We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Save
You added The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant to your Saves list
10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
“Perfect place for a romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Took my husband there for a supervise getaway for his 30th birthday. We loved the location, the room was cozy and super romantic with a large fireplace, jacuzzi and a huge bed. Had a nice country feel to it. Breakfast in the morning included was a nice touch. We couldn't have picked a better place to get away from DC for the night. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLifeBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The setting is beautiful, but the accomodations were average. The room was very hot and I couldn't regulate the gas stove. The bed was like a woeden slab, not comfortable at all. Kudos to the restaurant and for the great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 915Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Blackthorne in one of the cozy cabins available. It is a delightful experience with comfortable beds, a fireplace stocked and ready to go for cool nights (which it was), and great breakfast served by the ever accommodating George. Dinner at the Inn was good, too. The surrounding countryside offered a selection of outdoor activities including the marvelous State Arboretum of Virginia Museum, a lovely garden close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenecaDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we stayed there a while ago this last winter in march 2013. the property was gorgeous in the winter. the included breakfasts and the service are what stand out the most though! the gentleman serving the breakfast was the definition of charm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Off the beaten path !! This diamond in the rough is in the horse and wine country of Virginia. Scenic surroundings! Engage in this relaxing treasure with an amazing staff and fabulous food from dinner to the incredible breakfast. Our cabin has a great bed and a wonderful real fireplace. Live entertainment in their Irish pub should you be interested, but I don't know if they have it every night. A must is to have their bread pudding......Better than Christmas morning !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rghuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We simply loved the Blackthorne Inn and will be back! George, our waiter in the mornings, was as nice and knowledgeable a guy as you will ever meet. He really made our stay special. Breakfast was "the best" and dinner was very good as well. What a great location. We visited a nearby winery fora wine tasting and hiked the Appalachian trail on Skyline drive. A wonderful two days!

Room Tip: The cabins are very, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had the living social and the staff recommended a nice room, the Kildare. It was very spacious and clean, not too rustic but quiet and pretty setting. The breakfast is delicious with a few different options. The grounds are well maintained and we sat on the patio for dinner one night with nice live music.

Only minor complaint is waitress we had for dinner. We asked about a wine and she new nothing about any and couldn't make any suggestions. Then she didn't take our order for another 10 minutes. But overall it was a very nice place and good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperville
18.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
16.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.6 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
10.5 mi away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Property: The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Address: 10087 John S. Mosby Highway, Upperville, VA 20184 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing