We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Great view, they have a pool and a little bar outside. However, they are a long way from any of the better restaurants and bars. You'll need a bike, and prepare for a hike! If you're there for music or anything that is going on down my 5th to 7th, you're 20 blocks away here. If you like a little slower pace, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello bozley!

I am happy you enjoyed your stay, but you are correct we are on the slower in of the beach. It's really great for relaxing and escaping from the hustle and bustle. We still have some nice restaurants and shops in walking distance and for anything farther down, the front desk is willing to call a cab so our guests don't have to move their cars. I do hope you come to the beach again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 994 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overall this is a good hotel. The rooms are good size, the staff is friendly and for the most part it is really clean. The only negative was our toilet. Our toilet had a nasty ring on the inside bowl - either a very old toilet or it had not been cleaned in forever. No matter the circumstance, I do not want to see that. Fusion - the restaurant inside the hotel has a great happy hour for drinks. This hotel is on the north end of the beach, which I prefer, and is next to some great pizza joints and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tg1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Good evening TG1915!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments regarding the toilet in your bathroom to our housekeeping manager. Reviews like yours help us learn and improve our service for our guests. While you were here, I'm happy you tried our local pizzia shops. North End Pizza and Dough Boys happen to be the favorite here at the front desk. We hope to see you again soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great visit, 3 pools 1 indoor 2 outdoor, beach front, excellent food and great service! Visited for 4th of July and the fireworks on a barge in the ocean were spectacular!!!! Cabana rooms are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gags57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you Gags for you wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you live in the NYC area, coming down via the DelMarva and taking that 19 mile bay bridge/tunnel to VB VA is an easy, relaxing way to go to this beach vacation sitte. The Sheraton is located steps from the ocean and has an outdoor pool, a quieter "splash pool" (more meditative than that. The breakfast buffet, while pricier than we'd like, has lots of choices and is also easy to manage. We find the staff friendly, willing to help, even during busy season, they seem to deal with so many different personalities and needs, including our own. This is our 3rd time down here with a child. The hotel is reliablle. We usually come on points within the Starwood Preferred Guest plan, but used cash and points this time. A GREAT value!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are with the extra cost. Looking out over the ocean at night or in the morning can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello Kis!

Thank you for coming to see us for the third time! We really enjoy having repeat guests because it gives us a change to reconnect with you and your family. The Starwood Preferred Guest program is worth having. Not only does it earn you the free points you have used for your past stay, but we do understand the standard you enjoy and try to reach the standard every single stay. We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel very was clean, rooms nice and up to date, staff friendly! Loved how close it was to the beach and also enjoyed the pool. The outdoor pool has a bar; drinks great, staff nice. This hotel is great for a romantic stay or vacation as a family. We came for a romantic get away without the children for 2 nights and I really wish we could have stayed longer. The only draw back is a little bit of a wait for elevators but with such a great hotel it's really not a big deal...

Room Tip: Our partial view was great because it also had a view of the pool. You may want to inquire when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Good evening Heather,

I am very happy you and your husband had such a wonderful time together at our hotel. The fact we are further north on the beach, means it is more relaxing with less people. That helps when you want to get away from it all. We hope the next time you come we get to see the rest of your family! Please have safe travels through out the rest of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel off and on since 1976. The Sheraton Oceanfront has gone through a major reno that looks wonderful. The beds in the hotel are high and comfortable. The covers and pillows are fluffy and crisp. Very inviting! Starbucks coffee in the room along with water bottles. Spacious rooms, great decor and lovely views of the ocean and Atlantic Avenue if you are on the upper floors. The pools were well maintained. It's tough to get a spot to sit at the outdoor pool if you get there late on a nice day. Space is limited at the outside pool. Only downfall of the reno is that Sheraton did not put any money into upgrading their elevators!!! We spent way too much time waiting on them and one or the other (there are only 2) were broken multiple times during our stay. We hiked the 7 flights up and down to our room--it was quicker. For those that can't do stairs, it would be a major issue. Some rode the elevators up to other floors just so they could get a spot to come down. The Sheraton should REALLY invest in a new elevator system or somehow figure out how to add more elevators.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahRattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello Hannah!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the changes. We are trying to find a way to upgrade our elevators because we do understand the strain they can sometimes put on our guests. Unforunatly they can only go a certain speed and we can not adjust that for safety reasons. We can not wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been coming to Virginia Beach with my parent's since I was a child and now with my children for over 40 years. We have seen many changes in the area. We are so glad that the Sheraton has kept the great service and family feel over the years, yet has improved their facilities to the ever growing changes that come year after year! The hotel staff, beginning with the valet, then the front desk, always had a smile and a thank you. Very efficient. We needed an early check in, Trisha at the front desk was on it she made it happen! We stayed in 902. Beautiful oceanfront room. The beds were OMG so comfortable. The room was spotless. Clean sheets,(I do check from head to toe),fluffy pillows. Clean carpet, white glove clean. The bathrooms were small, but clean. Free water in the room. Nice fridge. Balcony. They have an oceanfront restaurant inside. We ate breakfast there. They have a buffet as well as menu. It was good. They also have a bar that serves Starbucks coffee and iced coffee too! Outside there is one pool.One large bar. the wait staff walks around and takes orders for food and drinks. There is an outside restaurant too! The food and drinks outside are very good. They will custom make any kind of French fry you want! This is a big hit for the teens! Sweet potato French fries with all kinds of fixings. The same with regular fries. You can even chose the cut of potato that you want. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that is open until 11PM. The hotel is convenient to everything. You can take the trolley that stops across the street from the hotel to take you up and down the strip. It's just $1.00! Enjoy! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaA865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello!

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed our Cabanas Bar and Grill, and their specials. We can't wait to see you again, and hope you have safe travels through the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#71 of 109 in Virginia Beach
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 3501 Atlantic Ave, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $105 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing