We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
united kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a toad trip. The hotel is right on the boardwalk adjacent to Virginia Beach We had an Oceon view room with a perfect view of the Atlantic. Room nicely decorated and spotless Had some concern as our room 318 was above an outside bar , but this closed before 9. Happy hour 4-7. Chra Had breakfast over the road at Pocahontis - a bit like an expensive Denny's. Would stay here again if I was passing this way

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buncey47_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Buncey47_8, Thank you for the review. This time of year is quite magically at the beach. The weather is still great and most of the summer’s hustle and bustle has gone back to school. The Cabana bar has fantastic happy hour options as does the Fusion bar inside. We hope your travels will bring you back to Virginia Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    318
    159
    83
    66
See reviews for
379
252
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton is one of the best hotels on the VA beach oceanfront, and if you book in advance, a good value. We opted for the non-beach view room with the jacuzzi--we might have been disappointed with the view of a roof, but having a giant in room jacuzzi more than made up for it. Other reviewers have commented about the number of children--it is true that there are lots of families with kids, but in my seeing kids all excited for the beach or splashing in the pool doesnt bother me in the least! The people who work at the Sheraton are all super friendly and nice--taking care of whatever you need or just chatting and telling you more about the area. If you want to be near the main boardwalk action with the music, etc, the Sheraton might not be the best place for you, but if you are looking for a calm hotel, chilled lounge area and relatively uncrowded beach, it's the perfect spot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dlback, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our Jacuzzi room and our friendly family atmosphere. The north end of the beach is a great location for young families. Fewer crowds to worry about families can let the kids run out on the beach and still be within eye sight. We look forward to your next trip back to Virginia Beach. Holiday lights start Thanksgiving weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Did you know that almost all Sheraton Hotels are pet friendly? And I don't just mean pet-accepting, but truly friendly. Usually there is no non-refundable pet cleaning fee and everyone is delighted to see my dogs and treats them like they treat their other guests. Of course, my little dogs are especially adorable and get a lot of attention wherever they go, but it's so nice to take them somewhere where the staff actually likes having them. Sheratons often provide dog beds, water bowls and treats for their canine guests. I particularly chose to review the Virginia Beach Sheraton because in addition to my previous statements, this hotel is right on the boardwalk where the pups enjoyed daily walks along the water. The rooms are clean and newly decorated and we had a balcony facing the Ocean where all of us thoroughly enjoyed hanging out in the later evening. Additionally, the beds were extremely comfy and the linens were superb!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Ocean with a balcony!
See more room tips
Green Features: I'm not really sure, I didn't really pay attention. They made our beds without changing the linens and didn't take towels away unless we left them on the floor to indicate they were used.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twdchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Twdchicago, Our staff are truly dog lovers! We try and keep as many treats on hand to spoil our four legged guests every chance we get. I hope to see the entire family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because we were travelling with our three yorkies. On arrival we were greeted by an awesome friendly staff. The front desk clerk whose name is Patrick greeted us and our dogs and made us feel I had picked the right place to stay. Our dogs have continued to be treated like a guest. Patrick has continued to go out of his way to help make our stay awesome. Rooms are nice and extremely clean as is the whole resort. The beach and boardwalk are beautiful and well kept. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dlurty, Patrick has been a fantastic addition to our Sheraton team. I’m happy to hear that you were able to experience the wonder that is Patrick. I can only speculate that Patrick gave just as much attention to your yorkies has he did you. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family just returned from a 6 day trip to Virginia Beach and we stayed at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel in Virginia Beach, in a corner room (811). I worked in the hotel industry for 12 years, so I'm very particular when it comes to lodging. I did my homework before choosing this property and decided upon the Sheraton because of its great location--oceanfront, on the boardwalk and in the quieter north beach area, the great reviews, the queen beds (much more comfortable than double beds), indoor/outdoor pools, and the fact that the hotel manager was reviewing and responding to online comments (that means they appreciate feedback and will usually make necessary improvements). We found the hotel to be extremely clean, the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, the staff was very professional and friendly and the restaurant had beautiful ocean views and was convenient for a quick breakfast buffet. I also felt the rates were fair, since we stayed over the Labor Day weekend, and we took advantage of the AAA discount and the free breakfast for two each morning. I would ask that the staff be informed of how many people are staying in each room and to be sure to leave the appropriate number of bath towels. We had four people, but only had two towels when we checked in. Thankfully when I called for service, they immediately delivered additional towels. Then when they made up the room, they only left us with two towels again. It was a little frustrating. The other thing is the towel rack in our shower was completely rusted and we didn't not want to use it to hang our towels for obvious reasons, so we had to stack a couple on the counter and throw some over the shower rod. My recommendation would be to replace the shelf or at least paint it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, though, as these were very minor inconveniences, and spent our time at the beach, aquarium (10-15 min), horseback riding (25 min), Edgar Cayce museum (5 min) and at Colonial Williamsburg (60 min). We plan on returning to VA Beach sometime next year and will most likely stay at the Sheraton again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed 811, a corner room with partial view of the ocean. It was a little larger than the other...
See more room tips
Green Features: I felt the hotel made a very good effort to help the environment by encouraging guests to skip days for having clean towels and instead receive a $5 discount or 500 Starwood points!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mary D, Thank you for this awesome review. We have the best location on the oceanfront the north end of the beach is great less populated but still close enough to local festivals and concerts. We look forward to your return trip to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the sheraton this summer. The hotel is very clean, the staff is extremely curteous and helpful and the view is amazing. The location is the best, right on the boardwalk. Will stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coquito53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Coquito53, Thank you for a great review. I’m glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time here with us. The entire staff waits for your return trip back to Virginia Beach. Don’t forget about holiday lights in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had never been to Virginia beach before and wanted a flop time after staying in New York and dc. The rooms were very comfortable and had good facilities, eg microwave, fridge in room and launderette at beach level. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the beach and we had a side view of the sea. We really enjoyed the meal in the cabana restaurant, shrimps and custom made chips!
The pool was a bit crowded, so we went to the sun deck and it was lovely and private.
The staff were friendly and were interested that we had come from Scotland as there are not many Brits in the resort. The beach was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good evening Susie!

It's great to hear you had such a fun time at the hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed the happy hour in our new Cabana Bar and Grill. The custom made fries are a favorite for the staff as well! I hope the next time you visit the United States we get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn by Marriott Virgin...
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 3501 Atlantic Ave, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing