspaper is complimentary. The AC is loud but didn't keep us awake. The balcony is small and needs a table. The breakfast buffet was good, with eggs, meat, cereal, toast, fruit, etc. There is a small indoor salt water pool. An outdoor pool would be nice, but few of the VB hotels seem to have outdoor pools.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

I am pleased to hear the hotel was perfect for your last stay at the beach. We have just completed a remodel of the hotel and have worked on addressing all of our guest needs. HDTV channels were just added last week to the TV line up and I was even amazed how clear the picture was.
Thank you again for the kind words and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,225 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $106 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. We have an on-site restaurant - Hemingway’s & Bar Pilar for your enjoyment, and we have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. Kids 12 and under eat free. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing