We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The staff was excellent and the rooms clean and crisp. The view of the ocean is wonderful. It is accesible to numerous restaurants and has ample parking. I enjoyed my stay here and will stay again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wonderful view of the ocean from all of the rooms. One morning there were over 20 dolphins/porpoises out in the ocean and some were very close to the beach. Sunsets/rises were gorgeous too. My bed was not as comfortable as it could have been. It had a dip on one side. Other than the bed, everything else was great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent two weeks in Virginia Beach taking a class at a local maritime school, and was lucky enough to have my company put me up on the beach. Granted, I was here during the off-season, so not much in the area was open, but it was still a nice place to be staying.

During my check in, there were repeated problems with the credit card my company had provided. I'm not sure whether it was a problem with the cards or with the hotel computer, but it took 6 tries before a card would successfully swipe. After that though, I had no issues with checking in.

The room was great. I had a corner room on the first floor, so I could walk right out onto the boardwalk, and had a great view of the ocean. It was a king bed room, but the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept on. I do appreciate that Hampton usually has an extra blanket in the closet, so I stayed at a comfortable temperature. The room was also a handicap accessible room, so the bathroom was larger than usual. My only complaint about the room was that it was located directly across the hall from the service area, and the folks working in there were constantly noisy from 6 in the morning till about 4 in the afternoon.

Breakfast was typical of a Hampton Inn...just so-so. The coffee was good, and they had a nice tea selection. However, every time I asked a server for a specific type of tea, they would always say they didn't think they had any. They wouldn't go check. But then the next day, there would invariably be the type of tea that I was looking for...the server just didn't want to go looking. I did eat dinner one night at the hotel, and was very happy with the meal I had. Excellent crab soup and a good fresh caesar salad.

The hotel amenities were average. The gym was tiny, and had three pieces of cardio equipment and no strength training equipment whatsoever. The business center was home to two extremely slow computers. However, the sundries shop in the lobby of the hotel was convenient and had a good selection of snacks and beverages.

On the whole, this was a very typical hotel. I enjoyed my stay, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinerjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in September for our grandchildren's baptism. The hotel is right on the beach and located near plenty of area attractions within walking distance.

The room was fine, we had an ocean view room with two queen beds. The only real issue we had was that the bathroom was not as clean as we are use to from a Hilton Chain. We only stayed one night so we didn't ask to change rooms but probably should have.

The carpet was OK but when we walked on it with white socks, the bottom of our socks were very dirty so I am not for sure how well the cleaning crew do. Also, the bathroom floor had beer bottle caps behind the toilet so I know they didn't do a great cleaning from the last group the used the room.

When we showered in the morning, we noticed mildew on the bottom of the shower curtain which confirmed that management isn't checking up on the cleaning crews.

The pool and hot tub were fine but there was a lot of sand in them from people not showering when they came from the beach and just jumping in. You cant fix that due to ignorant travelers.

Breakfast was the standard Hampton fare in the hotel restaurant. Other than the bathroom and carpet, the hotel is OK and the stay was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My first trip to Virginia Beach and hotel was clean & friendly. We had a first floor room that overlooked the ocean. The balcony door was secured by a bar, which was a nice added security feature. Beds were very comfortable and towels were extra soft. We had dinner in the hotel and food was ok and somewhat overpriced. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 58racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel in awhile. I usually stay at the Hampton Inn South due to cost(Hampton Inn South is usually cheaper), so I am not sure if they are owned by the same company. The pool was dirty with algae and other things. I had to kill a roach and other bugs in my room. The room and common areas did not look clean. I would not go back, period. People in housekeeping and the breakfast area were very friendly, front desk people need a little training on greeting customers with a smile and saying hello at least.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveltheArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay was not as expected, and assure you that the management team is reviewing your comments and taking any action required. We take pride in making sure that the hotel is clean and safe for our guests, and utilize professional exterminating and staff inspections to prevent insects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff was great- We had a large group- and they were ready for us when we arrived- got in with no hold ups-- offered information for resturants in area-- breakfast was very good. rooms all face the ocean and balconys for each room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $102 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing