We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Nearby Hotels
$162
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamar Resort Inn(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge on the Ocean(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$135
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveler rating
1,009
513
203
67
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,009
513
203
67
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast stafffree breakfastneptune statuethe breakfast areapool and hot tubfront desk staffevery morningthe north endhotel is in a great locationvirginia beach oceanfrontgreat view of the oceanoff seasonhotel restaurantdefinitely stay here againfamily vacationoceanfront roomboardwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,685 - 1,690 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

A great hotel with easy access to the beach. Great view of the ocean. Good service overall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ls87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stay at Hampton Inns frequently and we were dissapointed with this one. There were long hairs in the bathroom as soon as we arrived and they couldn't have been any of ours. The bathtub was very dirty and as we were checking the room to leave we found crumbs of food (that we didn't eat) along the bed. We expressed to the staff as we were checking out and she seemed very unconcerned. Also, the hot tub was a lovely shade of GREEN and the indoor pool had so much chlorine in it we had to leave after 5 minutes because our eyes were burning and I got a headache. Overall, it wasn't that bad, but we are now staying at the South location just a few blocks down and it is MUCH nicer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenacres05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

We appreciate your taking time to post a review and are sorry that the stay was not up to your expectations. Your feedback was discussed with the housekeeping staff and management has been closely monitoring this to ensure that this was an isolated incident. We did have a short-term issue with the new hot tub and indoor pool earlier this month and have since corrected the chemical balance.

It is our hope that you will consider returning at some point so that we can show you the great experience that most of our guests enjoy!
Sincerely,
Robert Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I rarely write reviews, but felt the need to inform my fellow Tripadvisor users on this hotel. First, let me say that I am a totally loyal Hilton brand patron. I am actually writing this review from a very nice Embassy Suites. Anyway, to my issues with this hotel:

1. The pool water was so out of whack that we couldn't even use it. The chlorine burned our eyes just standing inside the pool area. It was very hot outside and to not be able to use the pool was totally inexcusable!
2. Bathroom was dirty upon arrival, I cleaned the floor myself with a towel!
3. There are only 2 elevators and one was out of service during our stay. This led to long wait times to go up or down.

There are some very nice hotels in the Va beach area, I would HIGHLY recommend staying somewhere else. I read the reviews for this hotel before using my very hard earned points to stay here, now I know it was a big mistake. Stay at the Hilton right next door, its much nicer and a better value!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for posting your review and we appreciate your Hilton brand loyalty! We regret that your stay was not what you expected. We did experience an unusual chlorine-related problem with the pool early this month requiring a professional pool tech to come in and correct it. We apologize for any discomfort that the chlorine caused you. During the recent heat wave, the indoor pool and its bathrooms experienced unusually heavy usage. Nevertheless, they are being monitored more closely by our management and staff to keep them well-maintained at all times.

We hope that you will come back and try us again so that we can have the opportunity to give you a more representative impression of our nice hotel and staff!
Sincerely,
Robert Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

its a great view hotel with oceanfront balcony. this is the first time ever having a balcony room and we were so excited. when we got in our room, we loved the view. we opened the balcony door and sat down, not within a minute, we started having mosquito bites (i had two bites on my legs, and my boyfriend had one bite on his neck), and that was just within a minute... we immediately needed to return to the room and had the door closed. we couldnt enjoy the balcony, that was a sad thing. but we couldnt enjoy the wind of the ocean, because it didnt have the window mesh to block to mosquito flies. so we had to have the balcony door closed at all times. we were very disappointed.

the next morning, we thought we could enjoy a nice oceanfront complementary breakfast at their restaurant. however, flies were flying all around the food and table (at least 2-3 were flying on my table).

paying almost 300 a night, i dont feel comfortable staying at a hotel with mosquito bites and flies all around. the hotel should have spray some chemical to prevent the flies especially to their trees. the balcony rooms are just right above and mosquitoes can fly upto the higher floors.

front desk were very nice and helpful. but housekeeping were terrible.

one good thing is that they have 24hour swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for posting your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the great view! We certainly understand how annoying mosquitoes and flies can be, especially when you want to be out on the balcony or having breakfast on the outdoor boardwalk cafe. Although insects are a reality at the beach, most of the time the prevailing winds keep them from being a nuisance when guests are outside. If the wind is down and they do appear, guests can certainly eat indoors.

We appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to the appropriate managers for follow up and monitoring.
Sincerely,
Robert Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for our family vacation. We were impressed the moment we walked in the door. The smell of fresh coconut and an immaculate lobby added to our excitement of being at the beach. Check-in was hassle free, it took about 30 seconds! Our rooms were neat and clean. We even took the time to look in the corners and under furniture. No problems. The view of the beach was spectacular. The balcony was a little small but it served it's purpose well enough. Staff was polite and engaging and eager to please. The pool and hot tub were clean. Some sand but that's to be expected. The included continental breakfast was most impressive. Hot eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes. very good biscuits and gravy, excellent choice of fruits, juices, bagels, muffins and make your own waffles. We always enjoy our breakfast on vacation and like to try different restaurants but the convenience, freshness and variety of this breakfast kept us coming back for more. Otherwise, we did not eat in the restaurant although the menu was enticing and the prices were very reasonable. If we have one complaint it would be that the beds were a little hard but by the third nite we were used to them and able to sleep with ease. We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upstart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews