We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Marriott Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott Standards”
Reviewed April 18, 2005

I stayed at this Residence Inn for 5 nights, travelled there for business. Worst Marriott I've ever stayed in. The clerk at the front desk was chatting when I came in at 9 pm or so to check in and would not stop for about 10 minutes to check me in. Finally I walked right up to him and had to interupt (politely of course!). He seemed less than thrilled to input my Marriott Rewards number. The only plus-The room was large with nice kitchen eqiupment and a good sized desk. The bed was horrible, very stiff and cheap. When hanging clothes, some of the hangars were so old and britlle they snapped and I had to toss them. The glass they left by the bathroom sink had black hair in it (luckily, there was a dishwasher in the room ;) everything then went through it first).The free wireless internet access did not work, the TV programming did not match up with the TV guide and they gave no list (ok, not a huge deal). Loud slamming of doors or dropping of things on floor late at night, every night, from upstairs. Very small parking lot, forced to park in underground garage a few times with teenagers hanging around in the parking lot listening to loud music with their doors open. Didn't feel safe after that. The included breakfast buffet was good the first day (fresh strawberries and a griddle so you could make your own waffles) but then had an old melon/fruit cocktail thing the rest of the week and I think the eggs were powdered. I looked at dinner 2 nights and decided school food had looked cleaner. I always stay at Marriott's & I won't go back there.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bbbebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oats2929, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this review, August 20, 2008
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. We do all we can to satisfy our guests and I apologize for not being able to live up to the Marriott standards that you come to expect. We have upgraded our internet so there is now better connectivity then there was before and we ensure that we offer fresh items on our breakfast bar. I hope that should you choose to come back in the area, you give us another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    71
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
70
33
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 13, 2004

We stayed here for a week while job interviewing in northern Virginia. Big place and lots of space, decent free breakfast and hospitality evenings, but our bed was like a board and both my husbnad and myself had sore shoulders from this. Also I was supposed to have a king bed but was given a double instead. This hotel is passable but kind of worn out also with stains in the carpets and chipped furniture. Needs renovation. For a better sleep, stay at the Shertaon Premier next door for a cosy bed.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2004

Good service and a great value. Larger rooms were big compared to typical hotel rooms, very home like. Suppers on Tuesday and Wednesday were delicious and helped me save money overall on my trip.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2004

Friendly service agents and huge breakfast make this place a steal. Beautiful courtyard with outdoor pool and even barbecue!! Jim was especially helpful. Definitely the best place to stay if your in Tysons Corner!

Helpful?
5 Thank DrKennethNoisewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
#10 of 14 in Tysons Corner
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#2 of 14 in Tysons Corner
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
#8 of 14 in Tysons Corner
411 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Property: Residence Inn Tysons Corner
Address: 8616 Westwood Center Dr, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing