We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean view all rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ocean view all rooms”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great room, good location, with a great view. We stayed in room 501. This room is the end room on the south side of the building. That being said our view south was really great, and the room spacious and clean.
The only down side is the band shell next store and the day we were there we could clearly hear the music with the patio doors closed, and they played until 10PM. Also there was an ice machine across the hall, but it wasn't disturbing while we were there. Would I stay there again, yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    450
    174
    60
    32
See reviews for
671
516
56
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our first stay at Virginia beach and Hampton Inn North and me and my family were very hapy with our stay. The hotel is in a great location and for the most part very clean. The only exception would be the elevators, they need to be updated. The staff were very friendly and helpful, exspecially the lady making waffles at the breakfast part of the hotel. Each room had a private balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The lobby is a little small and the indoor pool was small as well. The room was fine with two queen size beds a refrigerator with a small microwave sitting on top. The bathroom was very clean and the shower is very spacious. My wife and kids will gladly stay at this hotel again. Great location,great view of the ocean(all rooms are ocean front),great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have never been to Virginia Beach before and I cannot express how great my stay was. The staff was among the best I have ever seen ready and willing to help with a smile and just to make our stay the best it could be. The room was amazing, very spacious and one of the most comfortable and a most amazing view of the ocean. I cannot say enough about this experience, when I come back this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
You have made our day...thanks for posting! It is such a pleasure to read feedback like this! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and that our staff were helpful! Your compliments have been passed on to the management team and staff to help "keep the smiles coming." We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were victims of an inside phone scam, although the hotel manager refused to consider- the possibility- his employee (s) played a part in it. SCARY STUFF! If the phone rings in your room at the Hampton Inn, VA Beach Oceanfront and someone on the other end tells you "the hotel computer system is down and you will be double billed" HANG UP! Had we not experienced that...it would have been a nice weekend get-a-way. Overall nice hotel and great location. Thank God, I hung up the phone after the person insisted I give my credit card Info. I immediately called the front desk only to be informed the computer system was up and running...SCARY STUFF!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We share your concerns about this phone scam, and are glad that you avoided becoming a victim. The safety and privacy of our guests is our top priority, and we are sorry for any concern that this caused. Our management team has discussed this occurrence to ensure the continued security of all guests.

Advisories about this nationwide hotel phone scam have appeared in news media and in consumer alerts. Typically, a guest’s room phone rings late at night with someone claiming to be the front desk. There are several scenarios, but frequently they claim that the hotel’s computers are down, and request the guest’s credit card information again.

Brand standards require that incoming callers correctly identify the last name of a registered guest before being transferred to a guest room. If additional billing information is needed during a guest’s stay, consumers should provide this information at the front desk, and never over the phone. Our hotel staff will never request credit card information for an in-house guest over the telephone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Its all about location with this property-every room is ocean view. We are not talking about ocean front with a partial or side view. Full on ocean view. Rooms were nice and clean. The grill was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Pool is indoors and located across from the front desk and the entrance was near the bar so you had to walk past it to gain entrance. The elevators were very slow. But overall, a good hotel that I would recommend.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with all rooms being ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Typical Hampton Inn in a good way, especially when considering a beach vacation - free internet, free parking, great breakfast and clean and comfortable beds. The room had a large mini-fridge and a microwave as well which can reduce food/drink expenditures. The view was fantastic with all rooms oceanfront with a balcony. It was very quiet as well for sleeping. The only downside was the indoor pool was a little small and the lobby practically non-existent and we missed having an outdoor pool. However, the area was great, right on the boardwalk with lots of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChurchHillVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm a Hilton Honors member, my family travels quite a bit, and we frequently stay at their hotels. We've stayed at an oceanfront hotel during the North American Sand Soccer Championships every year for the past several years, and last year we stayed at this Hampton Inn. The view of the games was great from our oceanfront room. The room was clean and comfortable; however, the customer service was shocking. We asked for a late checkout so that our young son who was in the tournament could rest in the room (and out of the heat) for as long as possible (I believe that's one of the perks of being a Hilton Honors member, based on availability of course). The front desk staff granted our request and allowed us a late checkout. We were in the room at the regular check out time when housekeeping staff came to the door (a female housekeeper along with a man who was either in housekeeping, maintenance, or security...not sure) saying that they needed our sheets and towels. I explained that the front desk granted us late checkout to which they replied that we could stay in the room, but they needed to take our sheets and towels. They literally barged into the room past me and proceeded to take apart the bedding. My family and I were so taken aback, we hastily gathered our things and left the hotel. We were completely bullied out of our room by the housekeeping staff. I normally don't write this sort of review, I prefer to handle poor service by discussing it with the manager. When we got home, my husband emailed the hotel manager directly and received no response. I also emailed Hilton from their website and again received no response. It was as if they flat out didn't care that a loyal Hilton/Hampton Inn customer had a very bad experience at this property. I have never been treated like that at a hotel before or since. We are staying at a different hotel on the boardwalk this year and we will not stay at this Hampton Inn again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although your stay was one year ago this month, we are quite concerned about your experience. I ask that you contact me directly to discuss this stay as we have no report of this situation through our hotel logs or through the Hilton Guest Satisfaction channels. Please accept our apologies, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Dan Schaffner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing