We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again I must say, "we'll be back!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 14, 2011

From Quebec City the drive takes 15 to 16 hours, and it is just so nice to know that you are going to be in a very nice hotel where you can park your car( parking included) and sit back! A spot in the center of the "Beach Street USA" action, street performers, boutiques restaurants...yet once through the doors one feels as though they are at home. The staff members are smiling and friendly and very professionnal, ready to react to your requests. Children (under 12) eat free at the onsite restaurant which serves a good plate. Here are my thanks to Ms Collins and to Jimmy whose smile and attitude has drawn me back again and again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedenQuebecCity_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear dedenQuebecCity_,

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feed back about your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. It's great to hear that we keep exceeding your expectations of our property and keep you coming back year after year. I will share your comments with our staff and look forward to seeing you next year when you vacation in Virginia Beach, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 640 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

The bartender,Bishop is the best.We will be back because of him!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umbrelladrinks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear umbrelladrinks88,

Thank you for writing about review about your great experience at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I will make sure to share your comments Mike Bishop about your experience at our newly renovated Key West Restaurant & Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here from a Friday to Sunday with a large group of friends. We had 2 rooms with double beds and 1 king suite. I was a bit nervous about the hotel after reading some older reviews but the hotel was recently renovated and is fabulous now! The rooms were are all clean and spacious, especially the king suite. The have an empty minifridge which is very handy. All the rooms are oceanfront... we were on an upper level and the veiw was great. The hotel is located right in the middle of the boardwalk which makes it very easy to get around.
We did eat breakfast at the hotel restaurant one time and it was good. Only about $12 and included drinks, hot and cold foods, and a waffle and omlet station. Definitely recommended!
The only downside is that the pool is not very big but with an ocean out front and none of us having small children this did not affect our stay at all. Also there are no safes in the rooms but the front desk told me they have safes at the front desk (did not bother to check these out).
The front desk was very accomodating and patient with out multiple questions. Being a priority club member (which is free) we had late check out. We also called ahead and got early check in and rooms all very close to each other.
Overall, this was a great stay and I would definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misty_mountain_hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend during the sand soccer tournament '11 and had a great experience. The "kids eat free" deal at the restaurant in the hotel was great. Awesome service by restaurant manager Mike, Bar tender Bishop and the front desk help. Indoor pool hit the spot, location was perfect, and the restaurant food for the price was outstanding!! $8 for a Grouper sandwich or $9 for Fish Tacos was an easy way to unwind after the day on the beach. The room was good quality - clean, mini fridge, FREE WIFI, good shower with strong water pressure. Nice job Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64paulie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear 64paulie64,

Thank you for taking the time and writing you review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm glad to hear that the encounters with our staff were more the exceptional throughout your stay. I will make sure to share your thoughts with our whole staff. We look forward to seeing you during your next vacation to Virginia Beach, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed with my husband on business trip. 7th floor room, bed was comfortable and pillows were better than average, room was clean and comfortable.

Pool was tiny and not up to much, doesn't look as nice as shown in some of the photos. We had friends in the Holiday Inn at North Beach which has just been refurbished, that hotel was much more family friendly with a nice outdoor pool area.

So, ok for business but I'd choose another one if I were to return with my children.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehorticulturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Thehorticulturalist,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I’m glad to hear our hotel could accommodate all your needs during your business trip. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

first when I arrived I found that my reservation was cancelled . Later I found out it was by the hotel which I was to get in at a low rate. After driving almost 9 hours I had no choice but to book. Paid top dollar and the quality of the Hotel was not what you would expect of a IHG hotel. Found faults in my rooms as far as cleanliness and in the breakfast area there was no effort to keep it clean and appealing to the eye.
After talking with management the next morning they made no effort to resolve my problem or walk out of their feeling somewhat happy.
Did not use the pool area so I cannot comment on that.
I was refunded for their mistake but will never take the chance to stay their again. Be prepared and make sure you have your confirmation # just in case.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Lakenan,

Thank for your time in providing feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory at our property. I would like to take the time and discuss this matter personally with you. Please contact me at the hotel directly at 757-491-1500.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was the only hotel that had ok reviews on Tripadvisor that I could get using my frequent flier miles. I stayed in this hotel many many years ago and remember how run down it was. I wasn't expecting much but was just hoping to not see any roaches in my room. The check in process was initially bad. The young girl seemed completely lost and then told me at 3:15pm that no rooms were ready. She very slowly made her way to asking another employee who ended up having a room available. The room was actually very nice. Everything was very clean and in working order. The beds were extremely comfortable and clean. The bar area and outdoor seating was very nice and convenient as well. I only had breakfast at the restaurant which was ok. It wasn't very convenient that you have to park across the street. There is very limited parking in the hotel. The parking lot across the street is very small so it takes a while to pull in and out because you have to make quite an effort not to hit other vehicles. it is a very busy corner. There were evangelists on the corner with a bull horn screaming about the world coming to an end and holding up signs. According to the hotel, this is a nightly occurence.
All in all, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. I would stay here again if it was off season. It was a little crowded for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Candice22,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm glad to hear that we were able to change your view of our property. We look forward to seeing you in the offseason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
407 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,549 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $101 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing