We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Something Different

Something Different
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Urbanna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honduras
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“More than just a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Probably some of the best food in the region. So glad to see they did a piece on Dan in the Washington Post! Worth a day trip just to eat here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    49
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Agree with 95%”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ambiance was cool -- so perfect for this area and not what you'd expect inside. All seats were filled, which shows its popularity. Tri-tip was tender and delicious. Being from TX, I ordered brisket .... tender but too much extra flavoring for my taste .... it blocked the taste of the meat with a cinnamon-enhanced rub. Won't order this again; the crab cakes sans filler look like a good bet, though. O'rings had too much batter on them -- again my taste b/c husband enjoyed them (said it was his 'fat fix' for the day). Friendly, informative, helpful staff. We will return and I would recommend to others. Oh -- and they serve b'fast all day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ideamtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Well-named Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It is rare these days to find a restaurant with so many fresh, home-made goodies. They even offer free samples to help you make choices. We ate lunch here on a weekday. Everything was excellent. Friendly and fun, too. It is only an hour from our home, so we look forward to trekking over for a nice ride through the countryside and a great meal. Some of the menu choices are items we can't get anywhere else and everything is fresh and gourmet -- but not like the recent "designer" approach to cuisine that has combinations that are radical and don't really work. All of the sauces and accompaniments actually work and don't interfere with the star of the dish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Food was great, atmosphere was eclectic and fun! Beignets were AWESOME!!!!! If you have a little country in you, this place is for you!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NCH0kies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food in a place you would not expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Read about this place in the Washington Post. It does not look like much from the outside, but makes up for it in the food. Few places to sit so realize that when you go. The brisket was amazing. The ribs had the meat falling off the bone and was so good. They really let the meat do the talking and do not cover it up with sauce. We topped off our meal with homemade ice cream. Not a bad bite was had. Dan was a great host as well, really out there meeting people and giving them samples to try. Will certainly be back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Something Different also viewed

 

Been to Something Different? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing