We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, terrible staff”
Review of Neptune Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Park Inn
Ranked #101 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place, terrible staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The front desk staff were kind enough when we first got there. But the hotel was disappointing, no microwave or fridge but at least it was decently located. Then ontop of that the staff was horrible and VERY rude.
Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OctbrJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    33
    50
    136
See reviews for
133
50
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we booked, the front desk woman was courteous and so very helpful. We didn't have a lot of time nor did we know the area,...our budget was meager and our choices minimal (we were going for our granddaughter's dance competition and the area was pretty well booked)....but after two days of searching and comparing, we booked here.
Upon arriving, we were not impressed. The room never was swept the 4 nights we stayed here and the sheets weren't changed because they claimed there were personal items on the beds (a stuffed animal and a child's blanket). My husband got them to change the sheets as well as bring up more towels on the second day. The door to our room, even when locked, could be easily pushed open. It never closed right and you could hear the baby next door crying. The outside wall was always wet to the touch, we think because of the air conditioner.
The balcony and rooftop pool gave you great views of the area. In the evening you could hear the outdoor concerts from the roof. This hotel was conveniently located near many activities and within walking distance from many attractions, the ocean and shops. Next door was an excellent pizza shop! When we booked, Booking.com charged extra for the breakfast. Don't pay it! Breakfast is included free....shame on Booking.com....
This was not the place for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Upon arrival,a couple of hours after the regular check in time, our room wasn't done. We went up to our room, and housekeeping hadn't been there at all! Toilet was FILTHY! Bathtub had dirt,sinks were dirty, balcony was disgusting and smelled like urine. Bed sheets and towels had stains in them. Table tops had stains on them.We called , and they said that housekeeping had left for the day. They sent someone and to some extent cleaned or rather tried to clean it. This wasted about 2 hours of our time. We thought we'd try the pool, but the lights didn't not work on the roof. We called, but no one bothered to come at all.
The next day we left the room at 9 am and returned at 1 pm. House keeping hadn't been to our room at all. Tracked down house keeping and got told that they only clean the toilets and change the sheets only when a guest checks out. All house keeping did was change towels and the bed sheets because I kept insisting. But the blanket couldn't be changed because they didn't have any more left! she said that they don't clean the toilets until you check out. What kind of a hotel is this????
Then finally the third and our last day there, I kept calling and insisted that the housekeeping come and clean as they never cleaned the room for us. They finally did somewhat of a better job (in comparison).but we had to leave the next day, so we spent the 2 days in filth. I was
Breakfast was mini donuts,bread and bagels, which they were running out of at 9 am.
The hotel is completely run down , and has a general stink everywhere.
I don't care about the breakfast or the general condition of the hotel. I only care about the cleanliness of the room, and this one failed miserably. Housekeeping was non existent.
For the amount they charge per night, the least you can expect is a clean room,I don't think that's unreasonable to want a clean room.
Stay away, this is not not worth the money or ruining your vacation over. The price per night was not at all cheap! Spend 30-40 $ more and get yourself a better hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, worst hotel ever. Non existent housekeeping. Go only if you are prepared to cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I just return from my stay at the Inn and it was horrible service. The front people were rude, they only changed the sheets after we threw them in the hallway, and they do not vacuum. Trash was left in the hallways and the stairwell smelled like mold. At the end of my stay and was explaining my displeasure they promised to give my last night free. Well...they didn't honor that either. If it wasn't for the awesome weather we had, it would have been an awful vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have you ever watched Hotel Impossible on the Travel Channel? Anthony, the show's hotel expert would lose his mind. The hotel is mismanaged and is a dump. You drive into the parking lot and the first thing you see is a pile of broken lounge chairs in the corner of the lot. You enter the hotel and you get this overwhelming whiff of stale water and mold. The room had a great view but was dirty. The air conditioner leaked lots of water all over the patio making it practically unusable. There is garbage all around the property. The roof top pool was so slimy that my 8-year-old son who would go into any water refused to go in. There are a lot of staff around but not sure what they all did. The cleaning staff don't clean. Not once did they vacuum the room or clean the bathroom. One morning we ask the cleaning lady if she would quickly vacuum the room and she replied "It's not in her job description". Another day we asked the cleaning lady if she would wipe down the bathroom because some sand from the beach made it's way in our room, she replied they only clean the bathroom after checkout. The continental breakfast was fine although get there early. We got there with about 45 min left and the staff stated that they don't replenish the breakfast after 9:00am. Unless they do a complete renovation, don't waste your time at the Neptune Park Inn. It stinks - Literally!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a hotel that when you pull up, you go, on no this cannot be right. It was bad, really, really bad. This is not a hotel for nice people or nice families looking to enjoy Virginia Beach. If you enjoy loud partying, roaches, smoking pot and rude behavior then this is the place for you. We checked in reluctantly. The front hallway and small elevator, (one for the whole 5 floor building), smelled foul, very gross. The stairwells are chipped, dirty and and have pools of standing water. They smell is just as bad as the elevator and front reception area. Our room was ok, but the phone had no buttons, the desk no chair and the AC was very loud. To turn on the bedside light, you had to whack it a few times and then it would go on. On the outside the AC leaked all over the patio so you could not go out there w/o standing in a pool of dirty water.The entire stay our room was barely cleaned. They do not vacuum or sweep sand, the housekeeper told me she does not do sand. They do not make the beds. There was a bathroom plunger in a bag outside my room for three days, and bag of garbage sat down the hall for about as long. The whole place is smelly and dirty. Don't leave anything in your room, even the front desk suggested you lock things in your car instead of the room safe. The pool is a joke. The elevator does not go that high so you have to walk up. The pool is tiny with a narrow walkway around it. No room to sit and watch your kids. There is a sundeck down a level. The pool was slimy and the ladder missing the bottom step so you could not get in and out easily. We only went once the whole week. I suggest sneaking in the pool next door if you like to swim. The breakfast is free, but they stop restocking at 9:30 (breakfast ends at 10am) because the attendant says we are to make sure we run out by 10am. But actually they run out sooner! There is alot of staff always around, but no one is ever working. The front desk was rude, when I was checking in there was a front desk person screaming at someone checking in saying something about I don't care what Booking.com quoted you, this is what we are charging you. Very unprofessional! So run, do not stay here!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...but if you must stay here ask for a top floor, they are the only rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmomK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We arrive at this most disgusting of motels. Unfortunately had already prepaid so I was stuck here. After the front desk..Crystal was yelling at patrons we made our way up in a creepy elevator to our disgusting room. I sat on the bed and cried. I travel a lot and this is by far the worst place I have ever vacationed in. The staff never cleans the room..empty garbage or leave clean towels. Crystal and the front desk staff are so awful and rude they should be fired. Do not stay here...run and don't give it a second thought.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyjoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#87 of 109 in Virginia Beach
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
Clarion Inn & Suites Virginia Be...
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Park Inn

Property: Neptune Park Inn
Address: 3108 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2933 (Formerly Ramada Limited Atlantic Avenue)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Neptune Park Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of Virginia Beach, the Neptune Park Inn is across Atlantic Avenue from the Boardwalk and beach. Across the street is Neptune's Park where weekly live performances and events take place from spring to fall. Shops, restaurants, and a variety of activities are all at your doorstep. Relax and enjoy our Roof Top Pool, plus the kids have their very own pool! From our Roof Top Sun Deck you can take in the thrilling view of the beach and all the live action at King Neptune's Park. Among the activities, you'll find swimming, surfing, fishing, golf, tennis, and boating---more than enough for everyone in the family. The Inn has 94 rooms, some upgraded to include microwaves and refrigerators. Free parking, Free Wireless Internet, and every room has an in-room safe, Coffee maker, Hairdryer, Iron, and Television with Cable/HBO/ESPN. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. You'll love the view from our Roof Top Pool and Sun Deck. But best of all, you'll love our location and great rates! BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Neptune Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptune Park Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Hotel Virginia Beach
Ramada Limited Atlantic Avenue
Ramada Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing