We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”

Virginia Beach Surf & Rescue Museum
Ranked #12 of 124 things to do in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Coastal history is alive and thriving at the Virginia Beach Surf & Rescue Museum. Standing proudly at 24th Street on the Boardwalk, the museum building itself is a Virginia Beach icon on the National Register of Historic Places. Explore lots of fun exhibits and a great gift shop right on the boardwalk!
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

After visiting Virginia Beach many times and walking by this place every time, I decided to stop. I am glad I did. My guide Marty was wonderful, so knowledgeable yet personable.

All in all a nice little gem worth the stop. You could easily make this a quick stop, I was there less than an hour. However, I am a fast museum person. I imagine the average museum goer would be 1-2 hours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbersM0mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    101
    27
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Holiday”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very interesting place. A guide to tell you all about the history of this Coast Guard Station. Worth checking it out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauralee251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A worthwhile boardwalk stop”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

You won't believe some of the contraptions that our brave Coast Guardsmen used to get to shipwrecks and retrieve their hapless victims. Do yourself a favor: get out of the sun for 30 minutes and learn something new. Definitely worth your time--for adults and older children. I loves me my Coast Guard heros!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting History”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My best friend and I visited this fall. It was very interesting the way changes that have been made over the years to life saving devices and such

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren PA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A bit of history on the Boardwalk”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

As you're wandering the boardwalk, stop in for a free look at the history displays and small souvenir shop. A good use of about 30 minutes, browsing through the two-story historic building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Beach Surf & Rescue Museum also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Beach Surf & Rescue Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing