We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Irish B&B in America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upperville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Upperville B&B and Inns
Marshall VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Irish B&B in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stunning scenery. Rustic-luxuriouscomfortable cabins. 250 years of history. Excellent gourmet food in the fine-dining restaurant upstairs, but my taste is more for the pub fare in the great Irish pub below. Be sure to have a pint of Guinness - they actualy know how to pour a proper one. As it is in Ireland, the greatest part is the people - wonderful, friendly staff and customers. Shane, his parents and his sisters will make you feel at home, and maybe make you think you are actually in the Emerald Isle.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregMarshallVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We went to the Blackthorne after purchasing a 2 day getaway on livingsocial.com. After reading the reviews on here we were a bit worried but we were able to dash those worries aside upon arrival. We stayed in the Tipperary cabin and loved it. We stayed during the week so we had no problems getting a reservation. They had our cheese and fruit plate waiting in the cabin, which was very good; the wine was not the greatest but that was okay. There is a small fridge in the cabin so that was a plus. Yes, the TV is small but we weren't there to watch TV. We ate both nights at the inn--the food was wonderful and the service was great. We used the $25 credit for one dinner and purchases another $25 credit from restaurants.com for $2 so we saved quite a bit on meals. We never made it to the inn for breakfast in the mornings because we slept in. We opted to go into Middleburg for noon-times meals and highly recommend Julien's Cafe, which opens at 11:00 am and serves omlets all day. Although the regular price of the cabins is a bit steep (we got the livingsocial deal for $299, which included a 2 night stay including breakfast, cheese/fruit plate, bottle of wine, a free wine tasting, and $25 restaurant voucher) we would definitely go back. It was a fantastic break from the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripChick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Blackthorne last month for a second honeymoon trip. We arrived and were stunned by the location. The main restaurant was set above rolling hills and a beautiful pond with a gazebo set in the middle, that was perfect for a trip like ours. Our cabin was beautiful, quaint, and rustic. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we also had a great jacuzzi tub. We walked down to the restaurant and not only was the food superb, the wait staff treated everyone like family (I actually am quite convinced they are all really a family.) There were several vineyards within minutes, most notably Three Fox, who had some really exquisite reds. All in all, out stay was fantastic, everything was perfect, and we will absolutely be returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Thomas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, WV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

First of all, this review is specific to the cabins. (My husband and I had hoped to sample dinner fare at the restaurant, but a major power outage that didn't affect our cabin nixed that option.) While there were some interesting elements to our cabin, like a fantastically large stone hearth and fireplace, our sense of the place was "short cuts and under financed." Things were funky. We appreciated the wee 'fridge in the unit, but it was loud, old, and I bet a real energy hog. In the end, we were comfortable and safe, but I'd never call it special!
YET, we did get breakfast the next morning at the restaurant as part of our package; it was generous and very tasty. Lots of good hot coffee. A little irritating that we were subjected to evangelical TV preacher shows as we ate . . .

Room Tip: Be sure to avoid the room behind the bar. They have live music often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AeOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Gorgeous location and the food is good but the cabins are in dire need of a handyman and an exterminator! Not worth the money!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bheins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

"rustic" and badly maintained is not the same thing! Bed was big but sheets and bedding old and creepy=not clean. AC was a small window unit that was turned off on our arrival a 90+ degree day... bathroom was beyond horrible! It was tiny, shower is leaking, dirty showercurtain no shelf or any kind of place to put shampoo etc. towels didnt even fit in the bathroom they were placed outside... no hairdryer... the phone was not working in the room and there is absolutely no cellphone service, do i need to mention no internet?
the noice from the acorns falling on the roof at nite was unbareble, had to leave music on the tv + use earplugs to get any sleep at all.
breakfast left a lot more to ask for service was terrible, didnt even get a coffee refill...

would absolutely not recommend this place to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank niceadvice_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Was there for my birthday with my husband and stayed in the Wexford Cottage. Very quaint, cozy, charming and quiet. It was a cute, rustic log cabin. Very clean, very comfortable bed with nice bedding. Gorgeous stone fireplace in the cabin, but didn't use it since it is summertime :-)
I thought it was well maintained considering it is a log cabin. The dinner in the dining room was delicious and our service was great. I loved our entire meal. After dinner, we went to the Irish Pub and sat outside on the stone patio and again, had great service. Late night we moved inside into the pub and really enjoyed the ambiance and drinks. Our breakfast the next morning was again delicious and served very quickly. I thouroughly enjoyed myself and thought this was a wonderful overnight getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upperville
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
18.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.2 mi away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.8 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant

Property: The Blackthorne Inn and Restaurant
Address: 10087 John S Mosby Hwy, Upperville, VA 20184-1742 (Formerly "1763 Inn")
Location: United States > Virginia > Upperville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upperville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Blackthorne Inn And Restaurant Hotel Upperville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing