We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely decorated rooms- Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chesapeake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urbanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chesapeake Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Urbanna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nicely decorated rooms- Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened to use a groupon deal for our weekend stay . We were greeted by Angela who was very friendly gave us all the information we needed about the town and things to do in the area. Our room was beautifully decorated but not huge. Bathrooms were average and there was a full size fridge and microwave in the room. The full size fridge was nice but made the closet smaller. This wasn't a problem for us because we were only there for two days. Our favorite places to eat were "Something Different", and "Ostra" . The town is small and quaint and everyone there was very friendly. There are lots of little boutique stores but I thought the were a bit on the expensive side for what was being sold.

Room Tip: Check out all the website photos of the rooms to see what appeals to you the most. We chose the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkles59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
54
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbanna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying here for our wedding and we had our reception in their banquet room. From the first contacts with Angela months ahead of time she was nothing but helpful and gracious. She allowed me to come look at the banquet hall several times so we could get all of our plans in order, and she was most helpful with rearranging the tables and ordering everything we needed linen wise. Now as far as our actual stay.... Each room has it's own theme and personalized touches, the rooms are more like what you would find in a nice B&B, and the beds are top of the line in comfort. The grounds are clean with nice decor and centrally located in town. I would recommend this stay to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Since I live in the area I had not been able to rate the Chesapeake Inn until now. This past weekend our daughter was married in Urbanna. Family members stayed at the Inn and the reception was held there. The experience was delightful.

Each room is beautifully furnished with special touches everywhere to make you feel pampered and make your stay memorable. I highly recommend the Inn.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The "Inn" is not suites, but beautiful accomodations regardless. Yes, it is a older building and the single level building doesn't appear special in anyway until you enter your room. The rooms are amazingly decorated, superior cleanliness with attention to details. The town is very small, you can in fact see it all on foot. Antique shops, artist's offerings, craftsman offerings, small cafe's at reasonable prices and good food. There is one upper scale restaurant/bar in front of the Inn with a superior chef. We enjoyed the serenity of this small town feel. We didn't find a 'beach' although there is plenty of water surrounding this area, but it seems to be docks for the many boats, or private home waterfront. We enjoyed our stay none the less. For lovely quarters, a quiet laid back feeling for a weekend trip away this is a great place. It is only a hour away from the Williamsburg Premium Outlets and the Williamsburg Pottery as well. Great getaway to shop and then relax away from the noisey confusion of life for a couple days. I recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 20, last room at the end of the hallway. Full size refridgerator, a microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtawndrflwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great place to decompress. The inn has recently been refurbished. The rooms are nicely furnished and the decor is fantastic. Each room has a unique theme. The staff was very welcoming and gracious. The surreys were a fun way to explore this small town. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance, including a coffee shop, oyster house, and an upscale restaurant. My husband raves about the crab soup and fried oysters. There are several small shops to expore. You can arrive, park your car, and not need to move it again until you are ready to leave. The towns people were so friendly! If you are looking for a quiet, slow-paced getaway, I highly recommend a trip to the inn and Urbanna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I purchased a Groupon for two nights at The Chesapeake Inn because the illustration showed a lot of water around this hotel. I was looking forward to sparkling blue water, squawking sea birds, white sand, pink shells, crab cakes and all the other pleasantries that go with a vacay on the Chesapeake. Well, after passing the low slung 1960's looking single story motel a couple of times my GPS continually informed me that I was ignoring its ding-ding in favor of finding that motel I had been sure was on the water. Needless to say, the inn is not on the water. It is sandwiched on a spit of land between two streets and the only water view is out in front of the office where a circulating pump makes the water splash in a sunken plastic pool. Oh, the room was nicely decorated, but there were a lot of stains on the carpet. The bathroom had been updated.The bed was comfortable enough, though more than a little softer than I prefer. The electrical outlets were in need of replacement. Trying to charge my phone and computer was a trial as the plugs kept falling out of the wall. There was a refrigerator and a microwave. Thank goodness for the microwave which had an illuminated clock. The only other clock in the room was a small battery operated travel clock with no light. The sign outside each room designated it as a "suite." But truth be told, though nicely decorated, these are rooms, not suites. The motif for my guest room was Paris. Why Paris? I don't have a clue. Urbanna has more boats sitting in its harbor than people living in town, so a nautical theme would seem more appropriate. The town, I was told, has less than a thousand people. The few people who provide their services as restauranteurs must have a strange sense of time as one establishment publishes its breakfast, lunch, and dinner hours as spanning from 10 AM to 6 PM. Really, what am I supposed to do with that when I jump out of jammies as the sun rises? The owners of the food establishments are intent on grabbing tourist dollars, (some of the prices are high for the location) just as long as it is on their own strangely abbreviated schedules. I was told these entrepreneurs were just "laid back." There is a red trolly running up and down the main thoroughfare with numerous stops which are about 50 yards apart. Since most of the town can be reached easily in less than 7 or 8 minutes by anyone with two feet I can't figure out the logic of it. If you really need to get away from it all and are willing to stay at this location with little outside stimulation, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We could not have been more pleased with starting our retirement travels at this delightful Inn. Our room was fabulous, staff was very friendly, loved the surreys and the town. We felt pampered the entire time we were there. Hoping to return. New Retirees

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbanna
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilmarnock Inn
BEST WESTERN Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 1 in Kilmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
15.6 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesapeake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesapeake Inn

Property: The Chesapeake Inn
Address: 250 Virginia St, Urbanna, VA 23175-9997
Location: United States > Virginia > Urbanna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Urbanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urbanna's unique boutique hotel, catering to the boater, business and leisure traveler. Choose from our thirteen elegantly appointed rooms, each exhibiting its own distinctive character. We provide ample amenities including wireless internet service, 32" LCD televisions, full size refrigerators, microwave ovens, in room coffee makers and on site parking. Use one of our complimentary pedal Surreys to enjoy Urbanna Harbor, grab a bite to eat or take one for a joy ride around historic Port Town Urbanna. Nestled in the heart of town, you are only a short stroll to all of Urbanna's shops, restaurants and Marinas. Come to play, shop, and stay! 'Relax...You're here.' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing