We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Favorite hotel in VA Beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in VA Beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times for tennis events. I love the view, the location, and the clean rooms. The staff is always welcoming. This time I brought 30+ tennis players with me. They put up a sign welcoming the tri-level teams and provided water and energy bars in every person's room. The little touches meant a lot. We had a great weekend and everyone seemed to enjoy the hotel. Premium rooms have a DVD player. Each room has a large mini-fridge and a microwave.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have a DVD player and a higher view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momdemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
First, thank you for posting a review, and for your kind remarks! We appreciate your loyalty, and are honored that you brought a group of fellow players back this year! We are glad that everyone enjoyed the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Kind regards,
Rob Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    399
    152
    51
    27
See reviews for
589
433
45
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had used Hilton/Hampton in Helsinki and Philadelphia in past 18 mos and felt it was a good choice even though we had to pay extra for a higher level room to enable a better view of the Atlantic Ocean sunrise, which unfortunately was bedevilled by heavy fog the entire time. Fog notwithstanding, the price was not worth it, because the fundamental service did not equate to our earlier experiences, for which we paid a lot less: no ceramic cups or glasses in our hotel room for drinking water or coffee--when we asked for them, we were TOLD TO GO TO THE BAR TO AKS FOR THEM; polyester sheets that were clean enough but did not breathe; maid service that made inconsiderate use of hallways, parking work cart in narrow corridor instead of taking into room, room service dishes of others piled up on hallway floor for hours, the list goes on, including a substandard buffet breakfast that we were counting on to at least have fresh apples and oranges, but instead served old decanted containerized fruit cocktail that was not the least bit appetizing, undifferentiated oatmeal mush a glob of paste, and waffles too cold to melt the butter and syrup that arrived in refrigerated packets.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Atlantic and there is a great view of the very impressive boardwalk, but we r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. We regret that your experience was not as you had expected, and that the fog interfered with the typically beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. Some of the other things which you mention relate to Hampton brand standards with which we meet or exceed. Hampton Inn brand standards are more value oriented than our Hilton brand standards which you refer to. The management team has reviewed your feedback and acted upon any opportunities for improvement so that we can continue to provide what is typically a great guest experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your impression.

Rob Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We loved the jacuzzi king room, It was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was nice, they had lots of selections to choose from and the staff was very helpful and gave great service.The free wifi was a plus too. We were celebrating a babymoon, we only could stay for the weekend but we had a very nice stay, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were here for a couples getaway. The room we reserved was nice, we had the hot tub king room my only complaint was there was a few strands of hair in our bathroom and also the bottom shelf of the vanity was covered in dust. Interaction with the housekeeping staff on our floor was very awkward so I just cleaned it myself. The breakfast staff on our first morning was STELLAR! very interactive moving throughout the dining room and keeping up with breakfast. The second morning we arrived in the dining room at 9:55am and it was different ladies then before the morning prior and my husband and I were cut off by the staff to quickly close up breakfast. Patience and standing back for your last minute guests would go along way.

Our checkout agent was awesome as well - and everyone else we came in contact with. We would certainly return with our children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

All though low season we lacked nothing and service and food was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful and food was great. We had a King size bed and slept fantastic. Great value for money with indoor pool, breakfast and parking included right on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The Hampton Inn North was clean and located in a great spot. The restraunt inside the hotel was ok but left a little to be desired and its hours were strange. I will give it the benefit of the doubt and say that maybe it was because it was the "off" season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarue425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving at the hotel met by a very nice gentleman that checked us in fast . We had a two Room Suite , it was clean , linens were very nice . King size bed was comfy . Our room was on the oceanfront , and the Christmas lights were still up on the boardwalk . We had dinner down stairs , was a bit expensive but the food was awesome . I ordered the She Crab Soup , OMG ...being from the Eastern Shore I was a bit skeptical , but it was very good , much better than I expected . Next day we went down to breakfast that is included . I was surprised at how good this was , fresh fruit , waffles , and good coffee . I really enjoyed our time there and hope to return . The off season is the best time to get the best rates . . No crowds , a wonderful place for quiet fun time .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machip5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,633 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing