We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hampton is located next to the full service Hilton Hotel that is all the rage in Virginia Beach. Having stayed at both this hotel is a much better value. All the rooms face the ocean unlike the Hilton where some rooms are 'city view'. Parking is much better. At the Hilton it is located in a structure across from the hotel, here it is surface parking located immediately adjacent to the entrance. There is a restaurant and bar located oceanside. The food was good and filling and reasonably priced. It is extremely unusual for a Hampton to have a restaurant so this was a plus. Breakfast is what us frequent travelers refer to as 'Hampton Hash', it is ok and is filling but if you want a fancy breakfast go somewhere else. This applies to all Hampton Hotels. If you want the up scale restaurants of the Hilton you can walk the 100 yards and enjoy. The rooms are relatively quiet but you can get noise from adjoining rooms if a party is going on. Overall I would recommend this hotel, it is clean, efficient, and would stay again. If is a much better VALUE then the adjoining Hilton property.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are generally larger and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    435
    166
    59
    30
See reviews for
640
498
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel and room was clean. Staff at front desk was friendly. The room had a strong smell of bleach until we got that aired out. Loved the big bathroom! The breakfast was exactly that - free. Don't expect a lot - rubbery eggs, thank goodness for cereal and the waffles. Coffee was kind of like drinking muddy water. The pool was clean and hot tub was a nice retreat. My hubby had a salad from the restaurant and said it was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Your comments were passed on to the breakfast manager for review. Our Hampton breakfast buffet features a variety of hot and cold items, including some healthy and gluten-free options to accommodate individual guest preferences. We hope that you will visit again the next time you return to Virginia Beach.
Regards,
Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel has great beach views. The room was a little smaller than other Hamptons I've stayed in, but the room was up to Hampton standards. Since it is out of season, the beach closes up early. I arrived about 6:30 or 7:00 and there were not a lot of dinner options immediately close by. I agree with another reviewer about the halls and elevator - they were cold. Good breakfast selection. The view in the morning was nice....right on the beach and there is a lighted walking path parallel to the beach. Walked outside and took a photo of this large statue of Neptune a few humdred feet to the South. Interesting. The room was reasonably priced for this time of year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John108Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed the stay here even in the off season. the staff in the dining area were so nice (olivia and richard) the check in was quick, every one you passed said hello, the rooms are clean as well as the bathroom. the only thing I had a problem with was it was freezing in the halls and elevator, not sure why?? Oh also the cost for off season I found to be pricey not that I have a problem but some ppl would deter because of it.

Room Tip: choose the oceanview on the 3rd and above wow what a sight and buy water and snacks they are high at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neena1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Arnoult en Yvelines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this hotel! Very friendly, spectacular location, reasonably priced, very comfortable room overlooking the beach and the ocean. Highly recommended. Complementary breakfast was surprisingly good. Free parking.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking the boardwalk/beach/ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshmanInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidman, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are always happy when we stay at a Hampton Inn. But this hotel has totally went above and beyond my expectations. Upon arrival we were greated by a friendly check in lady. Who made sure we were informed about all the hotel offered. We were offered help to our room. And after being there for a few minutes a wonderful lady asked us if we needed anything and if our room was meeting our needs. The hotel was very clean throughout. The pool and hot tub were also well maintaned. Breakfast was also great, they had something for everyone. And once again the staff was so friendly and helpful. Throughout our stay we were greated by smiling faces and were always asked if we were in need of anything. When my vacation was over I really hated leaving. I can't wait to return next year. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review and for your kind words! We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations, and that you will be returning next year! We look forward to it! Also, thanks for recommending us to others!

Kind regards,
Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I just felt pampered from the moment I walked in to when I left. THANK YOU Elton, Bobbie and the reservation desk staff, the staff at the bar, Jodi at dinner, Olivia at breakfast, for taking wonderful care of me! Loved the room with clean, pristeen fluffy everything (7th floor ocean view)-you were so sweet indulging my request! I didnt have to worry about taxis, etc. It felt like a total getaway, even on a business trip! THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GamerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a loyal guest! We are honored that you chose us for your anniversary and your wife’s birthday! It sounds like you really enjoyed the hotel and location and found plenty of great places to eat! Again, thanks for staying and we hope that we will see you again soon!

At your service,
Rob Waddell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing