We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perennial Favorite”

First Landing State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Sunset Stand Up Paddleboard Tour of Linkhorn Bay
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Fat Tire Bike Eco-Tour of First Landing State Park
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Stand Up Paddleboard Eco-Tour of First Landing State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature enthusiasts will love this park with 2,700-acres of hiking trails, cypress swamps and nesting grounds for a variety of birds.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perennial Favorite”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We love to take out of town guests here, make a quick visit with in-town grandchildren, or go for an exercise walk. It's an often over-looked gem right in our backyard.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    238
    40
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great park!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent place to visit when you visit Virginia Beach. The beach area is on the bay so the waves are not as big as on the ocean side. Little ones would definitely be safer and be able to play in the water more on this side. The cypress tree swamp on the other side is a gorgeous walk and there are plenty of trails to explore.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mvk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Loop
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a hike in the woods”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited here while staying in Virginia Beach. A very nice place to go for a walk. Lots of different trails with just enough variation in elevation to get a bit of a work out (at least for us in our mid 60's). The folks at the entry shack and the visitor center were very engaging and gave us great advice on which trails would be the most entertaining for that day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreatLoopLoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem amongst the Urban sprawl...”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I didn't really go there in December, I don't know for certain if the camping area is open then, but that's as far back as it will let you say when your visit was. It was Summer, a few years ago as the last time, but I have been here a few times

Don't go here to get away from it all, it's not that kind of oasis in the forest. It is smack between Norfolk and Virginia Beach, so it has a lot of people visiting What impressed me was the cleanliness of the facilities, and the ease of getting there from just down Shore Drive in Norfolk. Once inside the gates it was easy to imagine we were somewhere further away and really off in the woods somewhere. The beach area is very nice, and feels a little away from it all, even though we were not.

The park across the street is a great time, lots of hiking and biking, as well as boating if you are lucky enough to have one. There are also cabins that we went by that look awesome, but I haven't investigated enough to rent out. They sure are inviting though! I feel lucky to have this park in our back yard, and it's so well maintained.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great State Park!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

First Landing State Park is a great location in Virginia Beach to just escape for a few hours or for a weekend. I have spent many days there riding the bike trails or just walking amongst the trees and landscape. THey are equipped with cam sites on the Bay for you to enjoy. Quick Tip! If you want an inexpensive vaction stay on the beach this would be a great place to camp. It is close the the boardwalk and right on the Chesapeake Bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raceman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Landing State Park also viewed

 

Been to First Landing State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing