We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view of the Virginia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Hampton Inn for 2 nights and was very impressed with the service and the view of the beach. I was able to lounge on the terrace and view the art show that weekend. The staff was fantastic. Mary the housekeeper kept my room clean and was very helpful when I needed a few items. Oliva was the best at making those waffles and the breakfast was awesome, alot of variety breakfast items from eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, coffee, etc. I would definitley come back and stay a few more nights before the summer is over.

Keep up the good customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuestTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thanks for posting your review. We are delighted that you were especially impressed with the service, the great view of the beach, and our breakfast buffet! We appreciate your compliments about our staff, and for recognizing particular staff like Mary and Olivia. They really "light up" when they hear about our guests' remarks! We look forward to your next visit!

At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently spent three nights here visiting our son and his family while they were on vacation. I stay at many Hampton Inns around the country and the upgrades they have put into their hotels makes the Hampton a great place to stay. This Hampton Inn has killer views as every room has beach views and a balcony. It was a great place to stay right on the board walk. The staff was great and the free breakfast made it easy to start your day. I have stayed at several hotels up and down the Virginia Beach board walk but this is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room for an even more amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarktheBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Wow...thanks for the kind review, and for naming us one of your favorite Virginia Beach boardwalk hotels! We are delighted that you had a great stay while here visiting your son and his family. Hopefully, the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North will be at the top of your hotel list the next time that you plan a visit to Virginia Beach :)

Kind regards,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I took my mama and my daughter to Virginia Beach for girl’s weekend getaway June 15-17. I had chosen Hampton Inn Oceanfront North to stay at. We got a room as I originally requested with No problems! The hotel overall was very nice, though some of the furnishings were dated and carpets need a good steam cleaning. Even thou the oceanfront room 512 had amazing view, it was simple, but yet very clean and the hotel staff attentive. The hotel has complementary breakfast 6-10am and it’s delicious!! Hot fresh brewed coffee and free wireless Internet is available to you all day long! Floors don’t have vending machines but there is suite shop by front desk if you need drinks or snacks. The beach is well taken care of with great rental chairs or bring your own. Special thanks to Leeanne and Olivia for fabulous waffles, and Clint for help around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalka7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

We appreciate your taking time to post a review and great photos, and for choosing our hotel for your "girls' weekend getaway!" Your compliments about our attentive staff, especially Leeanne, Olivia, and Clint have were passed on. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and appreciate your feedback. As part of our ongoing maintenance, carpet is inspected, cleaned or replaced regularly, and your concern was passed to the appropriate management for follow-up. We hope that you will come back and visit soon!

At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our stay at this Oceanfront Hampton Inn was absolutely wonderful. Every employee is super friendly, attentive, and quick to respond to any request. I especially want to commend Olivia at the breakfast area. She is the sweetest, most helpful, friendly, dedicated person I have ever met. She is like a ray of sunshine continually. She along with the other staff made breakfast a pleasure. The continental breakfast is quite large. Waffles, hard-boiled eggs, eggs, toast, muffins, oatmeal, bacon...the list goes on. The pool is warm and the hot tub is hot. The beds are comfortable. The microwave and refrigerator are convenient. Everything is clean and kept up to very high standards. The location is excellent for the North end of the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevensk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stay on Virginia Beach several times a year and this is our new go-to place to stay. The hotel interior is contemporary and clean. The staff, from the front desk to the breakfast bar to housekeeping, are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can possibly be. The rooms are comfortable and include a larger-than-normal mini fridge and a microwave. The location can't be beat. Located next to Neptune's Park and just steps to the beach, it's perfect for playing and relaxing on the beach. I loved the ease of going from my room to the beach. It made it very convenient to go in for lunch and return. Parking is great, no extra cost, and allowed me to leave my beach chairs, etc. in the trunk, taking them out and putting them away each day. Loved not having to trek them to the room with me. The location is convenient to be able to walk to restaurants and shops in either direction.

We stay in the Hilton family of hotels alot and this ranks right at the top of the ones we've stayed in. The only negative, and it wasn't significant, is the furniture in the room is not quite the quality we've seen in other Hilton hotels but it was still very comfortable and met our needs very well. The bed was very comfortable and we had very restful sleep.

We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront so it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Moo_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We are thrilled that you have made the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North your "New Favorite Hotel" for your many trips each year to Virginia Beach! Thank you for this honor, and for taking time to post your review! Your praise about our staff will be passed on as they always appreciate hearing that they have helped our guests to have a great stay. Thanks also, for your feedback on our furniture. Our furniture is purchased through Hampton Inn purchase program with each Hilton family hotel, Hilton, DoubleTree, Embassy Suites, etc. having their own line and level of furniture.

We look forward to your next visit, and again thanks for recommending us!
At your service,
Rob Waddell, DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is my first choice of a hotel when staying in Virginia Beach. We usually stay there 3-4 times a year. The rooms are small for Hilton properties but beds are first rate. The staff is very friendly and attentive with a nice breakfast bar. The hotel is very clean and there is plenty of parking. Location is the BEST, walking distance to restaurants, shops...

Room Tip: ocean front balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We just got back from Virginia Beach on May 31st. What an incredible trip...and a surprise engagement! :)
The Hampton Inn was a great choice. I can't say enough about the service. I have a 5yr old who is very inquisitve. Instead of dismissing him because I know it can get annoying, the staff played along a little! Made me enjoy them a little more.
Okay, now for the nitty-gritty about the hotel. The faults are few, if you could call them that. The room needed a little TLC. The closet doors and bathroom door did not shut properly. Had to shove them. The DVD player was broken. The fitness center was clean and simple; 1 bike, 1 treadmill, and 1 elliptical. The bike and elliptical need a little work. You couldn't change the resistance on the bike and the seat doesn't lock solid. The elliptical has a balance problem and was lifting off the floor when I tried using it.
So, those are all the bad things. There are way more great things about this hotel! Location being at the top of my list. Oceanfront. Right near King Neptune Park where they sometimes have local entertainment. There is a children's jungle gym on the beach right off the hotel which my son enjoyed. Parking is free and there is plenty of it. You can rent bikes right at the edge of the property. The hotel has complimentary hot breakfast. They changed it daily had things like scambled eggs, omlets, creamed chip beef, waffles, French toast, sausage, cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. What a great way to start your day! The breakfast staff was extremely friendly and kept your tables clear. The hotel has an indoor/hot tub. Don't expect either to be completely free of sand, but you could tell it was cleaned often and nicely kept. Our maid was great, and I have to give her extra credit because we had a medical machine with us and had more trash than most people would. She did a wonderful job! Also, we had medical supplies (about 10 boxes!!) delivered to the hotel prior to our arrival. They handled it with ease and it was ready when we arrived. The only thing that we didn't get time to do was eat dinner in the restaurant.
Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busichic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $103 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing