We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Employees make this the best Hampton Inn!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Front desk check was great...prompt, courteous service. The rooms were typical Hampton Inn style rooms. Had a mini-fridge and microwave. My room was clean and had an excellent ocean view. The restaurant has a yummy club sandwich on the menu but only average on the salmon dish. The bartender makes great drinks!!:). Breakfast is typical hotel breakfast but offered a nice variety to suit anyone. The only complaint I do have is the fitness room... Please fix the treadmill!!! And maybe lose the stationary bike (doesnt work so well, either) and add weights and bench. Can't say enough about the staff... Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping to the restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone seemed happy and had a smile while at work - you truly don't see that anymore at places of business! I travel frequently for work and usually see disgruntled, apathetic employees. It was so refreshing to see happy people who gave great service. Great job guys and gals!!! Hope to get back to this area at some point and would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Wow...thanks for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return. Your commendations about our staff have been passed on to them because happy guests are the highest compliment. Our management team has reviewed your comments about the fitness center for the appropriate follow-up. We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel in May 2013. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The breakfast was convenient and good. The front desk was very pleasant and efficient.

My only complaint is where my room was situated. We stayed in room 108 which is just outside where the cleaning staff congregate. I guess they all meet in there before their shift starts. Each morning around 8am you could here them talking so loud. They were laughing and carrying on as if no one if the hotel was sleeping. Did I tell you it was 8am? It got so bad that I literally had to open the door to tell them to quiet down so people could sleep.

I understand that people should enjoy themselves at work, however, please keep that door closed so the folks on vacation can enjoy some rest.

Room 109 is close by as well. Avoid that one too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emurph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The front desk staff was exceptional. Mr & Mrs Brian & Cathy Moats both work the front desk together. This couple who happen to celebrating 39 years of marriage this year were awesome. Very professional and courteous are good words however caring and hospitable are better. I felt like I had stopped by their house and experienced some southern hospitality. This morning I realized that my right rear tire was flat. Mr Moats personally inflated my car tire with his own air pump. He and his wife were awesome and they along with the front desk staff on Saturday 4/27 evening were also awesome. We plan to come back and stay at this Hampton Inn. In large part because the warmth of the front desk staff. Thanks for a great experience and God bless you all! Chris Gayle. Stafford Va.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Difficult to get online price by walking in even though numerous rooms available.
Got put on 8th floor, with worse view than others available when we requested 5th.
Weather so cold could barely walk outside, opted for jacuzzi - but it was over-heated and persons entering had reddened legs appearing to be scald burns. Reported to management, they kept it open. Not useable. Also the swim pool was cloudy water - did not look inviting. Pool water should look clear, no exceptions, for public swimming.
However, the staff at breakfast were phenomenal in welcoming and working there.
Repeat business ...?

Room Tip: In summer, check out details prior to paying.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seymour787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that your experience was not as expected. Our management team has reviewed your comments and followed up as required. We take guest safety seriously, and monitor the hot tub and pool to ensure that they are maintained properly. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Overall a good place to stay. The arrival was great, everything ready, they just had to grab my stuff and hand it to me. Very efficient and ready for my arrival. Room was okay at best. The bathroom still had hairs left over, not completely cleaned to the best of their abilities. The AC unit was very noisy and sometimes made a high pitch noise when it started, which eventually subsided. The breakfast was also very good. Plenty of seating and plenty of selection to choose from. Did not leave hungry in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nicely greeted when we arrived. Fast check-in. Clean room. Quiet, but we always travel off season. Wonderful, wonderful staff in the breakfast area unlike any other Hampton Inn we have stayed at. Big variety to choose from. Fast check out. Definitely will come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Everything was great, check in was easy, staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool is open 24 hours which is great because there is no time constraint. Breakfast in the morning was good, alot to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $135 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing