We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kim C--Hotel and staff were fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When they say pet friendly hotel, they mean it. From the time I started making my calls to ask questions and get reservations with this lovely gentleman named Patrick till the time we arrived and checked in they have been more then accommodating. This hotel is all new and updated. The location is great. The Staff from the bell boys the valets the cleaning staff, reservation everyone went out of their way to help us. I definitely can't wait to come back to stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 303 Oceanfront room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saabirah L, Front Desk at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Kim,
I am very happy to hear about your stay. Our team greatly appreciates your kind words and will be more than happy to welcome you again here at the Sheraton Oceanfront!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 998 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went the weekend of May 10-11, 2013 for a conference. Arrived around 2:30pm on May 10th. Front driveway was full and it was difficult to park or get someone to help with luggage. One male valet worker was way beyond rude and demanded that we pull around again and get in the back of the line. One of our passengers was really sick and needed to get inside the hotel. NO ONE would help us. My friend ended up unloading the entire car by herself and started to push the cart inside and THEN we were offered assistance to push the cart upstairs. We declined and the rude employee said "fine then, do it yourself." The hotel was just okay, even though this hotel had supposedly undergone a major renovation. Our room wasn't completely clean. Hair and some bugs on the floor in the bathroom. Due to the illness of our colleague, we chose not to call the front desk since we would only be there one night. Check in staff was nice. Amenities in the room were not impressive. I would've thought they would have had glassware and nice shampoo/soap items. Big plus was the Starbucks coffee in the room. I may stay at the hotel again if the conference was there again, but for no other reason.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront on the 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familygal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saabirah L, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello,
I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Starbucks coffee in the rooms we also offer Starbucks at the breakfast bar. Thank you so much for your feedback on our valet service, management has been notified. We hope you chose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had reservations for an oceanfront king room, with a request for high level floor away from the elevator (for less noise). We arrived around 4 pm and went to check in. The desk clerk promptly statesstated they were overbooked on these rooms, and would we consider non oceanfront king withwith jacuzzi tub for half the room rate. We thought we'd give it at try.

Got the room on the 3Rdrd floor, and found it to be small and dreary. There was literally no natural lighting, no window and seemed like we were in a dungeon. Pretty unacceptable for a couple days at the beach.

We went back to front desk to retract our agreement, which the clerk begrudgingly did. We offered to take a queen room if that would help. She said it wouldn't since they were trying to reserve the king and queen waterfront rooms for guests checking in later. What??

She finally have us our king waterfront room, on the first floor, next to the elevator, and right outside of the pool and bar. I'm pretty certain this was a passive-aggressive move on her part, but we were not going to cause any more ruckus over it.

The room itself is roomy and clean. I may be biased since I'm typically a "Marriott" person , but we're here for a conference, so this will do, but I gotta tell you so far, I'm not impressed with Sheraton's customer service! I may change my mine by the end of our stay, and if so, I will update this review. Otherwise, you can expect decent rooms, but less than courteous front desk service at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saabirah L, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Mary,
I do apologize for the situation that you were put into. Sometimes our computer system can glitch and cause and overbooking, this happens rarely but unfortunately it can happen. Our king suites are located in our cabana level and the first floor suites which are located right off the pool for easy access to the outdoor pool which can cause some noise to travel into the rooms. I am glad we could get you into a room that was a good size and thank you for pointing out what a great job our housekeeping team does, they work hard to make our guests comfortable. We would love to have you back if you visit the area again to show you how great our team really does work as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last year and keep coming back due to the great service at both the restaurant and bar. The staff that provides service is always pleasant and creates an almost family like atmosphere. A particular delight is the service we get each time Samantha waits tables or tends the bar at both the inside and outside locations. We always seek her out wherever she is tending. She is always polite, friendly, and down rite easy to converse with. Myself and my wife will continue to hang out at the beach with hopes that Sam is servicing the Sheraton restaurants and bar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saabirah L, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Lisa,
Thank you for your loyalty! I’m so glad to hear about your delightful experience with us. I will be sure to personally pass on your warm hearted words to Samantha. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The receptionists (Patrick and Tia) at check-in were very pleasent and helpful. We had a ocean front room, it was also nice having the small fridge and microwave. We also had breafast at the Fusion (hotel) which was excellent but a bit pricey).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saabirah L, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Janet,
Thank you for your excellent review. Patrick, Tia, and the rest of our team would love to have you stay with us again. I see that you are from Rochester, NY we currently have six interns from RIT with us for the summer. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and two children (6 yo and 3 yo) stayed at this hotel May 4-5, 2013. It is a very nice and convenient hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. I can't wait to visit again when it is warmer! The only downside is the kids' clubroom was very messy and disorganized. There were wet, dirty swim trunks on the table. And very few of the games had all of the pieces. If it was warmer outside, we probably would not have visited the kids' clubroom but since it was freezing we ventured downstairs. A lot of different options but the dirt and disorganization was really disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade or pay a little extra for an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAD_DCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

NAD_DCTraveler, Weather has improved since the beginning of the month, summer is here! Thank you for your feedback regarding our Kid’s Club. Since your visit we have begun replacing many of the games and activities. Throughout the summer we do have a Kid’s Club Coordinator doing a variety of fun projects each week. We look forward to hosting your next family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been to a few coastal properties from California, Florida, North & South Carolina, *cough* New York *cough* New Jersey, so I didnt expect much out of Virginia's coastal property. This property was surprisingly nice. There's a caveat to this review, and that is I only stayed here one night. That one night is usually enough to throw in all the problems for the remainder of the stay. I will say my wife and kids did not want to leave.

- The service people gave me an upgrade to accommodate my family and me.
- Parking is complimentary although it's across the street, it's not overly crowded given the time of year.
- the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean.
- the price was very reasonable given what they offered.

we had a ocean front suite below the lobby and it was right pool. so right outside our room we could jump into the pool or go across it and the boardwalk right to the beach. the property was very clean and near a bunch of restaurants and shopping easily within walking distance - mostly across the street. The restaurant looked very nice but i didnt get a chance to experience it.

All-in-all it was a great place to stay with no issues and plenty of pools and amenities to enjoy. it's a beach property so it gets a lot of traffic and some things are prone to wear down... but if you complain about it, i think you're just not in the right mind for a beach vacation. :)

Room Tip: get a level B room. very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren R, Front Office Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Tonyshelton, it’s great to hear that Virginia Beach surprised you! The development of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront has been extensive since the 70’s to create this remarkable family friendly environment. Thank you for so many great compliments on our property and that you loved our Cabana level one poolside suite. We hope to see you return to Virginia Beach soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 3501 Atlantic Ave, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $85 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing