We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a one night stay in VA beach after a week in Williamsburg. I read and re-read all the reviews trying to pick the best place for our family. I was close to booking the new Hilton next door but was turned off by the double beds (who still does that? who can sleep 2 to a double bed? not us at least comfortably!) So I settled on the Hampton which is a brand I love, especially the nice clean white duvets that are washed between guests.

We had a double queen room on the top floor which had a great view. All the rooms are ocean front which is nice. The hotel is obviously older but with newer Hampton furnishings. Our room was little beat up and carpet was a little stained and there was a spot or two of black on the tub grout but overall clean. We even had a rollaway (no charge) which was surprisingly comfy although the room was a little tight to fit the extra bed. I appreciated the fridge and microwave and there was a nice storage tower in the bathroom for extra toiletries. I did ask for an extra duvet for the rollway and was told that they do not do that. (the Hampton inn in Williamsburg kindly did provide one which I appreciated!) In any event it was for 1 night so no big deal.

The free breakfast was great and served in the lovely oceanfront restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. A great set up with a great selection of cereals in boxes, boiled eggs, fruit, sausage, premade omelets. The best part was that they had multiple waffle maker manned by a lovely woman (Olivia?) who was so friendly and singing to all the guests, helping the kids, and she made all the waffles for you so there was no back up in line, no mess, and she was such a pleasure to speak with. We then sat outside and had a great free breakfast overlooking the boardwalk. Just a great way to start the day!

The only downside to the stay was that the fire alarm went off at 11:30 pm. It was very hard to hear in the room over the a/c and I was the only one awake at the time and I heard this faint beeping. When I opened the door the alarm was very loud but there were no hotel staff directing you what to do. Many guests were in the hall so we talked to each other and decided we should just go downstairs. I tried to call the front desk but no answer. I woke everyone up and we walked down 8 flights to the lobby. Still no one from the hotel directing anything but everyone was just walking outside to the parking lot. We then saw the fire dept come. They went inside and we saw them walking on the first floor. Then the firemen came out and said all clear so we went back up. Again, the hotel staff were gathered at the front desk but no one was saying anything to the guests which I thought was strange. We did ask for and receive a late check out the next day due to loss of sleep the night before! But still I though it was a little unsafe that not only could we not really hear the alarm in the room but that the hotel staff seemed so unconcerned about the guests while the alarm was going off.

This is the best location in my opinion thought. I see they are building a new Hilton Garden Inn next door which I would choose for my next trip. However, for the price this Hampton was a good choice for us for this trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    389
    150
    50
    27
See reviews for
571
422
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very good hotel. Nice locations from everything you need in Virginia Beach. There is something for the whole family and any type of weather. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Will be back in this hotel for sure when vacations time comes around ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a nice, pleasant stay here even if it was only for 1 night (extended our stay in VB, & our previous hotel was sold out). Housekeeping and general staff at this hotel were all friendly. Room was clean, although room was a little on the small size, but bathroom was a nice size, & had a bathtub. The breakfast buffet was also good, & was generally a quieter stay for us. This hotel better serves couples, or even families with teenagers - although we wish there was an outdoor pool, instead of just the beach option.
Regardless, hotel is in a great location by Neptune's Statue, & with its added features - coffee maker, mini fridge/freezer, microwave, wi-fi, free parking & buffet breakfast - this hotel is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAir100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in late July and it was much nicer than we expected! We decided on a whim to spend the weekend at the beach, so finding a decent place to stay during peak season is no easy task. Our room was clean and the private balcony was wonderful for dolphin and whale watching. We ate dinner at the restraunt on site and we were very pleased with our meal. It's not a resort but it isn't a crusty beach dive! The staff was fantastic! They are professional and friendly and even though they were very busy, made time to make us feel welcome and valued our business. The north end of the beach seems to have less unsavory characters and though we did not bring our four kids with us we would be happy to bring them there. Thank you for a wonderful weekend! We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tshifflett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our housekeeper found my husband's missing watch in the dresser drawer and had it sent back to us! We are so thankful that it was found and grateful to have it back. Also, the hotel was very clean, the rooms were clean the breakfast was very good. They even had someone making the waffles for you! It was nice to have an indoor pool & hot tub for a break from the beach. The front office staff was very attentive, provided directions, suggestions and maps to help us navigate our way around. We would stay here again, and hope to very soon. Loved the family atmosphere of Virginia Beach..the renting of bikes all day long, the separate path that the bikes take and the super wide boardwalk for the walking side. Live, free music was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had actually booked the 4-star Hilton next door, but realized it had NONE of the amenities of this 3-star Hampton Inn. I got the in-room coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator AND free Wi-Fi, free full breakfast and free parking. The Hilton charged extra for every one of those things. So happy I switched to Hampton Inn! The lobby was nothing spectacular; neither was the pool - but that's not the reason I came here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff here are awesome, very clean rooms, close to everything, our first time at the oceanfront area we will come back again next year. Very family friendly. breakfast is very good, housekeepers very friendly always saying good morning or good afternoon I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms away from elevator quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-USAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing