We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hanover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Excellent Value, Service”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for our family vacation. We were impressed the moment we walked in the door. The smell of fresh coconut and an immaculate lobby added to our excitement of being at the beach. Check-in was hassle free, it took about 30 seconds! Our rooms were neat and clean. We even took the time to look in the corners and under furniture. No problems. The view of the beach was spectacular. The balcony was a little small but it served it's purpose well enough. Staff was polite and engaging and eager to please. The pool and hot tub were clean. Some sand but that's to be expected. The included continental breakfast was most impressive. Hot eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes. very good biscuits and gravy, excellent choice of fruits, juices, bagels, muffins and make your own waffles. We always enjoy our breakfast on vacation and like to try different restaurants but the convenience, freshness and variety of this breakfast kept us coming back for more. Otherwise, we did not eat in the restaurant although the menu was enticing and the prices were very reasonable. If we have one complaint it would be that the beds were a little hard but by the third nite we were used to them and able to sleep with ease. We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upstart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    450
    174
    60
    32
See reviews for
671
517
56
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel was "home" for 6 nights for my 12 year old son and I while my son attended an all day lacrosse camp nearby. We had a discounted rate of $215.00 per night for a ocean front room, breakfast included. All of the rooms are ocean front, so there is nothing special there. We shared one room with two beds.

The good: Location and parking. The beach, literally right outside the front door. Walking distance to a full service grocery store for sandwiches, light meals, sundries. Free parking and never had a problem finding a space. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Excellent check-in, check-out. Guest
laundry. Restaurant and bar reasonable with pleasant staff. Food at restaurant good.

The so-so: Housekeeping was minimal, despite my generous $10.00 daily tip to the housekeeper. There was a coffee maker in the room, but cups were never replenished.
The sheets were never changed (I would have appreciated one mid week change). One
day the bed was not made at all (personal items on the bed that housekeeping was not
allowed to touch, hence the bed was not made. Really.)

Breakfast was typical self service and the standard fare got old after seven days. The
constant light rock/pop music and TV were inescapable in the public areas. There was no
quiet area to sit and read or enjoy the sound of the waves. The chairs in the room were not
comfortable and the balcony was quite small. The pool was small and the water seemed
cloudy. However, I did witness the water being tested regularly and chemicals being added,
so I assume that an effort was being made to keep up with sanitation. Rooms were quiet
enough until July 1, when the hotel was at maximum occupancy.

The bad: I had a stopped up toilet on the first morning. A plunger was sent up quickly
enough and I fixed the problem myself. A homey touch that I could have done without. We,
along with 5 other guests, were stuck in a broken elevator for 10-15 minutes. Eventually
the staff was able to pry the door open. We used the stairs (6 flights for us) after that.
Fortunately, this occurred on the morning we were checking out. Internet was free, but
definitely not high speed. I did better with my 3G wireless.

Would I stay here again or recommend it to a friend? Maybe, but definitely not for 6 nights. Possibly one or two nights. This is not a hotel "where memories are made".

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

When my family and I stayed here, everyone at the hotel was so nice and helpful except for the 3 same people that worked the second shift ( 2girls and 1 guy). i couldn't believe such obvious flirting by the 2 females and the how the dark haired girl and large bald guy making fun of and being rude to guests are even tolerated. I witnessed the last two act blatantly rude to a guest and then laughed at him in his face. Such a disgusting display of behavior. On top of that, the manager and the central office have not even addressed my complaints which were made on May 20th and it is now July 3rd. I can't believe that such a lovely establishment and hotel chain allow this to happen. Needless to say, we will not be coming back to this location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewartfam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
First, thank you for taking time to post a review. We receive many compliments about our helpful staff and regret that your experience with some of our front desk staff was otherwise. We have followed up appropriately. I trust that communications regarding your complaints have occured, and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you a wonderful experience!
Sincerely,
Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I was leary before arrival. I booked an Internet special through Hampton Inn's website, for a crazy good price considering we were staying part of the 4 th of July weekend. I think our rate was at least $50-$100 cheaper to other oceanfront rooms I had researched, this being our first time in Virginia Beach. The rate was first floor, pay in advance and I even called the hotel because the rate seemed too cheap ( how often does that happen) and I had to be sure I was getting a quality room.

I asked for early check in and got it. We were able to check in at 1:00. The lady at the front desk said "oh, they gave you a big room.". I think our room was handicap room, but it didn't feel or look like it. It seems like it used to be 2 rooms that were made into one with the renovation. Our room was huge, clean, and had the most beautiful view of the ocean there was a large brick patio with white wooden rocking chairs that probably belonged to the bar but the only time someone besides us sat there was when there was a lounge singer at the restaurant bar connected to the hotel. The beds were divine, clean new mattresses and fluffy, crisp linens. The closet was small, but at this point we didn't care.

The free breakfast was lovely. It was a little different each morning, I love the fruit salad. It was such a privilege and joy to eat breakfast on the restaurant patio while watching the sun rise and listening to the surf crash.

The location is excellent, right on the boardwalk by Neptune Park. There were concerts at the park every night, Which made for a great vacation atmosphere.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, housekeeping did a great job. We were greeted with smiles anytime we passed a staff member.

We usually rent a condo when we go to the beach. This was our first time staying with children in a hotel. I was worried because of the great price and fear for lack of space, but those fears were dashed from the moment we arrived. Being on the first floor was perfect, easy and convenient.

I must also mention the pool area, perfection! So lovely to be able to cool off or sit in the hot tub. One day the hot tub was cool and my 14 year old son told a staff member who took him seriously and got the hot tub fixed by the next day.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lost creek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The hampton Inn (North) was a great hotel to stay at. everyone was so nice there. all the employes were so nice. Richard was great very nice. house keeping did a wonderful job. Chrisina cleaned our room the first day. great job. The free breakfast was very good. One morning we had eggs,sausage,potatos,yogart, also fresh fruit every morning,orange juice, and the coffee was perfect. Loved it. Keep up the good work. This hotel also has a inside pool, and hot tub. both are great. The outside dinning area is great. My husband and i ate there everyday.Great food.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyLostCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Found the afternoon staff to be unhelpful at check-in though the evening and night staff were much more pleasant. Typical stay in a chain hotel. Room was clean, view was nice, location was fine. Used rewards points for the stay. Absolutely would not pay asking price for a room here: terribly overpriced for an average room but had no problems during the stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoneswv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay and regret that some aspects were not as you expected. Although your comments about the afternoon staff are somewhat general, I have passed your review on to the appropriate managers for follow up and training.

Our peak season rates are carefully set to be competitive with comparable oceanfront hotels, many of which do not offer value-added amenities such as our free hot breakfast buffet, free wifi, and all oceanfront rooms.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to "WOW You!"

Rob Waddell - DOSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days and were very pleased. The hotel is attractive, with room amenities up to date. Staff was friendly and responsive. The rooms are very quiet; we never heard anything. A small matter: the hot water is virtually instant.

The hotel offers a very extensive breakfast which is free. The wifi is free and the signal strength is good throughout the hotel although the speed is sometimes pretty slow.

The hotel is well positioned on at the north end of the beach which makes it easier to get to by car; parking is ample and convenient.

Hampton makes a point of their "Hampton bed". It was very comfortable indeed.

We were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing