We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatplace for a walk”

Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #10 of 124 things to do in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This Virginia Beach wildlife refuge offers visitors hiking, biking, fishing, kayaking/canoeing and nature photography in a completely natural environment. The Refuge grounds are open sunrise to sunset daily. The Visitor Center hours of operation are the following: Memorial Day - Labor Day: Tuesday-Friday 8am-4pm, Saturday & Sunday 9am-4pm Labor Day - Memorial Day: Tuesday-Friday 8am-4pm, Saturday 9am-4pm
Barneveld, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Greatplace for a walk”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a nice place to walk on a natural beach undeveloped by man. In the right season you can see numerous migrating bird's. We did see numerous turtles and some birds and ducks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank edsel13304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    64
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. We took our bikes and biked through the refuge. Plenty of both sun and shade. Lots of quiet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Schippyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place for a quiet walk in Hampton Roads”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a beautiful wildlife refuge with numerous raised wooden boardwalk-type pathways that take various paths though all aspects of the salt/brackish water wetland environment. You can expect to see tracks of larger animals, numerous birds, and a few small animals on almost any visit. We've also seen deer wandering about, a nutra, a black snake (harmless), a water moccasin (from a distance), tiny little lizards (skinks, I think), and fish jumping out of the water to eat insects on the surface. If it is too warm to wear long pants and sleeves, consider wearing insect repellant. There are numerous educational signs throughout the refuge that identify the plants and animals and explain the ecology of the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 324matthewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved this place. Beautiful things to see every way you turn. I have lived in Virignia my whole life and just recently discovered this place. Needless to say, my husband and I have been 3 times in the past few months, and plan to go again as soon as we get some free time. I recommend for people of all ages who love nature and the outdoors.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beauty as far as the eye can see”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Located south of the city of Virginia Beach, this huge wildlife refuge offers beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean and Back Bay, marshland, mature trees, and all kinds of wildlife. There are many walking/biking/hiking trails and a new visitors' center. Tram rides are available to explore far into the refuge.
No dogs are allowed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank skilodgevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing