We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, whew it was loud outside!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

First off, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Very nice location, nice hotel, great bar, and the room was clean. You can tell from the rooms it's an older building but as long as it's clean that's fine. They are currently doing beach nourishment along the oceanfront. Like a previous reviewer stated they started up around 6 Saturday night and were still going strong when we left the room the next morning. My wife and I like to sleep with a door / window open when we stay in an oceanfront room but had to close it during the night when the bulldozers got even with the building. The back-up alarms were going constantly. I know it's no fault of the hotel and I understand why they are building up the beach, we just picked the wrong weekend to head to Virginia Beach! Overall, a very nice stay and we'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We really appreciate your review , your understanding, and your loyalty. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience from the beach replenishment, and that it impacted your weekend getaway. We look forward to having you back and providing the great guest experience that we are known for!

At your service,
Rob Waddell - DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel location is great. View is great. Parking is great. Quiet it was not. The city is working a beach construction project right out side up and down the beach. They started working at 6:00 PM last night (Saturday night) with multiple pieces of construction machinery and the beep beep beep from the machinery went on and on. At 10:45 PM we called the front desk to complain. We were told the city doesn't let them know in advance when they will be working nights on the project and there was nothing they could do. Checked out at 11:15 PM and drove four hours home as we weren't going to get any sleep in Virginia Beach. Turns out the noise ordinance is effective starting at 9:00 PM but doesn't apply to city projects! So much for visitor consideration! Never again!

Room Tip: Before booking in this hotel I would call and ask status of the construction project going on outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and we are truly sorry that your stay was affected by noise from the beach replenishment project. The Beach Erosion Control and Hurricane Protection project is a joint effort between the City of Virginia Beach and the Army Corps of Engineers, and ensures that our beautiful beaches are preserved. The good news is that as of Monday, February 11th, they had moved the equipment a few blocks North. Since the crews work 24 hours and move up the beach unscheduled, advance notice to hotels of their projected location was not provided, and prevented us from notifying guests who were already in house as they moved in front of the hotel. The management team has discussed this event to identify any opportunities for future handling, and we hope that you will visit again so that you can enjoy the experience that you had intended!

R. Waddell - DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Good price, great views, helpful staff. We come here every year for whale watching, will probably make it our annual place. Free breakfast save you easily 25 bucks a day. This review needs to be 200 characters long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelio75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times for tennis events. I love the view, the location, and the clean rooms. The staff is always welcoming. This time I brought 30+ tennis players with me. They put up a sign welcoming the tri-level teams and provided water and energy bars in every person's room. The little touches meant a lot. We had a great weekend and everyone seemed to enjoy the hotel. Premium rooms have a DVD player. Each room has a large mini-fridge and a microwave.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a DVD player and a higher view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

First, thank you for posting a review, and for your kind remarks! We appreciate your loyalty, and are honored that you brought a group of fellow players back this year! We are glad that everyone enjoyed the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Kind regards,
Rob Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had used Hilton/Hampton in Helsinki and Philadelphia in past 18 mos and felt it was a good choice even though we had to pay extra for a higher level room to enable a better view of the Atlantic Ocean sunrise, which unfortunately was bedevilled by heavy fog the entire time. Fog notwithstanding, the price was not worth it, because the fundamental service did not equate to our earlier experiences, for which we paid a lot less: no ceramic cups or glasses in our hotel room for drinking water or coffee--when we asked for them, we were TOLD TO GO TO THE BAR TO AKS FOR THEM; polyester sheets that were clean enough but did not breathe; maid service that made inconsiderate use of hallways, parking work cart in narrow corridor instead of taking into room, room service dishes of others piled up on hallway floor for hours, the list goes on, including a substandard buffet breakfast that we were counting on to at least have fresh apples and oranges, but instead served old decanted containerized fruit cocktail that was not the least bit appetizing, undifferentiated oatmeal mush a glob of paste, and waffles too cold to melt the butter and syrup that arrived in refrigerated packets.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Atlantic and there is a great view of the very impressive boardwalk, but we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments. We regret that your experience was not as you had expected, and that the fog interfered with the typically beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. Some of the other things which you mention relate to Hampton brand standards with which we meet or exceed. Hampton Inn brand standards are more value oriented than our Hilton brand standards which you refer to. The management team has reviewed your feedback and acted upon any opportunities for improvement so that we can continue to provide what is typically a great guest experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your impression.

Rob Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved the jacuzzi king room, It was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was nice, they had lots of selections to choose from and the staff was very helpful and gave great service.The free wifi was a plus too. We were celebrating a babymoon, we only could stay for the weekend but we had a very nice stay, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were here for a couples getaway. The room we reserved was nice, we had the hot tub king room my only complaint was there was a few strands of hair in our bathroom and also the bottom shelf of the vanity was covered in dust. Interaction with the housekeeping staff on our floor was very awkward so I just cleaned it myself. The breakfast staff on our first morning was STELLAR! very interactive moving throughout the dining room and keeping up with breakfast. The second morning we arrived in the dining room at 9:55am and it was different ladies then before the morning prior and my husband and I were cut off by the staff to quickly close up breakfast. Patience and standing back for your last minute guests would go along way.

Our checkout agent was awesome as well - and everyone else we came in contact with. We would certainly return with our children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $104 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing