We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oceanfront Hotel - all the access and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend during the sand soccer tournament '11 and had a great experience. The "kids eat free" deal at the restaurant in the hotel was great. Awesome service by restaurant manager Mike, Bar tender Bishop and the front desk help. Indoor pool hit the spot, location was perfect, and the restaurant food for the price was outstanding!! $8 for a Grouper sandwich or $9 for Fish Tacos was an easy way to unwind after the day on the beach. The room was good quality - clean, mini fridge, FREE WIFI, good shower with strong water pressure. Nice job Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64paulie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear 64paulie64,

Thank you for taking the time and writing you review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm glad to hear that the encounters with our staff were more the exceptional throughout your stay. I will make sure to share your thoughts with our whole staff. We look forward to seeing you during your next vacation to Virginia Beach, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 638 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed with my husband on business trip. 7th floor room, bed was comfortable and pillows were better than average, room was clean and comfortable.

Pool was tiny and not up to much, doesn't look as nice as shown in some of the photos. We had friends in the Holiday Inn at North Beach which has just been refurbished, that hotel was much more family friendly with a nice outdoor pool area.

So, ok for business but I'd choose another one if I were to return with my children.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehorticulturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Thehorticulturalist,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I’m glad to hear our hotel could accommodate all your needs during your business trip. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

first when I arrived I found that my reservation was cancelled . Later I found out it was by the hotel which I was to get in at a low rate. After driving almost 9 hours I had no choice but to book. Paid top dollar and the quality of the Hotel was not what you would expect of a IHG hotel. Found faults in my rooms as far as cleanliness and in the breakfast area there was no effort to keep it clean and appealing to the eye.
After talking with management the next morning they made no effort to resolve my problem or walk out of their feeling somewhat happy.
Did not use the pool area so I cannot comment on that.
I was refunded for their mistake but will never take the chance to stay their again. Be prepared and make sure you have your confirmation # just in case.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Lakenan,

Thank for your time in providing feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory at our property. I would like to take the time and discuss this matter personally with you. Please contact me at the hotel directly at 757-491-1500.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was the only hotel that had ok reviews on Tripadvisor that I could get using my frequent flier miles. I stayed in this hotel many many years ago and remember how run down it was. I wasn't expecting much but was just hoping to not see any roaches in my room. The check in process was initially bad. The young girl seemed completely lost and then told me at 3:15pm that no rooms were ready. She very slowly made her way to asking another employee who ended up having a room available. The room was actually very nice. Everything was very clean and in working order. The beds were extremely comfortable and clean. The bar area and outdoor seating was very nice and convenient as well. I only had breakfast at the restaurant which was ok. It wasn't very convenient that you have to park across the street. There is very limited parking in the hotel. The parking lot across the street is very small so it takes a while to pull in and out because you have to make quite an effort not to hit other vehicles. it is a very busy corner. There were evangelists on the corner with a bull horn screaming about the world coming to an end and holding up signs. According to the hotel, this is a nightly occurence.
All in all, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. I would stay here again if it was off season. It was a little crowded for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Dear Candice22,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I'm glad to hear that we were able to change your view of our property. We look forward to seeing you in the offseason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I decided to go all out for my father's 50TH birthday and I wanted everything to be perfect. So I was very disappointed in this hotel. First, I have a 4 month old daughter. the rooms didnt have microwaves, or even have microwaves to rent, so I was unable to sterilize her bottles. The lobby didn't even have one to use! They didn't serve a continential breakfast, but I discovered that is common in Va Beach. It was the first time that my daughter would be in a pool, so I made sure to pay for a hotel with a heated indoor pool. I don't know what their definition of heated is, but that pool was not it, it was freezing! They called maintenance down and the lady very rudely told us the temperature was 85, which was definitely impossible. So they called a hotel that they are affilliated with which was three or four hotels down from there so that we could go swimming. That pool wasn't much better, but at least it was enough to let her get in and swim. That alone upset me very much because that was a big reason I paid the price I did for the room. Also, it was a good think the weather was nice, because the air or heater didn't work in the room. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very nice, but for $153 a night, I was definitely expecting a little more bang for my buck.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Dear Autumn14,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I am sorry to hear you encountered some problems during your stay. I'm sorry we couldn't fulfill your request for a microwave. We do offer a microwave behind our front desk and any of our agents would be more than happy to heat any items up. I will also share your comments with our engineering staff about the temperature of the indoor swimming pool. If you ever return to the Virginia Beach area, we would love for you to give us the opportunity to change your opinion of the Holiday Inn Oceanside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Greatest dissappointment yet! I chose this hotel b/c it took miltiary per diem and it was off season. I would have rather stayed in a Navy lodge or a motel 6! The room was dirty, and on three days I came "home" before the housekeeper got to my room- and that was at 4:40 pm. They dont even provide a microwave unless you want to rent one for $10/day! Never in all my years seen that before. The tv had horrible reception and picture- it is a last of it's kind box model. The wifi takes several attempts to work, and the high speed internet never worked.However, by far was the parking situation. There was never any parking on-site, you you have to drive to another lot and walk. One night the "valet" boxed my car in- so the following morning I could not drive to work until the receptionist walked with me to the lot, took time to find the keys and moved the cars blocking me in. Ridiculous! Plus, it happened to be spring break when I stayed- and the staff was completely unprepared or skilled to handle the influx of guests. The only 2 elevators take between 5-15 mins to arrive and are usually filled. The list goes on....I would avoid this place. There are so many better choices in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markusp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkinane, Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear Markusp34,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. I am very sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience at our hotel. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and I’m sorry to hear that we fell short this time. We have taken all of your comments into consideration and shared your comments with all departments to ensure these issues do not happen again. If you return to the Virginia Beach area, we would love for you to give us the opportunity to change your opinion of the Holiday Inn Oceanside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

...as expected from the ICHotels chain. It pays to be a Priority Club member. Great location, competitive pricing and an attentive staff.

If/when you go downstairs for Breakfast,... ask for Crystal as your waitress. She's quick, witty, smart and funny. She's one of the few waitresses that is actually making an effort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XOEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $104 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing