We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I stayed for 1 night with my husband and twin sons. It wasn't bad, but there were some issues that i found.

There were gnats or little flies in the room which drove me nuts. I also saw them in the internet room. Not sure if it has something to do with the weather because I also saw some at the Pizza Hut on Pacific and 20th Street.
Also, no matter how we put the shower curtain there was always a flood on the bathroom floor.
The dust ruffles on the beds were old and worn and had hairs attached to them.
The exterior hallways leading from the elevator to the rooms was very narrow and difficult to manuever with luggage and also when the housekeepers' carts were in the hall.

That being said, the location was great. Ample parking. Near everything. Close enough to the beach. Breakfast was more than adequate. Pool was very nice (jacuzzi was not filled though). Staff was friendly. Enough channels on the tv. The beds were comfortable.

So, it wasn't bad but it could have been better. But, for the price and location, it was a good value

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynMom_of_twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

If your priority is a fairly reasonable beach rack rate ($129 per night during stay) with an ocean view, then you're in luck. Until 2009, anyway, when the Hampton Inn across the street is finished. At that point, you'll lose your ocean view. If your priority is a comfortable bed, a reasonably updated motel (all rooms have exterior entrances), with a warm, fuzzy staff, FORGET IT. This motel is not a good value for the money. A two-star accommodation at best. The beds were barely FULL SIZE, and I know because mine at home is a full size mattress. I'm 5'7 and weight 130, not a large gal. My husband and I had a rough time sharing comfortably. The staff is young and can only answer questions based on what they were instructed to say. BEWARE THE CANCELLATION POLICY! One needs to cancel a full 72 hours in advance, even though a Days Inn rewards member, and give 24 hours notice if leaving early once on the property. We were scheduled for three nights and left after two. It wasn't worth the bad back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Our family was very pleased with our stay at this hotel. I got our room on a saturday morning by walk in. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was great. The pool and hot tub was really nice. We spent most of our time there. The pool has a nice cascading waterfall that isnt on the hotel's website. For my family ( 2 kids 13 and 11), this hotel was everything we needed. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mattathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

There is one word that comes to mind when you enter your room and that word is "DISGUSTING". There were hairs on the sheets, the pillows covers were stained and repulsive, unknown substances smeared all over the wall. The bathroom tiles had mildew and mold. I didn't even want to take my shoes off. You could hardly use the phone because the buttons were sticky and full of gunk and would constantly get stuck. The front desk staff certainly didn't make you feel welcome, that is for sure. After this experience I will never stay at another Days Inn property, ever. I wasn't expecting top of the line, but I did expect the room to be clean. I really can't express how awful this place is...shabby, dirty, and seedy. My advice would be to spend the extra and stay at one of the more respectable hotels on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bob2002Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We enjoyed our stay. This isn't a five star hotel, but then again, you don't pay a five star price. It isn't a big fancy hotel, but is certainly adequate and was much better than we expected. The rooms are kept clean and are quite spacious. We were in room 411 and had a good view of the ocean. The rooms beginning with 01, 02, and 03 are at the very front of the hotel and I'm sure provide a good view, but they are right in front of the elevator and are probably pretty noisy most of the time. Any room on the fourth floor above with a 04 to 13 on the end will give you a good view from your private balcony. Plus, they look right down on the pool, which was very nice. Two hot tubs and a pool with a waterfall. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the 24-hour front desk is nice for those who need to arrive late or leave early. Plenty of parking and the hotel is near most everything on the boardwalk. Steer clear of the Dairy Queen on the boardwalk though. They have a limited menu and the prices are outrageous. Three chili dogs, three small bags of chips, and three colas cost us almost $23! Go for the McDonalds at the corner of 21st Street and Pacific. Its only two minutes away and is definitely worth saving a few dollars. We ate at the Icehouse restaurant (go two streets down and turn right onto Ninth, go through the light, and the restaurant is about a quarter mile down that road on the left). Good food, but they automatically added on a tip of almost $10 for a party of three. A little steep, but you can get a $25 gift certificate for just $10 at www.restaurant.com. That'll save you $15 anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SandyKiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

A person can nit-pick about any hotel, but this hotel only had 1 flaw that was of no real big deal. We had a room with king size bed, and jacuzzi, and it overlooked the pool, and it had a ocean view. The picture the website gives you is exactly how our room looked. Very clean. The bed was so very comfortable with its pillow top mattress. PLENTY of pillows, leave yours home. They had 6 on the bed. Nice size compact fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and cabinets to store your food/plates. The staff down at the office was very pleasant and helpful. Location was great. And the beach just across the street. The only flaw I referred to earlier was...in order to get hot water for the jacuzzi was to turn the hot water on in the bathroom tub...learned that from the guy in the office when I called to complain of no hot water for the jaccuzzi. They had to run at the same time. Took some time for it to fill, but was no big deal. Rates are excellent compared to others, and to ones "on the beach". Heck, I didn't mind walking across the street. Plenty of parking. The complimentary breakfast was also very nice. Cereal, donuts, french toast, pancakes, oj, coffee, bagels, english muffins. I would definitly go back. Best place to go while in Va Beach...FUNNY BONES comedy club. About 10 min away, easy to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1coolchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Took a little family weekend in September to the beach. We stayed the first night at another hotel on the beach and the second night here. We preferred the days inn by far. It was very nice, very clean, the people at the front dest were very nice and fast about getting our room. We checked in a little early. The pool area was very nice and clean. Very convenient to shops and food. The beach is just across the street. Our room was great. The bed was comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Estay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach

Address: 1000 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $38 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Days Inn At The Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing