We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to RV camp with the family!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah Valley Campground
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to RV camp with the family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time spending an overnight at this campground with my daughter. She loves the catch/release pond and the bunnies running free in the background. On our previous visit (April 2013), we also enjoyed the arcade and mini-golf course.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campsites are very clean and security routinely patrols the grounds.

We intend on making this a regular stop on our RV trips!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhodges97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week. This is our 2nd time in this campground. There is a lot to do here that kept our 2 12 year olds fully occupied. Two days they went tubing around the campground, did a ton of bike riding, fished, swam in pool, played putt-putt, and enjoyed movies every evening. I enjoyed feeding bunnies and by end of our stay I had them eating out of my hand. All the sites have excellent shade. Most sites are on the medium to small size. We had a pull thru, but I had to pull all the way thru so my slide out was not in our neighbors door. Looks like all sites are very level too. The camp store is very basic. But a grocery store is less than 2 miles away.
Overall, it is a good campground, excellent location, and worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1BigCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

wish they would contact when cancelling reservations,even if it is my fault my credit card didn't go through i would have liked the chance to make the payment another way. that being said, we did tubing...to rent a tube is 10 a day, putt putt is 1.00 a game, the hey ride was free and nice, hot tubs as others stated was dirty and kids always in there, one was broken , not enough showers for everyone i believe there was 3 at the "main" bath house on the womens side and 5 to share at the other bath house, and were pretty gross..but hey your camping. saw some bunnies, did some fishing..though its stated to be stocked there were 5 of us fishing and only 2 got a bite and none of us caught any, which is fine if you like to just throw out a line..which is the case for us :) they also have cornhole set up behind the entertainment building, so bring your bags! the entertainment at night was a good plus, the stores don't open until 9am so if you need coffe when your feet hit the ground, bring your own . they do have food most of the day available .the average camp site did not have a grill, but they did sell a grill top that fit the fire ring overall we had a good time.

Room Tip: pay a few dollars more to have electric at your tent site so you can use it for a griddle, during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriez595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A Good Sam Campground with many amenities, RV sites, tent sites, & cabins,many sites next to a river with wading & tubing with a waterfall! Four indoor hot tubs next to a large pool & kiddie pool. Trout fishing in lake. Usual store, reasonably priced snack bar & pizza. Free WiFi. Kids stay free. Just what was needed to be off road. Did I mention the bunnies hopping freely about & lots of butterflies. Ready to stay much longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The setting for this campground is along a quiet river surrounded by the amount ain't of the shenandoah valley. This is a Good Sam facility and has a lot to offer especially to families with kids who love to swim an inner-tube float down the river. Nice pool and quiet neighbors made our stay delightful. It is located just 3 miles west of I-81 at the Verona exit also famous for the largest antique mall in the state.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice campground, very helpful, friendly staff. Campground has an outdoor movie every night. Plenty of activities planned for the weekend. Enjoyed the river.
Didn't enjoy the kids running amuck. Campground has alist of rules that parents need to teach their kids when camping. Bathrooms/showers were muddy from the tubers, should have outdoor showers installed to remove the mud before going into the showers and hot tubs. The 5 mph speed limit is not followed. Enjoyed the park, but not the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

2nd year visiting campground and was a wonderful time again. The sites are a little close but still have plenty of room. The staff is very friendly and helped us get into our site since we have 3 slide-outs on our trailer. The kids love the bunnies, you can buy food from the store to feed the bunnies, they are very friendly. Waterfall is beautiful. Can go tubing down the river. Unfortunately the time we were here in July this year was unseasonably cold, in the 70's so we didn't get to go tubing. The river was a little high from all the rain but would of made a great trip down. Didn't experience any problems with the kids. My kids made a ton of friends for the weekend. Due to the campsites being so close kids would cut thru, but normally they would stick to the back side of the trailer next to your site so they did not disturb anyone. Both smaller playground and larger playground in excellent condition. Pool was clean but very cold. Two of the hot tubs didn't seem to be working properly, the jets didn't seem to want to come on. The highest the temp would go on the hot tubs was 100. Would of been nice to have a little warmer during a cool weekend. We love this campground and will return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2myboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah Valley Campground

Property: Shenandoah Valley Campground
Address: 467 Bald Rock Rd, Verona, VA 24482-2817
Location: United States > Virginia > Verona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Verona
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing