We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had my 2 grandchildren with me at the Sheraton.....right on the beach, indoor and outdoor pool...what more can you want. They loved it! We ate in the restaurant 3 times...dinner especially was excellent. Room was very clean and everyone on staff was extremely helpful. My only complaint which I know they can't change was the size of the elevators and number....it took quite a while to get where you were going, but that is a small thing!!! Young men who did the valet were absolutely great...very friendly and accommodating!!!

Room Tip: If you are not going to be in the room much, select a cheaper one.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not changing towels daily makes very good sense,,people don't use new towels daily at home
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am happy to hear you and your grandchildren had such a fun time while staying at the hotel. We really hope we get to see you guys in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    311
    155
    80
    63
See reviews for
367
250
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Room was perfect, the Staff are some of the friendliest in the business. Food and beverage above and beyond. Location on the boardwalk is with in walking distance to most shopping and dining. We will be back! Pet friendly

Room Tip: Ocean front for a never ending view
See more room tips
Green Features: Organic local foods and beverages,recycles waste. Measures energy use, local plants used in garden area
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property and our staff. I'm so happy you had an enjoyable stay. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is our 8th year here. Lee and Tucker at the front desk are totally awesome always willing to help. But since the renovation 2 years ago (they added 12-16 rooms) and removed 2 gorgeous pools, occupancy is way down. I wish the free coffee was still offered downstairs like when they were a 3 star hotel. Still nice place right on the beach, very small pool.

Room Tip: The brand new rooms 227-527 are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SellingPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I apologize the new pools aren't what you were use to, but I am happy to hear you still enjoy yourself at our property. It's also great to know our staff were able to make your stay so memorable and nice. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had an amazing vacation. We have a 3 year old grandson and the fun room was perfect for him. They had movie night and popcorn. It gave us a chance to have dinner alone. The whole experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to hear your grandson enjoyed the kid's club and all the activities that go on during the week there. I hope this means we will get to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in the this hotel with a few friends. It was pricey, but the hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious. The hotel was a little far from the nightlife. If you are looking for beach access and nice rooms, this is the perfect place. If you want to go out on the town, I'd stay on a lower street, closer to the nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hello again to everyone, just came home last week from a nice vacation at the Sheraton Oceanfront hotel is right on the boardwalk at 35 th. St . Let me start with all the good things .We always try to get a ocean front room with a nice outdoor pool that we can spend most of the day and have a short walk to the ocean and the beach ,the best of both worlds ,l.o.l. the beach is a short 100 ft. and the ocean is about 200 feet away .We have been blessed to be able to be world travelers and when it comes to beaches on the east coast this is in our top 3 picks . I was impressed at well the beach was groomed each morning by the city beach workers . They did a great job and there was never any trash laying around . Our room was very nice and the view was great . The staff was very friendly along with the maid service .They also have a nice restaurant and lounge here too. The food is good but a little pricey . You can walk up or down the boardwalk and find any type of food or shopping you may be looking for with in a few short few blocks .The ocean was very warm and they waves were just nice for boarding .I thought it was very nice considering that we had a terrible tornado go thru the first night and it was 1 block behind us and it could have been really bad the whole week . That area at 17 th. st. was hit real hard and was a sight I will never forget .Now I am going to tell you about a few bad things that was a big surprise to us. I was not aware that this hotel was pet friendly !! I love dogs and I had horses but I am very allergic to them and that is why I had to sell my horses and I could not be around dogs anymore because it gives me asthma attack . When we arrived there I was approached by several dogs in a few minutes and when I asked about all the dogs the front desk inform that Sheraton world wide is pet friendly. The elevator we had to use to go up to the room we were waiting is near a tree planter and while waiting for the elevator we saw 2 dogs mark their territory ,not good !! The whole elevator system smelled like wet dog and we heard several people complain about the dogs and the smell . At night too many dog owners would go out to eat and those places are not pet friendly and the would leave their dogs in the room and the would bark till their owners came back and sometimes that was late into the next am. We had dogs in both rooms beside us and they barked all the time. I must say Forgive me to all you dog lovers and animal lovers out there . This is my opinion , politically correct and legal way to voice my concerns and I heard many others talking about it too . WE all work hard for our money and a well deserved vacation and yes everyone has their opinion and their rights , but in my opinion , a beach front hotel on a boardwalk is no place to bring your dog or pets . Case in point we saw several people with dogs and every time a little dog come across a big dog it would bark at it and try to start a fight . Not to mention when one dog marks an area every other dogs marks that area too. This hotel has a very nice garden area out along the boardwalk and bike road and several times we saw dogs doing their business and pawing up the dirt. Yes ,there are some very responsible owners but there were more people just walk way and let it for you to tramp in.
That was not very good especially while you see this go on while eating. I also saw several dogs jumping out at bicycler's as they went by and witness 2 older people wreck their bikes because of it. Again , I love dogs ,but this is not the place to bring them in my opinion .There are several
places that will watch your dog or pets for a very reasonable fee . I have done in the past and so has many people I know . I would have to say that had I known this up front ,we would have stayed elsewhere .

Room Tip: IF you are allergic to dogs and do not like to hear them bark or run around , this is not the place...
See more room tips
Green Features: I mentioned this to the front desk and they listened about our concerns but you could tell they were tired of hearing about it . One person even gave me a sharp answer that I should have stayed elsewhere .That ticked me off.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEACHWEAVER59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear your enjoyed the hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great hotel very friendly staff rooms were great and right on the beach. The only negative was the indoor pool area could have been a little cleaner. But overall this was a great stay and can't wait to come back soon.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean veiw
See more room tips
Green Features: Have several places throught out the hotel with recycling bins
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your comment about the indoor pool has been passed on to the housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing