We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I chose this one for our first stay at Virginia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our first stay at Virginia Beach. Every room had the ocean front view. Room was clean and decently sized. Bathroom was updated. No Bed Bugs !!! No complaints at all. Out door porch eating area was very nice. Room service was good. The restaurant could have offered more choices of food but overall was great. This Hotel is not over pricey like the Hilton next door seemed to be. Out door music shell next door with live music every night. The beach was clean, no rocks, no seaweed, no shells to cut your feet. The indoor pool was a bit cold, but maybe that was me feeling that way. Located on the North end of the beach, also the perfect area, especially for families, away from the "spring break crowd" area that the southern end appears to be geared for. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Yes, I would pick this hotel again if I ever come back to vacation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel through AAA, and got a discounted rate. We were just looking for something on the beach with a balcony. The hotel is located next to the Hilton in a very nice spot on the North End of the Virginia Beach boardwalk. Hampton Inn offers free parking, wifi and breakfast. Not every hotel offers these freebies, and you wind up saving a lot of money when they do.

We arrived a little bit early and our room wasn't yet ready. They allowed us to park the car in the lot, and said they'd call us when the room was ready. We wound up checking in exactly at check in time (4 pm). The front desk personnel were friendly and explained the wifi and breakfast to us. They gave us some information on local restaurants, as well (we already had a reservation at Terrapin, a few blocks away - it was phenomenal.) Our room was on the second floor, and had a balcony facing the beach. It had a huge fridge and a flat screen TV with cable. The room, bathroom and balcony were clean, but felt a little dingy and dated. I feel like the whole place needs a refreshing/facelift.

Our room was close to the elevators, and it was very noisy, with the constant stream of people in and out. The walls must be paper thin, because the family next door had young children. We heard them crying and talking all afternoon. It actually kept me from napping.

The pool area (indoors) was tiny and crowded, so we didn't go swimming. I am a little turned off by public pools as it is and this pool area was really small with almost no seating. The pool was right next to the lobby, and so the lobby smelled of chlorine and there were constant wet footprints all through the lobby. I think in the future, I would book a hotel with an outdoor pool area, as we really wanted to be able to hang out on a lounge chair under the sun for a few hours.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, which has an outdoor patio overlooking the beach, but we stopped in for drinks. The service was a little slow and confused. The patio table and chairs were a little dirty. The breakfast (served in the restaurant from 6-10 am) was very nice, considering it was complementary. They had fresh waffles, which was a nice touch.

Overall, this hotel served our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for writing a review!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay however, my sincerest apologies for the obstacles in which you encountered. You will certainly have to come back and enjoy staying with us next year because this Winter we are refreshing the entire hotel with new paint, furniture, carpets and more! In the Summer months we are quite busy and there will be guests constantly up and down the elevators as well as in the pool area. I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast, and the waffles. Please do come visit again!

All the best,
Brittany Nosay
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great oceanfront room with easy parking and beach access. We liked the updated rooms and use of space. For example, plenty of towel hooks and shelf space in the bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff got us an early check-in. The free breakfast had a variety of options. The kids loved the waffle maker.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We Loved hotel. Wish list would be outdoor pool and quieter AC units in the rooms but the bathroom was big, the room was a good size for 2 adults and 2 kids. They had a good breakfast and everyone was very nice. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I normally stay at the Doubletree when I visit Virginia Beach each summer, but this year I decided to splurge and treat myself. (Sorry, Doubletree! It's nothing personal - just needed to try something different after 8+ years).

This was a good choice for an oceanfront hotel. The hotel has many things going for it:
- It's located on the northern end of the beach, which tends to be a little less crowded than around 17th Street.
- All of the rooms have balconies and face the oceanfront.
- Each room comes with one FREE parking spot (and I had no trouble finding parking at any time.)
- There is a grocery store within walking distance, and each room has a microwave and refrigerator.
- The breakfast is the standard Hampton Inn fare, and it's nice to come back to the hotel from the beach mid-morning to grab an extra snack.
- My room had a whirlpool in it - for an extra $10 a night....well worth it!

My only complaint is that the rooms don't have screens on the sliding doors onto the balcony. At night it was actually quite nice and I would have loved to keep my door open to listen to the crashing waves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review! So glad you came over to experience an Oceanfront room. We look forward to seeing you again!

Brittany Nosay
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

excellent location. friendly staff. great complimentary breakfast. balcony is somewhat dirty with sand and dust convenience parking infront of the hotel. close to neptine parks and other restuarants. Bank of America is across the street walking distance to CVS

Room Tip: need higher floor all rooms are oceanfront good parking in the front hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank prachak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family and I loved this hotel. The Asst. Manager Chris accommodated all our need and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff was very friendly and all rooms are beachfront. The free breakfast was very good every morning. The location was near everything and had plenty parking. We had a great experience and wonderful vacation. Will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $103 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing