We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy pub in Virginia Beach”
Review of Murphy's

Murphy's
Ranked #46 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Murphy's Irish Pub is located one block off of the beach at 30th Street and Pacific Avenue, serving everything from authentic Irish specialties to fresh,local seafood and produce. We offer nightly dinner specials and Happy Hour all year long as well as live entertainment, an outdoor patio for the summer months, and the largest 4 sided fireplace at the beach for the winter months.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy pub in Virginia Beach”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in VB for a couple of frigid days in November 2013. The pub is very warm and welcoming, and they have a blazing log fire central to the bar/restaurant. Food is good comfort food, but you won't get fat on the portion sizes. I had the meat & potato pie with chips - it was delicious, but I could have eaten two. Good range of beers on draft. Outdoor bar / smoking area. Recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    182
    84
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bar staff incompetent”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Bar staff are rude and indifferent to anyone they don't know.They treat you like you dropped in from another planet.There is no management from what I observed.You pay six dollars for a beer and these incompetent low life's are looking for a big tip when you pay. They could care less if you drink there or drink somewhere else,so I WOULD NEVER SPEND ANOTHER DOLLAR AT THIS LOSER PHONY IRISH BAR.STAY AWAY

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James34439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hearty meal, on a desolate off season night”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here late on a Sunday night, honestly had trouble finding a open restaurant, settled on this joint. Glad we did, wife had Irish steak and vegetables, and I had the house Angus burger. Both were properly done, and well flavored. Service was a bit slow , but nothing too drastic. The prices were actually good considering the area...beer was a bit warm..overall good experience, and better than expected .

Helpful?
Thank mattslatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Represents a True Irish Pub”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

While in Virginia Beach, we stopped for a nightcap at Murphy’s, a Grand Irish Pub, located at 30th & Pacific Avenue. Upon entering and to our delight, the sights, sounds and camaraderie of the people were catchy. We sidled up to the bar where the bar maid cheerfully served us our drinks. On our next visit, we’ll try an entrée from their expansive menu. It definitely represents a true Irish pub where customers meet for some lively conversation and a drink of Guinness!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food. Horrible service ”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We got here at noon. Waitress took drink orders. I also ordered an appetizer. We waited almost a whole hour for our food to be delivered. There were several other tables that got their food before us. They came after us. Our waitress seemed lost. I think she may need more training. Good food but horrible service.

Helpful?
Thank Chip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Murphy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing